View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Spargeltarzan Guru
Joined: 23 Jul 2017 Posts: 325
|
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:32 pm Post subject: Dantrell's GNOME Without Systemd Project (Part 2) |
|
|
Hi Dantrell,
I observe an issue with libical and california:
Code: |
dev-libs/libical:0
(dev-libs/libical-3.0.3:0/3::dantrell-gnome, ebuild scheduled for merge) conflicts with
<dev-libs/libical-3.0:= required by (gnome-extra/california-0.4.0-r1:0/0::dantrell-gnome, installed)
^ ^^^
<dev-libs/libical-3.0:0/2= required by (gnome-extra/california-0.4.0-r1:0/0::dantrell-gnome, installed)
|
Please help
Mod edit.
Split from GNOME Without Systemd to avoid the forum topic length limit.
-- NeddySeagoon
_________________ ___________________
Regards
Spargeltarzan
Notebook: Lenovo YOGA 900-13ISK: Gentoo stable amd64, GNOME systemd, KVM/QEMU
Desktop-PC: Intel Core i7-4770K, 8GB Ram, AMD Radeon R9 280X, ZFS Storage, GNOME openrc, Dantrell, Xen |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dantrell l33t
Joined: 01 Jun 2007 Posts: 915 Location: Earth
|
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 9:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Spargeltarzan wrote: | I observe an issue with libical and california [...] |
California depends on <dev-libs/libical-3.0 so that message is correct.
Spargeltarzan wrote: | Please help |
You are going to have to decide which package(s) you want more.
Edit: California now builds with >=dev-libs/libical-3.0 (and <dev-libs/libical-3.0 too for that matter). _________________ Dantrell B. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Flisk n00b
Joined: 10 Jun 2018 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 12:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi! Thank you very much for your work maintaining this patchset.
I'm having trouble with gnome-control-center. It segfaults whenever I click on the "Mouse & Touchpad" button, then refuses to start entirely until I remove "mouse" from 'org.gnome.ControlCenter last-panel' using dconf Editor.
Here's a stack trace of gnome-control-center when it SIGSEGVs:
Code: |
#0 0x00007ffff6a6e6e4 in _XInternAtom (dpy=dpy@entry=0x555555b82670, name=name@entry=0x5555556e87f5 "Device Node", onlyIfExists=0, psig=psig@entry=0x7fffffffb3a8,
pidx=pidx@entry=0x7fffffffb3a0, pn=pn@entry=0x7fffffffb3a4) at /usr/src/debug/x11-libs/libX11-1.6.5-r1/libX11-1.6.5/src/IntAtom.c:84
#1 0x00007ffff6a6ebba in XInternAtom (dpy=0x555555b82670, name=0x5555556e87f5 "Device Node", onlyIfExists=<optimized out>)
at /usr/src/debug/x11-libs/libX11-1.6.5-r1/libX11-1.6.5/src/IntAtom.c:175
#2 0x00005555555f0eca in xdevice_get_device_node (deviceid=0) at gsd-input-helper.c:196
#3 0x00005555555f1df3 in add_device (manager=0x7fffc000f8a0, gdk_device=0x5555561be650) at gsd-device-manager-x11.c:115
#4 0x00005555555f1f60 in init_devices (manager=0x7fffc000f8a0, device_type=GDK_DEVICE_TYPE_SLAVE) at gsd-device-manager-x11.c:158
#5 0x00005555555f204a in gsd_x11_device_manager_init (manager=0x7fffc000f8a0) at gsd-device-manager-x11.c:179
#6 0x00007ffff1a2299b in g_type_create_instance () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#7 0x00007ffff1a046cb in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#8 0x00007ffff1a05dc5 in g_object_new_with_properties () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#9 0x00007ffff1a067c9 in g_object_new () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#10 0x00005555555f022f in gsd_device_manager_get () at gsd-device-manager.c:285
#11 0x00005555555ee795 in cc_mouse_properties_init (object=0x555555fec340) at gnome-mouse-properties.c:383
#12 0x00007ffff1a2299b in g_type_create_instance () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#13 0x00007ffff1a046cb in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#14 0x00007ffff1a05dc5 in g_object_new_with_properties () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#15 0x00007ffff1a067c9 in g_object_new () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#16 0x00005555555ee946 in cc_mouse_properties_new () at gnome-mouse-properties.c:408
#17 0x00005555555ed48e in cc_mouse_panel_init (self=0x55555607d8f0) at cc-mouse-panel.c:104
#18 0x00007ffff1a2299b in g_type_create_instance () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#19 0x00007ffff1a046cb in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#20 0x00007ffff1a06545 in g_object_new_valist () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#21 0x00007ffff1a067a1 in g_object_new () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#22 0x00005555555a7fc1 in cc_panel_loader_load_by_name (shell=0x555555e642c0, name=0x5555562f0a50 "mouse", parameters=0x0) at cc-panel-loader.c:234
#23 0x00005555555ac5b2 in activate_panel (self=0x555555e642c0, id=0x5555562f0a50 "mouse", parameters=0x0, name=0x5555560bb5b0 "Mouse & Touchpad", gicon=0x555555d28500)
at cc-window.c:128
