View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Elleni Veteran
Joined: 23 May 2006 Posts: 1291
|
Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 2:34 pm Post subject: [solved] No temp monitoring on new amd gpu |
|
|
In the amdgpu wiki the section on monitoring gpu temperature is missing, so I tried with the information on the radeon wiki.
Code: | Monitoring
lm sensors can be used to monitor the cards temperature. It uses the I2C interface, which needs to be enabled in the kernel:
KERNEL Including radeon firmware
Device Drivers --->
Graphics support --->
<*> Support for frame buffer devices --->
<*> ATI Radeon display support
[*] DDC/I2C for ATI Radeon support
|
But this does not work. So how is rx580 gpu temperature beeing monitored with lm_sensors ? Or is this not possible atm? Or are there other utilities to monitor gpu ?
Last edited by Elleni on Tue Jan 02, 2018 7:44 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ant P. Watchman
Joined: 18 Apr 2009 Posts: 6920
|
Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Works on my RX550... (no radeon in kernel, only amdgpu)
Code: | amdgpu-pci-0100
Adapter: PCI adapter
fan1: 1023 RPM
temp1: +35.0°C (crit = +0.0°C, hyst = +0.0°C) |
What do you get from "ls -ld /sys/class/hwmon/*/device"? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Elleni Veteran
Joined: 23 May 2006 Posts: 1291
|
Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You are right.
Code: |
sensors
amdgpu-pci-0700
Adapter: PCI adapter
fan1: 812 RPM
temp1: +40.0°C (crit = +0.0°C, hyst = +0.0°C) |
What does not work is when I create a new "site" in Plasma Systemmonitor, it looks like this, and I am missing the browser to pull the apropriate sensor in it to have a graphical monitor:
https://imagebin.ca/v/3mp828cm0foe
Btw. How cpu temp of a ryzen would be monitored? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ant P. Watchman
Joined: 18 Apr 2009 Posts: 6920
|
Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I haven't used ksysguard in years but I remember it being very picky for some reason... maybe it needs lm_sensors labels to be defined, I have a really old sensors.conf file that only sets those.
Try this, it might help:
/etc/sensors.d/amdgpu.conf: | chip "amdgpu-pci-*"
label fan1 "GPU Fan"
label temp1 "GPU Temp" |
For the Ryzen, try enabling CONFIG_SENSORS_K10TEMP and SENSORS_FAM15H_POWER; it's not mentioned in the options' help text but there's a high chance it'll work. Turn on ACPI Thermal Zone too. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Elleni Veteran
Joined: 23 May 2006 Posts: 1291
|
Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Unfortunately creating custom tabs in ksysguard is not working as it should, but I will see and post in a separate thread, if necessary. the cpu are visible in the standard tab anyways and also gkrellm show all cpus / 12 threads. Strange thing is, that cpu is not showing when invocating sensors nor with xsensors. There is only gpu as pasted above is visible.
Code: | sensors
amdgpu-pci-0700
Adapter: PCI adapter
GPU Fan: 813 RPM
GPU Temp: +42.0°C (crit = +0.0°C, hyst = +0.0°C)
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|