View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
guibod n00b
Joined: 13 Nov 2003 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2003 6:29 pm Post subject: Multiple Radeon problem... |
|
|
Hi there.
I am willing to get a configuration that run correctly with my RADEON 9200 SE, on a KT266 VIA agp chipset. I own two screen : 19" (1600*1200) and a 17" (1024*768)
I first managed to get a dualhead configuration that worked (Xinerama). But the lack of DRI support get me angry so I started setting up a second server, with only one HEAD :
excerpts from /etc/x11/gdm/gdm.conf
Code: |
[servers]
0=Monohead
1=Dualhead[server-Dualhead]
name=DualHead server
command=/usr/X11R6/bin/X -xf86config /etc/X11/XF86Config-4-dual -nolisten tcp -audit 0
flexible=true
[server-Monohead]
command=/usr/X11R6/bin/X -xf86config /etc/X11/XF86Config-4-mono -nolisten tcp -audit 0
|
Q : Is this a good Idea to get two X servers to start ?
Then I used fglrxconfig to get two configuration (mono/dual). In the meantime I lost the ability to run my old configuration... The left (17") screen appears "crypted", I thought it was due to VertRefresh or HorizSync but I didn"t managed to get it to work.
I used the "[url=https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=102680"]Radeon Fglrx Howto[/url]"by spekulatius as reference.
So actually I have :
Kernel module AGPGART support
Two fglrxconfig XF86Config files
But I still have problems :
1- no_dri = yes option is needed to get XF86 to start
With "no_dri = no" I cannot manage to get X to get started. The server crash just after the RANDR extension started.
With no_dri = no, I manage to start but I can see thoses errors :
Code: |
Symbol firegl_AGPAcquire from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/fglrx_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol firegl_QueryHwCaps from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/fglrx_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol firegl_AllocCache from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/fglrx_drv.o is unresolved!
Symbol firegl_AllocCache from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/fglrx_drv.o is unresolved!
|
I think that the DRI probleme isn't DUAL/MONO head related.
2- Dirty image on monohead server
The image is satured, colors are too bright so i get green zone were this is too bright...
I am not english speaking folk so I don't know oh to explain this. This never happend before...
3- Dual Head -> Two Right screens
I first get the old 17" screen "crypted" with the original XF86Config file produced by fglrxconfig. So I first changed the Monitor frequencies, but without sucess... I tried to change resolution (CTRL+ALT+num+) without success...
I allowed the "virtual" option, so I realized that the left monitor was a clone from the right screen !!!
I put my files on my server :
http://muposerver.dyndns.org/gentoo_files/XF86Config-4-dual
http://muposerver.dyndns.org/gentoo_files/XF86Config-4-mono
thanks.[/list] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dberkholz Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Mar 2003 Posts: 1008 Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
|
Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2003 11:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The mergedfb option on the standard ati driver will allow you to combine dual-head and direct rendering. It's an alternative to Xinerama. To use it, you'll need to use xfree-drm instead of ati-drivers, and I'm not sure how the 9200's work with that.
Anyway, it's an option. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CriminalMastermind Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 19 Nov 2003 Posts: 132 Location: toronto
|
Posted: Sun Nov 23, 2003 9:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
guibod wrote: | Q : Is this a good Idea to get two X servers to start ? |
yep, you can run two or more xservers at the same time, but if i remember correctly only one xserver can use dri at a time. i think i read that here. i would assume the same is true for ati's fglrx driver cus i just tried running 2 xservers with 3d enabled and it crashed my system.
now i am talking about multiple xservers running using the same video card and monitor.
ie something like
Code: | X -xf86config XF86Config.nodri :0 vt08 |
from one vt, then pressing <ctrl><alt><f?> and running
Code: | X -xf86config XF86Config.nodri :1 vt09 |
now one xserver is running on vt8 and the other on vt9, but they are both using the same graphics card and monitor. (starting X like that is really useless. you won't be able to do anything. it's just an exaple that it will work and to try to explane what i'm talking about)
i think you can run 2 xservers at the same time using 2 different video cards... i seem to remember doing this in the past, but i'm not sure if it was 2 physical separate video card. the problem i had at the time was only one xserver would update the display at a time. for example lets say that...
monitor/graphics card #1 was being used by an xserver run on vt7
and
monitor/graphics card #2 was being used by an xserver run on vt8
when i hit <ctrl><alt><f8> monitor #1 would go black and monitor #2 would display stuff. if i then hit <ctrl><alt><f7> monitor #2 would go black and monitor #1 would display stuff.
i have no idea if things are still like that... but that's what i seem to remember from a while ago. from the link above i would say that things are no longer that way... but you may need to apply that kernel patch... i really don't know.
i'm gonna take a guess at what your want to do and give you a possible solution.
my guess is that you wanta use 2 monitors for working, but want 3d for games.
if that is the case you can run your xserver with xinerama and no dri. then when you wanta play a game run...
Code: | xinit /usr/local/bin/quake3-smp -set nosplash -- :1 -xf86config XF86Config.fglrx |
where the XF86Config.fglrx file has 3d enabled. so you just started another xserver on the next avalable vt. only one xserver is using dri or fglrx at a time so i think it sould be safe. i have done this with one video card and switching vt's did cause the colors in quake to go all funky. i can't see why it wouldn't work if one xserver was running with xinerama enabled... but i haven't done that myself.
(yes that code above was cut out of a script... well at least i don't run quake3 as my window manager any more.)
i hope something i said helped. _________________ "I can picture a perfect world that knows of no war... and I can picture me attacking that world, because they'd never expect it." |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|