#24 0x00005555555ad03e in set_active_panel_from_id (shell=0x555555e642c0, start_id=0x5555562f0a50 "mouse", parameters=0x0, error=0x0) at cc-window.c:336
#25 0x00005555555ad39e in show_panel_cb (panel_list=0x555555bb8670, panel_id=0x5555562f0a50 "mouse", self=0x555555e642c0) at cc-window.c:391
#26 0x00007ffff1a01c24 in g_cclosure_marshal_VOID__STRINGv () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#27 0x00007ffff19ff1e4 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#28 0x00007ffff1a19f25 in g_signal_emit_valist () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#29 0x00007ffff1a1a627 in g_signal_emit () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#30 0x00005555555ab279 in row_activated_cb (listbox=0x555555e8e5f0, row=0x555555f55f30, self=0x555555bb8670) at cc-panel-list.c:514
#31 0x00007ffff19fefb5 in g_closure_invoke () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#32 0x00007ffff1a11752 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#33 0x00007ffff1a1a238 in g_signal_emit_valist () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#34 0x00007ffff1a1a627 in g_signal_emit () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#35 0x00007ffff32ccff4 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgtk-3.so.0
#36 0x00007fffe2904d28 in ffi_call_unix64 () from /usr/lib64/libffi.so.6
#37 0x00007fffe2904814 in ffi_call () from /usr/lib64/libffi.so.6
#38 0x00007ffff19ffcca in g_cclosure_marshal_generic_va () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#39 0x00007ffff19ff1e4 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#40 0x00007ffff1a19f25 in g_signal_emit_valist () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#41 0x00007ffff1a1a627 in g_signal_emit () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#42 0x00007ffff328cc06 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgtk-3.so.0
#43 0x00007ffff1a01f67 in g_cclosure_marshal_VOID__BOXEDv () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#44 0x00007ffff19ff1e4 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#45 0x00007ffff1a19f25 in g_signal_emit_valist () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#46 0x00007ffff1a1a627 in g_signal_emit () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#47 0x00007ffff3289f4e in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgtk-3.so.0
#48 0x00007ffff328b55b in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgtk-3.so.0
#49 0x00007ffff328e11d in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgtk-3.so.0
#50 0x00007ffff325b95e in gtk_event_controller_handle_event () from /usr/lib64/libgtk-3.so.0
#51 0x00007ffff341c4fb in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgtk-3.so.0
#52 0x00007ffff32d554a in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgtk-3.so.0
#53 0x00007ffff19ff1e4 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#54 0x00007ffff1a199f1 in g_signal_emit_valist () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#55 0x00007ffff1a1a627 in g_signal_emit () from /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0
#56 0x00007ffff341e7bc in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgtk-3.so.0
#57 0x00007ffff32d258e in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgtk-3.so.0
#58 0x00007ffff32d45be in gtk_main_do_event () from /usr/lib64/libgtk-3.so.0
#59 0x00007ffff2df5745 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgdk-3.so.0
#60 0x00007ffff2e485a2 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libgdk-3.so.0
#61 0x00007ffff1723e97 in g_main_context_dispatch () from /usr/lib64/libglib-2.0.so.0
#62 0x00007ffff1724108 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libglib-2.0.so.0
#63 0x00007ffff17241bc in g_main_context_iteration () from /usr/lib64/libglib-2.0.so.0
#64 0x00007ffff1ce51fd in g_application_run () from /usr/lib64/libgio-2.0.so.0
#65 0x00005555555a4674 in main (argc=1, argv=0x7fffffffdcd8) at main.c:57
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
dantrell l33t
Joined: 01 Jun 2007 Posts: 915 Location: Earth
|
Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Flisk wrote: | I'm having trouble with gnome-control-center. It segfaults whenever I click on the "Mouse & Touchpad" button, then refuses to start entirely until I remove "mouse" from 'org.gnome.ControlCenter last-panel' using dconf Editor. |
Please identify which GNOME release version you are using and which USE flags gnome-base/gnome-control-center was built with. _________________ Dantrell B. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Flisk n00b
Joined: 10 Jun 2018 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 12:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dantrell wrote: | Please identify which GNOME release version you are using and which USE flags gnome-base/gnome-control-center was built with. |
I'm running 3.28 compiled with the profile "dantrell-gnome-3-28:default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/gnome/3.28/extended".
