Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
emerge @world fails
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sputnick
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 5:23 am    Post subject: emerge @world fails Reply with quote

Im tryin to emerge -UDN @world and going zlib which failed.

Output of emerge --info

https://pastebin.com/20mRMd97



Theres a link to build log.

https://pastebin.com/qDed5BVX

and make.conf

https://pastebin.com/k6uHbG5i

Trying to finish installing gentoo...

socket-754 Sempron 2600+
1,5gigs memory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2678

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, first off your configuration is a mess. Lets start by fixing some of the more egregious problems. 4.14.65-gentoo i686 tells me that you are running a 32 bit kernel. ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86" is the 32 bit stable branch and CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu" is telling the computer to build 64 bit code. So something is very wrong here. As in, start over from scratch wrong.

You should have CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu" in your make.conf, but the 64 bit CHOST means you must have grabbed the amd64 stage3 which is 64 bit. This means you have 64 bit packages on a system that speaks 32 bit words. It shouldn't even be able to boot. I'm afraid there is just no way back from that.

If you where messing with your CHOST and changed to CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu" then restoring it to CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu" and running emerge -e world might help.

For your profile you have. default/linux/x86/17.0/desktop/plasma/systemd, all well and good, except KDE is never going to run on 1.5 gig of ram. Not to mention the build time will be a few days. You may want to look into openbox, i3, or fluxbox. The real problem is that you have USE="openrc systemd" and you need to choose one. These are likely to conflict. If your profile is accurate and you want to use systemd then disable the openrc flag to avoid conflicts.

You want to use a x86 stage3 for a 32 bit system. The current stage3 is stage3-i686-20181019T143649Z.tar.xz at the time of this posting and this is the one that is compatible with your goals, assuming you want a 32 bit system.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sputnick
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your answer, it has been very helpful and eyeopening.

Been doing some reading, while system compiles -e @world. Thought it might be better to flush it all and start from the scratch. Pick the right tarball with correct chost. Probably take a look on Xfce or fluxbox. Instead of KDE.

Thanks, sput
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sputnick,

It may not be as black and white as The Doctor paints it.

You have an AMD Sempron processor. Its currently running a Linux-4.14.65-gentoo-i686 (32 bit) kernel, so you can only run 32 bit code.
ABI_X86="32" Says to build 32 bit libraries.

Here's the hard bit. Not all Semprons are equal. Some are 64 bit capable, some are not.
The 2600+ in your pastebin suggests that your CPU may be 64 bit capable but its not 100%.
What does
Code:
grep ' lm ' /proc/cpuinfo
output?

lm is the 'long machine' flag. If you have that, your system is 64 bit capable.

Its not wrong to run it in 32 bit mode. It may be faster as you can get more 32 bit objects into the CPU cache than 64 bit objects.

Your build log, at line 204 says
Code:
>>> Source compiled.
so the build worked.
The install failed with
Code:
ERROR: sys-libs/zlib-1.2.11-r2::gentoo failed (install phase):
   unable to read SONAME from libz.so
which I've not seen before.

When you run a 64 bit x86 CPU in 32 bit mode. The setup is a strange mix of 64 bit and 32 bit.

See zlib-1.2.8-r1: unable to read SONAME too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sputnick
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
 lm ' /proc/cpuinfo
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt lm 3dnowext 3dnow rep_good cpuid pni lahf_lm 3dnowprefetch vmmcall

so the lm is there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sputnick,

Yes, that's a 64 bit Sempron.

If you have <2G RAM a 32 bit install will be best as at 1G, in 32 bit mode, the kernel, has to do some extra work to use the rest of RAM.
At 2G, it has to do more extra work. This does not apply to 64 bit mode as the kernel can address more RAM that you can fit in any motherboard that exists today.

You have
Code:
KiB Mem:     1485808 total
RAM.

Taking into account the small cache size, I would do a 32 bit install on that system as it will be faster than 64 bit due to making better use of the CPU cache.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OTOH, the best solution may be adding some RAM and going 64 bit. Depending on what this PC is for you may get bitten by proprietary applications not supporting 32 bit any more. Finding this RAM should not be difficult, even I have a bunch af modules in my drawer, not sure why I haven't thrown them away yet. I can't be alone, very few people keep their drawers clean. ;)
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sputnick
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually i have installed 2gigs. But somehow it uses only half. They are both the same model memory sticks. Weird.

Also i read that my mobo asus 8kv-mx, supports only maximum of 2gigs of memory.

So im pretty much busted..



Sput
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sputnick,

1485808 total RAM is 1.4GB.

The other RAM, not shown, is used by the the on board graphics card and the kernel. If you have an AGP graphics card fitted you can turn off the on board graphics in the BIOS and get the graphics memory back.
Hmm, your manual says that's only 64Mb Max.

