View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mDup Apprentice
Joined: 14 Apr 2006 Posts: 212
|
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:56 am Post subject: aarch64 sys-devel/llvm-6.0.0 [gcc -mno-bmi] |
|
|
aarch64 emerge fails because of :
Code: |
Change Dir: /var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-6.0.0/work/llvm-6.0.0.src-.arm64/CMakeFiles/CMakeTmp
Run Build Command:"/usr/bin/ninja" "cmTC_01fc8"
[1/2] Building C object CMakeFiles/cmTC_01fc8.dir/testCCompiler.c.o
FAILED: CMakeFiles/cmTC_01fc8.dir/testCCompiler.c.o
/usr/bin/aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc -DNDEBUG -march=native -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -mno-bmi -o CMakeFiles/cmTC_01fc8.dir/testCCompiler.c.o -c testCCompiler.c
aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc: error: unrecognized command line option ‘-mno-bmi’; did you mean ‘-Wno-abi’?
ninja: build stopped: subcommand failed.
|
anyone knows how to work around this? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54673 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mDup,
Is it a USE flag issue?
Code: | # emerge -pv sys-devel/llvm
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R *] sys-devel/llvm-6.0.0:6::gentoo USE="libffi ncurses xml -debug (-doc) -gold -libedit {-test} -xar" LLVM_TARGETS="(AArch64) BPF -AMDGPU -ARM -Hexagon -Lanai -MSP430 -Mips -NVPTX -PowerPC -Sparc -SystemZ -X86 -XCore" 0 KiB
Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB |
That's with the /17.0/ desktop profile, gcc-7.3.0, the gold linker and binutils 2.30.
If you post how you are building your llvm, I'll try to make mine fail. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mDup Apprentice
Joined: 14 Apr 2006 Posts: 212
|
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | mDup,
Is it a USE flag issue?
Code: | # emerge -pv sys-devel/llvm
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R *] sys-devel/llvm-6.0.0:6::gentoo USE="libffi ncurses xml -debug (-doc) -gold -libedit {-test} -xar" LLVM_TARGETS="(AArch64) BPF -AMDGPU -ARM -Hexagon -Lanai -MSP430 -Mips -NVPTX -PowerPC -Sparc -SystemZ -X86 -XCore" 0 KiB
Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB |
That's with the /17.0/ desktop profile, gcc-7.3.0, the gold linker and binutils 2.30.
If you post how you are building your llvm, I'll try to make mine fail. |
Thanks for attention. My setup looks similar to yours. Only use flag I do not have is xml. It does not help however.
Perhaps you have ARCH in env (I don't)?
I looked in the code and bmi looks Intel specific (I am not sure).
Code: | (desktop) kvim2-gentoo ~ # emerge -pv sys-devel/llvm
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild NS ] sys-devel/llvm-6.0.0:6::gentoo [5.0.1:5::gentoo] USE="libffi ncurses -debug (-doc) -gold -libedit {-test} -xar -xml" LLVM_TARGETS="(AArch64) BPF -AMDGPU -ARM -Hexagon -Lanai -MSP430 -Mips -NVPTX -PowerPC -Sparc -SystemZ -X86 -XCore" 101 KiB
Total: 1 package (1 in new slot), Size of downloads: 101 KiB
(desktop) kvim2-gentoo ~ # eselect profile list | grep '*'
[6] default/linux/arm64/17.0 (dev) *
(desktop) kvim2-gentoo ~ # eselect gcc list | grep '*'
[2] aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu-7.3.0 *
(desktop) kvim2-gentoo ~ # eselect binutils list | grep '*'
[2] aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu-2.30 *
|
Can you try:
Code: | # echo > test.c
# gcc -mno-bmi -c test.c
gcc: error: unrecognized command line option ‘-mno-bmi’; did you mean ‘-Wno-abi’?
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54673 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mDup,
I can reproduce that.
Code: | neddy_test1 arm64-build ~ # echo > test.c
neddy_test1 arm64-build ~ # gcc -mno-bmi -c test.c
gcc: error: unrecognized command line option '-mno-bmi'; did you mean '-Wno-abi'? |
I don't see ARCH set in the environment
Something has changed on my system though ...
Code: | /usr/bin/aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc -DNDEBUG -mcpu=cortex-a53+crc -mtune=cortex-a53 -ftree-vectorize -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -mno-bmi -o CMakeFiles/cmTC_1d41c.dir/testCCompiler.c.o -c testCCompiler.c
aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc: error: unrecognized command line option '-mno-bmi'; did you mean '-Wno-abi'?
ninja: build stopped: subcommand failed. |
so I can't rebuild llvm-6.0.0. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mDup Apprentice
Joined: 14 Apr 2006 Posts: 212
|
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | mDup,
I can reproduce that.
Code: | neddy_test1 arm64-build ~ # echo > test.c
neddy_test1 arm64-build ~ # gcc -mno-bmi -c test.c
gcc: error: unrecognized command line option '-mno-bmi'; did you mean '-Wno-abi'? |
I don't see ARCH set in the environment
Something has changed on my system though ...
Code: | /usr/bin/aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc -DNDEBUG -mcpu=cortex-a53+crc -mtune=cortex-a53 -ftree-vectorize -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -mno-bmi -o CMakeFiles/cmTC_1d41c.dir/testCCompiler.c.o -c testCCompiler.c
aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc: error: unrecognized command line option '-mno-bmi'; did you mean '-Wno-abi'?
ninja: build stopped: subcommand failed. |
so I can't rebuild llvm-6.0.0. |
Thanks a lot for checking. So something recent in gentoo must have introduced the faulty gcc command line option.
I'll try to figure out. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54673 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mDup,
It now Bug sys-devel/llvm-6.0.0 no longer builds on ~arm64 _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mDup Apprentice
Joined: 14 Apr 2006 Posts: 212
|
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 6:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It looks like bug is fixed. I am trying build now. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Khumarahn Apprentice
Joined: 17 Apr 2009 Posts: 199
|
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 6:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It builds for me. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mDup Apprentice
Joined: 14 Apr 2006 Posts: 212
|
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 6:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Khumarahn wrote: | It builds for me. |
same here.
by the way, which arm64 laptop do you have? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Khumarahn Apprentice
Joined: 17 Apr 2009 Posts: 199
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|