Code: |
* Found these USE flags for gnome-base/gnome-control-center-3.28.2:
U I
+ + bluetooth : Enable Bluetooth Support
+ + colord : Support color management using x11-misc/colord
+ + cups : Add support for CUPS (Common Unix Printing System)
+ + debug : Enable extra debug codepaths, like asserts and extra output. If you want to get
meaningful backtraces see
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Project:Quality_Assurance/Backtraces
+ + elogind : <unknown>
+ + gnome-online-accounts : Enable configuration panel for net-libs/gnome-online-accounts accounts
+ + ibus : Enable support for enhanced input methods through app-i18n/ibus
- - input_devices_wacom : INPUT_DEVICES setting to build driver for wacom input devices
- - kerberos : Add kerberos support
+ + libinput : <unknown>
+ + networkmanager : Enable net-misc/networkmanager support
- - v4l : Enable support for video4linux (using linux-headers or userspace libv4l
libraries)
- - vanilla-datetime : <unknown>
- - vanilla-hostname : <unknown>
+ + wayland : Enable dev-libs/wayland backend
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
dantrell l33t
Joined: 01 Jun 2007 Posts: 915 Location: Earth
|
Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 1:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Flisk wrote: | Here's a stack trace of gnome-control-center when it SIGSEGVs [...] |
I spun up two different GNOME 3.28 test installs and I wasn't able to reproduce this issue.
That is not to say there isn't an issue but if I can't reproduce it, I can't fix it.
In any case, this looks like an upstream issue.
P.S. I looked elsewhere for hints and the closest I found was Arch Linux task #57153. _________________ Dantrell B. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Spargeltarzan Guru
Joined: 23 Jul 2017 Posts: 325
|
Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi dantrell,
Is it possible that your overlay activates ldap USE flag for net-misc/openssh-7.7_p1-r4? If not I have configured it somewhere manually and sorry for asking
It will lead to upgrade issues for version 7.7. _________________ ___________________
Regards
Spargeltarzan
Notebook: Lenovo YOGA 900-13ISK: Gentoo stable amd64, GNOME systemd, KVM/QEMU
Desktop-PC: Intel Core i7-4770K, 8GB Ram, AMD Radeon R9 280X, ZFS Storage, GNOME openrc, Dantrell, Xen |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dantrell l33t
Joined: 01 Jun 2007 Posts: 915 Location: Earth
|
Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Spargeltarzan wrote: | Is it possible that your overlay activates ldap USE flag for net-misc/openssh-7.7_p1-r4? |
It doesn't do so directly (I doubled checked).
Gentoo does have the ldap USE flag enabled for */desktop/make.defaults and that is inherited by the experimental combined profiles.
Spargeltarzan wrote: | If not I have configured it somewhere manually and sorry for asking |
No problem. _________________ Dantrell B. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CapSel n00b
Joined: 01 Jan 2018 Posts: 2 Location: Poland
|
Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 7:05 am Post subject: gnome-keyring unlock at login |
|
|
I can't get gnome keyring to unlock automatically at login with password using gdm.
Every time I login popup dialog appears asking for password. Sometimes it's plain simple gtk window with 2 buttons and sometimes it's gnome shell dialog (same style as in logout or restart dialog).
My login password is same as "Default keyring" password. Contents of /etc/pam.d/gdm-password file seems to be correct. I tried recompiling pam without filecaps (there was a bug in kde...).
I'm using gnome 3.28.0.