There is more good news. Your system is Socket 754 based, not Socket A, so its 64 bit everywhere.
The Socket A based 64 bit Semprons were stuck in a motherboard intended for 32 bit operation, even though some were 64 bit CPUs
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21706

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:
4.14.65-gentoo i686 tells me that you are running a 32 bit kernel.
Although generally true, that's not absolutely correct. On a 64-bit system, compare the output of # setarch x86_64 emerge --info | head -n1 and # setarch i686 emerge --info | head -n1. You get the same Portage/python/profile/gcc/glibc data, and same kernel version, but one will say x86_64 and the other will say i686. I believe that OP probably is not playing tricks with setarch, but I wanted to point out that you cannot completely trust uname output here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sputnick
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lot of things happened during this time. My motherboard died. So i got some new stuff

Still 1Gig memory, but Pentium 4 C Northwood. 2,4Ghz hyperthreading.

I did all from the beginning. Just to avoid some errors. Like choosing x86 i686 tarball. and playing that in my make.conf.

So i got to emerge -UDn @world

was about to write about ghostscript fails, but luckily i noticed my computer clock was 15 years behind. That fixed it.. so nothing more than computer upgrade or downgrade that is...

Yeah i had one question.

What should i do with bootloader. Ive used to go with grub. But its all different now. Which i should use? boot&Efi or boot&Uefi or just boot?

My motherboard is obviously year 2003 model. Gigabyte GA-8TRS300M


How should i install grub? or something else. Have no prefs, other than it must work. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2678

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

EFI and UEFI wasn't around in 2003, so that is out the window. Grub-legacy, lilo, and extlinux are your best choices here. My preference is extlinux since it is nice and simply and just works. I always preferred it to grub.

I'm not sure of you can use a gpt scheme with a motherboard that old. It will probably be fine since reverse comparability was a priority.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sputnick
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lvm-6.0.1 Fails

Code:
Portage 2.3.51 (python 3.6.5-final-0, default/linux/x86/17.0/desktop/plasma, gcc-7.3.0, glibc-2.27-r6, 4.14.65-gentoo i686)
=================================================================
                         System Settings
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-4.14.65-gentoo-i686-Intel-R-_Pentium-R-_4_CPU_2.40GHz-with-gentoo-2.6
KiB Mem:     1030848 total,    521088 free
KiB Swap:     524284 total,    506876 free
Timestamp of repository gentoo: Sat, 01 Dec 2018 04:30:01 +0000
Head commit of repository gentoo: 5bc81fcd52b66b6988178bd35bbf456d68a133a3
sh bash 4.4_p12
ld GNU ld (Gentoo 2.30 p5) 2.30.0
app-shells/bash:          4.4_p12::gentoo
dev-lang/perl:            5.24.3-r1::gentoo
dev-lang/python:          2.7.15::gentoo, 3.6.5::gentoo
dev-util/cmake:           3.9.6::gentoo
dev-util/pkgconfig:       0.29.2::gentoo
sys-apps/baselayout:      2.6-r1::gentoo
sys-apps/openrc:          0.38.2::gentoo
sys-apps/sandbox:         2.13::gentoo
sys-devel/autoconf:       2.13::gentoo, 2.69-r4::gentoo
sys-devel/automake:       1.15.1-r2::gentoo
sys-devel/binutils:       2.30-r4::gentoo
sys-devel/gcc:            7.3.0-r3::gentoo
sys-devel/gcc-config:     1.8-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/libtool:        2.4.6-r3::gentoo
sys-devel/make:           4.2.1-r4::gentoo
sys-kernel/linux-headers: 4.13::gentoo (virtual/os-headers)
sys-libs/glibc:           2.27-r6::gentoo
Repositories:

gentoo
    location: /usr/portage
    sync-type: rsync
    sync-uri: rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage
    priority: -1000
    sync-rsync-extra-opts:
    sync-rsync-verify-metamanifest: yes
    sync-rsync-verify-max-age: 24
    sync-rsync-verify-jobs: 1

