View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Rocky007 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 22 Dec 2014 Posts: 66
|
Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:30 pm Post subject: AMD Ryzen IOMMU KVM RX570? |
|
|
Hello,
i'm trying to enable IOMMU so that i can pass a AMD RX570 through to a virtual machine.
My CPU is a AMD Ryzen 1700
Mainboard is a Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 5 AX370 (http://www.gigabyte.de/Motherboard/GA-AX370-Gaming-5-rev-10#kf)
Every time i try it, i get the following error:
Code: |
Installation could not be completed: "Unsupported configuration: host does not support passthrough of host PCI devices"
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/asyncjob.py", line 90, in cb_wrapper
callback(asyncjob, *args, **kwargs)
File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/create.py", line 2277, in _do_async_install
guest.start_install(meter=meter)
File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtinst/guest.py", line 501, in start_install
noboot)
File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtinst/guest.py", line 416, in _create_guest
dom = self.conn.createLinux(start_xml or final_xml, 0)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/libvirt.py", line 3606, in createLinux
if ret is None:raise libvirtError('virDomainCreateLinux() failed', conn=self)
LibvirtError: Unsupported configuration: host does not support passthrough of host PCI devices
|
In the Kernel i set the following:
Code: |
Device Drivers --->
[*] IOMMU Hardware Support --->
Generic IOMMU Pagetable Support ----
[*] AMD IOMMU support
<M> AMD IOMMU Version 2 driver
[*] Support for Intel IOMMU using DMA Remapping Devices
[*] Support for Shared Virtual Memory with Intel IOMMU
[*] Enable Intel DMA Remapping Devices by default
[*] Support for Interrupt Remapping
Device Drivers --->
[*] Graphics support --->
<*> Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) --->
[ ] DRM DP AUX Interface
[*] Enable legacy fbdev support for your modesetting driver
[*] AMD GPU
|
In /etc/default/grub:
Code: |
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="domdadm iommu=noforce amd_iommu=fullflush amd_iommu_dump=1 amd_iommu_intr=legacy intel_iommu=on"
|
dmesg | grep IOMMU
Code: |
[ 0.000000] DMAR: IOMMU enabled
[ 0.874422] AMD-Vi: IOMMU performance counters supported
[ 0.882969] AMD-Vi: Found IOMMU at 0000:00:00.2 cap 0x40
|
[Moderator edit: changed [quote] tags to [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu] |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Myu Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/1840083684566b483df2f9c.jpg)
Joined: 22 Oct 2014 Posts: 164 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Not on Ryzen but here's my 2 cents :
Are the vfio-related modules loaded at boot time ?
I've this is /etc/conf.d/modules for instance :
Code: | modules="vfio vfio-pci vfio_iommu_type1 vfio_virqfd" |
Also, you need to blacklist the ID of your card i.e in /etc/modprobe.d/vfio.conf
Code: | options vfio-pci ids=10de:1380,10de:0fbc,8086:1e20 |
I found that https://reddit.com/r/vfio is a good source on help for such a setup, and there's Ryzen users already ! ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) _________________ Gentoo stable with bits of ~amd64 // Xfce 4.13 + Compiz Reloaded. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Rocky007 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 22 Dec 2014 Posts: 66
|
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 6:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm on a legacy boot and not UEFI so vfio wouldn't be needed?
currently i've set up using pci-stub.
How would i configure it with this? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Myu Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/1840083684566b483df2f9c.jpg)
Joined: 22 Oct 2014 Posts: 164 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes you can make it work with pci-stub if you don't use UEFI in the VM, true
There's also Xen if you feel adventurous, seems to work properly with AMD cards.
That being said, your issue here seems more like virt-manager saying "this host has no PCIE passthrough capabilities" which means there's something not working in the lower levels of your setup i.e :
AMD-Vi not properly enabled in BIOS/UEFI
AMD-Vi plain not working (BIOS upgrade needed perhaps ?)
Too old kernel / virt-manager / qemu stack ?
... something else
I'm not an expert so you may have better luck on reddit or on the vfio-users mailing list _________________ Gentoo stable with bits of ~amd64 // Xfce 4.13 + Compiz Reloaded. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|