View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Gh0str1d3r Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 27 May 2008 Posts: 411
|
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 12:29 am Post subject: iwlwifi intel wifi has poor signal strength |
|
|
Hi all,
since recently, my wifi signal strength is really weak in Linux, while it's much better when I use Windows. The data transfer speed is good (up to 150 MB/s) but I frequently have disconnects or can't connect to begin with due to a very weak signal. Even if I place my laptop on the router it shows at most 2 out of 3 bars. Is this a known issue?
The configuration of my kernel module is
Code: | # cat /etc/modprobe.d/iwlwifi.conf
options iwlwifi 11n_disable=8 wd_disable=1
|
Thanks for any help. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Marlo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 1591
|
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hello Gh0str1d3r,
maybe this information can help you:
Code: | uname -r
4.17.0-gentoo
sys-kernel/linux-firmware-20180103-r1::gentoo
no iwl *** ucode loaded |
Code: |
@tux ~ $ dmesg | grep Intel
[ 7.654406] Intel(R) Wireless WiFi driver for Linux
[ 7.654407] Copyright(c) 2003- 2015 Intel Corporation
[ 7.685418] iwlwifi 0000:06:00.0: Detected Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless AC 3165, REV=0x210 |
Code: |
@tux ~ $ dmesg | grep cfg
[ 7.601400] cfg80211: Loading compiled-in X.509 certificates for regulatory database
[ 7.641896] cfg80211: Loaded X.509 cert 'sforshee: 00b28ddf47aef9cea7' |
Code: |
@tux ~ $ dmesg | grep iwlwifi
[ 7.654521] iwlwifi 0000:06:00.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
[ 7.660488] iwlwifi 0000:06:00.0: loaded firmware version 29.610311.0 op_mode iwlmvm
[ 7.685418] iwlwifi 0000:06:00.0: Detected Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless AC 3165, REV=0x210
[ 7.702913] iwlwifi 0000:06:00.0: base HW address: f8:34:xx:xx:xx:xx
[ 7.773477] iwlwifi 0000:06:00.0 wlp6s0: renamed from wlan0 |
Code: |
@tux ~ $ dmesg | grep wlp6s0
[ 7.773477] iwlwifi 0000:06:00.0 wlp6s0: renamed from wlan0
[ 8.750182] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp6s0: link is not ready
[ 8.845196] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp6s0: link is not ready
[ 8.953495] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp6s0: link is not ready
[ 9.007504] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp6s0: link is not ready
[ 16.441034] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp6s0: link is not ready
[ 19.995427] wlp6s0: authenticate with 60:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
[ 19.998908] wlp6s0: send auth to 60:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx (try 1/3)
[ 20.000311] wlp6s0: authenticated
[ 20.001020] wlp6s0: associate with 60:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx (try 1/3)
[ 20.004036] wlp6s0: RX AssocResp from 60:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx (capab=0x11 status=0 aid=1)
[ 20.005317] wlp6s0: associated
[ 20.065249] wlp6s0: Limiting TX power to 23 (23 - 0) dBm as advertised by 60:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
[ 20.065773] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlp6s0: link becomes ready |
Code: |
tux ~ # cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep CFG80211 && cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep IWLWIFI
CONFIG_CFG80211=m
# CONFIG_CFG80211_DEVELOPER_WARNINGS is not set
# CONFIG_CFG80211_CERTIFICATION_ONUS is not set
CONFIG_CFG80211_REQUIRE_SIGNED_REGDB=y
CONFIG_CFG80211_USE_KERNEL_REGDB_KEYS=y
CONFIG_CFG80211_DEFAULT_PS=y
# CONFIG_CFG80211_DEBUGFS is not set
CONFIG_CFG80211_CRDA_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_CFG80211_WEXT=y
CONFIG_IWLWIFI=m
CONFIG_IWLWIFI_LEDS=y
CONFIG_IWLWIFI_OPMODE_MODULAR=y
CONFIG_IWLWIFI_BCAST_FILTERING=y
# CONFIG_IWLWIFI_PCIE_RTPM is not set
# CONFIG_IWLWIFI_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_IWLWIFI_DEBUGFS is not set
CONFIG_IWLWIFI_DEVICE_TRACING=y |
Code: | cat /etc/modules-load.d/iwlwifi.conf
#iwlwifi
#iwlmvm
|
Kind regards
Ma _________________ ------------------------------------------------------------------
http://radio.garden/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gh0str1d3r Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 27 May 2008 Posts: 411
|
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 4:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for sharing your config! As far as I can see, the only difference to my settings is that you don't set any options for the iwlwifi module. I tried that, it gives the same signal but also not other side effects.
What is your the output the following command?
Code: | # iwconfig wlp58s0
wlp58s0 IEEE 802.11 ESSID:"eduroam"
Mode:Managed Frequency:5.785 GHz Access Point: 18:64:72:xx:xx:xx
Bit Rate=866.7 Mb/s Tx-Power=22 dBm
Retry short limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=52/70 Signal level=-58 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:9 Missed beacon:0
|
In particular, what is the "Tx-Power"? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Marlo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 26 Jul 2003 Posts: 1591
|
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 6:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Gh0str1d3r wrote: |
What is your the output the following command?
In particular, what is the "Tx-Power"? |
Code: | tux ~ # iwconfig wlp6s0
wlp6s0 IEEE 802.11 ESSID:"mainstation"
Mode:Managed Frequency:5.18 GHz Access Point: 60:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
Bit Rate=433.3 Mb/s Tx-Power=22 dBm
Retry short limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:on
Link Quality=58/70 Signal level=-60 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:2 Missed beacon:0
|
As you can see, the "Tx-Power" is just like yours.
Kind regards
Ma _________________ ------------------------------------------------------------------
http://radio.garden/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
khayyam Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/9397496074fd0189143bb7.png)
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 7:05 pm Post subject: Re: iwlwifi intel wifi has poor signal strength |
|
|
Gh0str1d3r wrote: | The data transfer speed is good (up to 150 MB/s) but I frequently have disconnects or can't connect to begin with due to a very weak signal. |
Gh0str1d3r ... higher bitrates translate to tighter packed frames, and so the greater chance that those frames are missed. Also, as you're on eduroam you're probably in a WDS (roaming) network and will have a number of AP's with the same ESSID, this can cause disconnects as each of these may overlap beacons and your STA doesn't know which AP it should connect to. You should also consider that eduroam will have numerious clients each of which are attempting to send/recieve on the same interface, so your STA is not guarenteed the throughput at the rate of the link.
Gh0str1d3r wrote: | Even if I place my laptop on the router it shows at most 2 out of 3 bars. Is this a known issue? |
"bars" are mearly indicators, and like "progress bars" are simply a rough approximation.
Gh0str1d3r wrote: | In particular, what is the "Tx-Power"? |
That is "transfer" power.
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|