How can I debug it?
pam_gnome_keyring.so does not support "debug" keyword. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Flisk n00b
Joined: 10 Jun 2018 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 3:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've got another problem: closing my laptop's lid doesn't suspend it.
When I run elogind-inhibit shortly after closing and opening the lid, it says:
Code: | Who: me (UID 1000/me, PID 5126/gsd-power)
What: handle-lid-switch
Why: Multiple displays attached
Mode: block
|
… though no additional displays are attached to my laptop. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dantrell l33t
Joined: 01 Jun 2007 Posts: 915 Location: Earth
|
Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 5:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
CapSel wrote: | I can't get gnome keyring to unlock automatically at login with password using gdm. |
I don't believe that this issue is related to GNOME Without Systemd specifically but just GNOME in general.
Although the problem is probably not with GNOME but somewhere in your setup.
That said, my understanding of this technique is that the GNOME Keyring password should be blank.
But don't quote me on that.
Flisk wrote: | I've got another problem: closing my laptop's lid doesn't suspend it.
When I run elogind-inhibit shortly after closing and opening the lid, it says:
Code: | Who: me (UID 1000/me, PID 5126/gsd-power)
What: handle-lid-switch
Why: Multiple displays attached
Mode: block
|
… though no additional displays are attached to my laptop. |
This issue, at least, I'm more familiar with.
Your laptops lid events are being handled as if the laptop is docked (which boils down to multiple displays being attached) and elogind (or more specifically systemd which it derives from) prevents suspension on lid close if an external display or docking station is attached. The reason why this is happening even though you don't have an external display or a docking station attached (?) has to do with this commit or one like it. If it's that commit specifically your solution is to blacklist the HP WMI kernel module.
Another solution is a patch like this one which allows suspending despite that block. If you can test it and confirm that it works, I'll add it as a Quality of Life patch on my end. _________________ Dantrell B. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CapSel n00b
Joined: 01 Jan 2018 Posts: 2 Location: Poland
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Flisk n00b
Joined: 10 Jun 2018 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 10:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
dantrell wrote: | If it's that commit specifically your solution is to blacklist the HP WMI kernel module. |
This module isn't present on my system.
dantrell wrote: | Another solution is a patch like this one which allows suspending despite that block. If you can test it and confirm that it works, I'll add it as a Quality of Life patch on my end. |
I built gnome-settings-daemon with this patch and enabled /org/gnome/settings-daemon/plugins/power/lid-close-suspend-with-external-monitor both in my regular session and in the gdm session. The multi-display inhibitors are no longer listed by elogind-inhibit, but frustratingly, the laptop still does not suspend.
I've made sure the lid switch actually works — /proc/acpi/button/lid/LID/state correctly reports state: closed when the lid is closed. Suspending through the GNOME menu works fine. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
smcmillan n00b
Joined: 23 Jun 2018 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 1:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Trying to install 3.28 and I cannot compile app-accessibility/at-spi2-core-2.28.0-r2. Here is the output of emerge:
Code: |
* Applying at-spi2-core-2.0.2-disable-teamspaces-test.patch ... [ ok ]
* Applying at-spi2-core-2.28.0-support-autotools.patch ... [ ok ]
* Disabling deprecation warnings ... [ ok ]
* Running eautoreconf in '/var/tmp/portage/app-accessibility/at-spi2-core-2.28.0-r2/work/at-spi2-core-2.28.0' ...
* Running autopoint --force ... [ ok ]
* Skipping 'gtkdocize --copy' due gtkdocize not installed
* Running libtoolize --install --copy --force --automake ... [ ok ]
* Running aclocal -I m4 ... [ ok ]
* Running autoconf --force ... [ ok ]
* Running autoheader ... [ ok ]
* Running automake --add-missing --copy --foreign --force-missing ... [ !! ]
* Failed Running automake !
*
* Include in your bugreport the contents of:
*
* /var/tmp/portage/app-accessibility/at-spi2-core-2.28.0-r2/temp/automake.out
* ERROR: app-accessibility/at-spi2-core-2.28.0-r2::dantrell-gnome-3-28 failed (prepare phase):
* Failed Running automake !
