View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ohum n00b
Joined: 28 Nov 2017 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 4:42 am Post subject: optimal CPU_FLAGS_X86 settings, and, does it even matter? |
|
|
[Moderator note: this was originally a thread necromancy response to Cpu_flags_x86 from 2015, but there was no reason to attach it to that thread. I split it and all then-present responses to this thread. -Hu]
I'm planning to use
Code: | CPU_FLAGS_X86="aes apic avx mmx mmxext pae pclmul popcnt smp sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 xop" |
my /proc/cpuinfo is
Code: | flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf eagerfpu pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx f16c rdrand lahf_lm epb tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid fsgsbase smep erms xsaveopt dtherm ida arat pln pts |
Thoughts? Does this even matter?
If I'm correct in understanding, this sets the defaults, which can be overridden.
What is the recommended way to deal with CPU_FLAGS_X86?
Thanks! _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
fedeliallalinea Administrator
Joined: 08 Mar 2003 Posts: 31388 Location: here
|
Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:51 am Post subject: Re: optimal CPU_FLAGS_X86 settings, and, does it even matter |
|
|
ohum wrote: | What is the recommended way to deal with CPU_FLAGS_X86? |
You can use app-portage/cpuid2cpuflags program for set correct CPU_FLAGS_X86 _________________ Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
krinn Watchman
Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 7470
|
Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | cpuid2cpuflags | sed 's/: /="/;s/$/"/' >> /etc/portage/make.conf |
why cpuid2cpuflags doesn't just output it to be use as-is? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fedeliallalinea Administrator
Joined: 08 Mar 2003 Posts: 31388 Location: here
|
Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
krinn wrote: | Code: | cpuid2cpuflags | sed 's/: /="/;s/$/"/' >> /etc/portage/make.conf |
why cpuid2cpuflags doesn't just output it to be use as-is? |
What's wrong?
Code: | $ cpuinfo2cpuflags-x86
CPU_FLAGS_X86="aes avx mmx mmxext pclmul popcnt sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3" |
_________________ Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
krinn Watchman
Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 7470
|
Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 4:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
must have an old version
Code: | cpuid2cpuflags
CPU_FLAGS_X86: aes avx avx2 f16c fma3 mmx mmxext popcnt sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3
|
ah well
Code: | equery b cpuid2cpuflags
* Searching for cpuid2cpuflags ...
app-portage/cpuid2cpuflags-4 (/usr/bin/cpuid2cpuflags)
|
where did you get that cpuinfo2cpuflags-x86 from? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fedeliallalinea Administrator
Joined: 08 Mar 2003 Posts: 31388 Location: here
|
Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
krinn wrote: | where did you get that cpuinfo2cpuflags-x86 from? |
Code: | $ equery b cpuinfo2cpuflags-x86
* Searching for cpuinfo2cpuflags-x86 ...
app-portage/cpuid2cpuflags-1 (/usr/lib/python-exec/python3.4/cpuinfo2cpuflags-x86)
app-portage/cpuid2cpuflags-1 (/usr/lib/python-exec/python2.7/cpuinfo2cpuflags-x86)
app-portage/cpuid2cpuflags-1 (/usr/bin/cpuinfo2cpuflags-x86 -> ../lib/python-exec/python-exec2) |
_________________ Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
krinn Watchman
Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 7470
|
Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
It confirm older is better |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fedeliallalinea Administrator
Joined: 08 Mar 2003 Posts: 31388 Location: here
|
Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
krinn wrote: | It confirm older is better |
Old is always better _________________ Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
audiodef Watchman
Joined: 06 Jul 2005 Posts: 6656 Location: The soundosphere
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
The_Great_Sephiroth Veteran
Joined: 03 Oct 2014 Posts: 1602 Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA
|
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So I am trying to follow this, but what is the difference here. I have always used cpuinfo2cpuflags as we were instructed to do so when the CPU_FLAGS_X86 was added. _________________ Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fedeliallalinea Administrator
Joined: 08 Mar 2003 Posts: 31388 Location: here
|
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
audiodef wrote: | Why did the output format change? I've had to mask version 5, it's less helpful. |
Because now hint for activate is
Code: | elog 'Please note that the output has changed in v2. The new format is suitable'
elog 'both for Portage and Paludis. To use it, e.g.:'
elog
elog ' $ echo "*/* $(cpuid2cpuflags)" > /etc/portage/package.use/00cpuflags'
elog
elog '(you may need to convert package.use into a directory if you want to use'
elog ' separate file as presented here)' |
I don't like this solution and I continue to use CPU_FLAGS_X86 in make.conf, but _________________ Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54670 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ohum,
CPU_FLAGS_X86 settings, and, does it even matter
The first part of your question has been addressed above.
The second part, does it matter seems to have got lost.
It matters to the few applications that have hand optimised code segments that are selected at build time.
If you want a list of those ebuilds, run Code: | qgrep -l -i CPU_FLAGS_X86 |
qgrep belongs to app-portage/portage-utils.
If you use any of those applications, you we get performance improvements with correctly set CPU_FLAGS_X86.
Even that is a little simplistic as not all packages offer all CPU_FLAGS_X86 and not all processors offer all CPU_FLAGS_X86.
Looking at sys-fs/dd-rescue, it offers cpu_flags_x86_avx2 and cpu_flags_x86_sse4_2 so if your CPU does not have them, dd-rescue won't benefit. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|