View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
PhoenixStarEclipse n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 11 May 2017 Posts: 71 Location: Jiangsu/China
|
Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:03 am Post subject: Unable to perform PCI Passthrough in virtualbox. |
|
|
I'm trying to passthrough my GTX 1050 to a Windows 10 virtual machine using virtualbox. I'm think I have all the needed kernel options, BIOS options and bootloader options are activated.
To confirm my kernel supports IOMMU, I have the output of dmesg | grep -iE "DMAR|IOMMU"
When I runs the VM without PCI passthrough, everything works fine. But after using Code: | sudo VBoxManage modifyvm "Windows10" --pciattach 01:00.0 | to pass my video card to the VM, weird things happen. Two dialog boxes pop up, one sticks at 0% and the other sticks at 20% like this picture. All the windows stopped responding.
Output of dmesg considered related to the failing VM
----- Update -----
I googled it and found many posts involving VFIO, but the official documentation didn't mention it. Is this the problem?
Any help is appreciated. _________________ Think twice,code once.
Last edited by PhoenixStarEclipse on Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:14 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
bunder Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
Joined: 10 Apr 2004 Posts: 5947
|
Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
I see nouveau in that stack trace. If you're using the card for passthrough, you can't load any drivers for it. You basically have to treat it like it doesn't exist to the host. _________________
Neddyseagoon wrote: | The problem with leaving is that you can only do it once and it reduces your influence. |
banned from #gentoo since sept 2017 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
PhoenixStarEclipse n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 11 May 2017 Posts: 71 Location: Jiangsu/China
|
Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
bunder wrote: | I see nouveau in that stack trace. If you're using the card for passthrough, you can't load any drivers for it. You basically have to treat it like it doesn't exist to the host. |
Thanks, but how can I do this?
I only have "intel i965" set in my VIDEO_CARDS. I don't know why there's a driver for the nvidia GPU. _________________ Think twice,code once. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
russK l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/15742077964704e215e5664.jpg)
Joined: 27 Jun 2006 Posts: 665
|
Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2018 6:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Look for NOUVEAU in your kernel .config.
You may be able to blacklist it either on the kernel command line or in your /etc/modprobe.d |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
PhoenixStarEclipse n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 11 May 2017 Posts: 71 Location: Jiangsu/China
|
Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
russK wrote: | Look for NOUVEAU in your kernel .config.
You may be able to blacklist it either on the kernel command line or in your /etc/modprobe.d |
Thanks, I blacklisted nouveau and the VM hasn't stuck anymore. However, it just shows a black screen after startup. Here is the output of dmesg considered related. _________________ Think twice,code once. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|