*
* Call stack:
* ebuild.sh, line 124: Called src_prepare
* environment, line 3424: Called gnome2_src_prepare
* environment, line 2200: Called eautoreconf
* environment, line 909: Called eautomake
* environment, line 863: Called autotools_run_tool 'automake' '--add-missing' '--copy' '--foreign' '--force-missing'
* environment, line 597: Called die
* The specific snippet of code:
* die "Failed Running $1 !";
|
And the output of automake.out:
Code: |
****** automake *****
***** PWD: /var/tmp/portage/app-accessibility/at-spi2-core-2.28.0-r2/work/at-spi2-core-2.28.0
***** automake --add-missing --copy --foreign --force-missing
configure.ac:30: installing 'config/compile'
configure.ac:23: installing 'config/missing'
atspi/Makefile.am: installing 'config/depcomp'
parallel-tests: installing 'config/test-driver'
automake-1.16: error: cannot open < gtk-doc.make: No such file or directory
|
EDIT: Well, that was due to my install breaking. Did a fresh install and directly installed this and it all went smooth.
Last edited by smcmillan on Sat Jun 30, 2018 5:27 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dantrell l33t
Joined: 01 Jun 2007 Posts: 915 Location: Earth
|
Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 4:29 pm Post subject: Re: gnome-keyring unlock at login |
|
|
CapSel wrote: | Any ideas on how to debug this issue? |
I got nothing.
But I do think it's less a matter of debugging and more about following the right steps. But since I don't know which method works for what you want to accomplish, I don't know which steps to follow.
Flisk wrote: | I built gnome-settings-daemon with this patch and enabled /org/gnome/settings-daemon/plugins/power/lid-close-suspend-with-external-monitor both in my regular session and in the gdm session. The multi-display inhibitors are no longer listed by elogind-inhibit, but frustratingly, the laptop still does not suspend.
I've made sure the lid switch actually works — /proc/acpi/button/lid/LID/state correctly reports state: closed when the lid is closed. Suspending through the GNOME menu works fine. |
Did you also check the power actions in GNOME Tweak Tool?
smcmillan wrote: | Trying to install 3.28 and I cannot compile app-accessibility/at-spi2-core-2.28.0-r2. |
Sync up and you should be good to go. _________________ Dantrell B. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ultimator n00b
Joined: 23 Jun 2018 Posts: 26
|
Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 9:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
smcmillan wrote: | Trying to install 3.28 and I cannot compile app-accessibility/at-spi2-core-2.28.0-r2. Here is the output of emerge:
Code: |
* Applying at-spi2-core-2.0.2-disable-teamspaces-test.patch ... [ ok ]
* Applying at-spi2-core-2.28.0-support-autotools.patch ... [ ok ]
* Disabling deprecation warnings ... [ ok ]
* Running eautoreconf in '/var/tmp/portage/app-accessibility/at-spi2-core-2.28.0-r2/work/at-spi2-core-2.28.0' ...
* Running autopoint --force ... [ ok ]
* Skipping 'gtkdocize --copy' due gtkdocize not installed
* Running libtoolize --install --copy --force --automake ... [ ok ]
* Running aclocal -I m4 ... [ ok ]
* Running autoconf --force ... [ ok ]
* Running autoheader ... [ ok ]
* Running automake --add-missing --copy --foreign --force-missing ... [ !! ]
* Failed Running automake !
*
* Include in your bugreport the contents of:
*
* /var/tmp/portage/app-accessibility/at-spi2-core-2.28.0-r2/temp/automake.out
* ERROR: app-accessibility/at-spi2-core-2.28.0-r2::dantrell-gnome-3-28 failed (prepare phase):
* Failed Running automake !
*
* Call stack:
* ebuild.sh, line 124: Called src_prepare
* environment, line 3424: Called gnome2_src_prepare
* environment, line 2200: Called eautoreconf
* environment, line 909: Called eautomake
* environment, line 863: Called autotools_run_tool 'automake' '--add-missing' '--copy' '--foreign' '--force-missing'
* environment, line 597: Called die
* The specific snippet of code:
* die "Failed Running $1 !";
|
And the output of automake.out:
Code: |
****** automake *****
***** PWD: /var/tmp/portage/app-accessibility/at-spi2-core-2.28.0-r2/work/at-spi2-core-2.28.0
***** automake --add-missing --copy --foreign --force-missing
configure.ac:30: installing 'config/compile'
configure.ac:23: installing 'config/missing'
atspi/Makefile.am: installing 'config/depcomp'
parallel-tests: installing 'config/test-driver'
automake-1.16: error: cannot open < gtk-doc.make: No such file or directory
|
|
Hi smcmillan,
you could try to install dev-util/gtk-doc. That fixed it for me. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ultimator n00b
Joined: 23 Jun 2018 Posts: 26
|
Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 10:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Flisk wrote: |
I'm having trouble with gnome-control-center. It segfaults whenever I click on the "Mouse & Touchpad" button, then refuses to start entirely until I remove "mouse" from 'org.gnome.ControlCenter last-panel' using dconf Editor.
|
It's probably a wayland problem. I have the same issue but it works fine when using the "GNOME on Xorg" login option in gdm. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dantrell l33t
Joined: 01 Jun 2007 Posts: 915 Location: Earth
|
Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 10:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ultimator wrote: | you could try to install dev-util/gtk-doc. That fixed it for me. |
This dependency is already accounted for.
Ultimator wrote: | It's probably a wayland problem. I have the same issue but it works fine when using the "GNOME on Xorg" login option in gdm. |
That would explain why I couldn't reproduce it. _________________ Dantrell B. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Flisk n00b
Joined: 10 Jun 2018 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 10:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dantrell wrote: | Did you also check the power actions in GNOME Tweak Tool? |
Yeah, "Suspend when laptop lid is closed" is set to on. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hououin n00b
Joined: 24 Jun 2018 Posts: 7
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
dantrell l33t
Joined: 01 Jun 2007 Posts: 915 Location: Earth
|
Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Flisk wrote: | Yeah, "Suspend when laptop lid is closed" is set to on. |
I'm out of guesses then since I don't have a laptop to test this with.
What I can say though is that I haven't patched GNOME Settings Daemon in relation to this so the problem might be elogind (or maybe just the elogind version used). If you have time, you can probably rule this out by booting up GNOME with systemd using a Fedora live image.
hououin wrote: | I've been having issues installing webkit-gtk-2.20.1 |
Try 2.20.3 which is slotted in ~. _________________ Dantrell B. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hououin n00b
Joined: 24 Jun 2018 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dantrell wrote: | Flisk wrote: | Yeah, "Suspend when laptop lid is closed" is set to on. |
I'm out of guesses then since I don't have a laptop to test this with.
What I can say though is that I haven't patched GNOME Settings Daemon in relation to this so the problem might be elogind (or maybe just the elogind version used). If you have time, you can probably rule this out by booting up GNOME with systemd using a Fedora live image.
hououin wrote: | I've been having issues installing webkit-gtk-2.20.1 |
Try 2.20.3 which is slotted in ~. |
Still failed sadly. The error from ninja was that it was:
"Building release without compiler optimizations: WebKit will be slow. Set -DRELEASE_WITHOUT_OPTIMIZATIONS if this is intended."
When I run CMake with -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release and use ninja it builds fine...
But I'm not sure how to make it use that flag for portage.
Edit:
I got it to build like so..
CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release emerge --ask net-libs/webkit-gtk-2.20.3 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dantrell l33t
Joined: 01 Jun 2007 Posts: 915 Location: Earth
|
Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hououin wrote: | When I run CMake with -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release and use ninja it builds fine...
But I'm not sure how to make it use that flag for portage. |
Good to hear.
hououin wrote: | I got it to build like so..
CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release emerge --ask net-libs/webkit-gtk-2.20.3 |
But that's odd because it's already being done? _________________ Dantrell B. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hououin n00b
Joined: 24 Jun 2018 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dantrell wrote: | hououin wrote: | When I run CMake with -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release and use ninja it builds fine...
But I'm not sure how to make it use that flag for portage. |
Good to hear.
hououin wrote: | I got it to build like so..
CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release emerge --ask net-libs/webkit-gtk-2.20.3 |
But that's odd because it's already being done? |
Really? In my environment build file it was:
CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE="Gentoo"
Which I'm not sure why it didn't work but ya. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dantrell l33t
Joined: 01 Jun 2007 Posts: 915 Location: Earth
|
Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 5:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hououin wrote: | Really? In my environment build file it was:
CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE="Gentoo" |
This led me to check the cmake-utils.eclass and I found that it's indeed being set to Gentoo there.
Further down, I found this so I guess there are changes on my end to make.
Thanks for the hint. _________________ Dantrell B. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|