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="* -@EULA"
CBUILD="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/share/config /usr/share/gnupg/qualified.txt"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/dconf /etc/env.d /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
ENV_UNSET="DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS DISPLAY GOBIN PERL5LIB PERL5OPT PERLPREFIX PERL_CORE PERL_MB_OPT PERL_MM_OPT XAUTHORITY XDG_CACHE_HOME XDG_CONFIG_HOME XDG_DATA_HOME XDG_RUNTIME_DIR"
FCFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"
FEATURES="assume-digests binpkg-logs config-protect-if-modified distlocks ebuild-locks fixlafiles merge-sync multilib-strict news parallel-fetch preserve-libs protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unknown-features-warn unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch userpriv usersandbox usersync xattr"
FFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed"
MAKEOPTS="-j1"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --omit-dir-times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --human-readable --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages --exclude=/.git"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
USE="X a52 aac acl acpi activities alsa berkdb bluetooth branding bzip2 cairo cdda cdr cli consolekit crypt cups cxx dbus declarative dri dts dvd dvdr emboss encode exif fam flac fortran gdbm gif glamor gpm iconv ipv6 jpeg kde kipi kwallet lcms ldap libnotify libtirpc mad mng mp3 mp4 mpeg ncurses nls nptl ogg opengl openmp pam pango pcre pdf phonon plasma png policykit ppds qml qt4 readline sdl seccomp semantic-desktop spell sqlite ssl startup-notification svg tcpd tiff truetype udev udisks unicode upower usb vorbis widgets wxwidgets x264 x86 xattr xcb xcomposite xml xv xvid zlib" ABI_X86="32" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1 emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" APACHE2_MODULES="authn_core authz_core socache_shmcb unixd actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache cgi cgid dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" CALLIGRA_FEATURES="karbon plan sheets stage words" COLLECTD_PLUGINS="df interface irq load memory rrdtool swap syslog" ELIBC="glibc" GPSD_PROTOCOLS="ashtech aivdm earthmate evermore fv18 garmin garmintxt gpsclock isync itrax mtk3301 nmea ntrip navcom oceanserver oldstyle oncore rtcm104v2 rtcm104v3 sirf skytraq superstar2 timing tsip tripmate tnt ublox ubx" INPUT_DEVICES="libinput keyboard mouse" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LIBREOFFICE_EXTENSIONS="presenter-console presenter-minimizer" OFFICE_IMPLEMENTATION="libreoffice" PHP_TARGETS="php5-6 php7-1" POSTGRES_TARGETS="postgres9_5 postgres10" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_6" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_6" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby23 ruby24" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="amdgpu fbdev intel nouveau radeon radeonsi vesa dummy v4l" XTABLES_ADDONS="quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account"
Unset:  CC, CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, CXX, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, LANG, LC_ALL, LINGUAS, PORTAGE_BINHOST, PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS


Build log is too big... few last lines here..
Code:

[865/1755] /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__$
[866/1755] /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__$
[867/1755] /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__$
[868/1755] /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__$
[869/1755] /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__$
[870/1755] /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__$
[871/1755] /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__$
[872/1755] : && /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -fPIC -O2 -march=i686 -pipe -mno-bmi -fPIC -fvisibility-inlines-hidden -Werror=da$
[873/1755] /usr/bin/cmake -E cmake_symlink_library lib/libLLVMObject.so.6.0.1  lib/libLLVMObject.so.6 lib/libLLVMObject.so && :
[874/1755] /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__$
[875/1755] /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__$
[876/1755] /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__$
[877/1755] /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__$
[878/1755] /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__$
[879/1755] /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__$
[880/1755] /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__$
FAILED: lib/ObjectYAML/CMakeFiles/LLVMObjectYAML.dir/DWARFVisitor.cpp.o
/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/7.3.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__STDC_FORMAT$
In file included from /usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/7.3.0/include/g++-v7/map:62:0,
                 from /var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-6.0.1/work/llvm-6.0.1.src/include/llvm/Support/YAMLParser.h:47,
                 from /var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-6.0.1/work/llvm-6.0.1.src/include/llvm/Support/YAMLTraits.h:24,
                 from /var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-6.0.1/work/llvm-6.0.1.src/include/llvm/ObjectYAML/DWARFYAML.h:21,
                 from /var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-6.0.1/work/llvm-6.0.1.src/lib/ObjectYAML/DWARFVisitor.cpp:13:
/usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/7.3.0/include/g++-v7/bits/stl_multimap.h:996:7: internal compiler error: Segmentation fault
       { return _M_t.equal_range(__x); }
       ^
Please submit a full bug report,
with preprocessed source if appropriate.
See <https://bugs.gentoo.org/> for instructions.
ninja: build stopped: subcommand failed.
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m ERROR: sys-devel/llvm-6.0.1::gentoo failed (compile phase):
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   ninja -v -j1 -l0 failed
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m Call stack:
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m     ebuild.sh, line  124:  Called src_compile
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   environment, line 4453:  Called multilib-minimal_src_compile
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   environment, line 2773:  Called multilib_foreach_abi 'multilib-minimal_abi_src_compile'
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   environment, line 3005:  Called multibuild_foreach_variant '_multilib_multibuild_wrapper' 'multilib-minimal_abi_src_compile'
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   environment, line 2708:  Called _multibuild_run '_multilib_multibuild_wrapper' 'multilib-minimal_abi_src_compile'
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   environment, line 2706:  Called _multilib_multibuild_wrapper 'multilib-minimal_abi_src_compile'
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   environment, line  582:  Called multilib-minimal_abi_src_compile
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   environment, line 2767:  Called multilib_src_compile
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   environment, line 3217:  Called cmake-utils_src_compile
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   environment, line 1016:  Called cmake-utils_src_make
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   environment, line 1192:  Called _cmake_ninja_src_make
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   environment, line  363:  Called eninja
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   environment, line 1522:  Called die
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m The specific snippet of code:
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m       "$@" || die "${nonfatal_args[@]}" "${*} failed"
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=sys-devel/llvm-6.0.1::gentoo'`,
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=sys-devel/llvm-6.0.1::gentoo'`.
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-6.0.1/temp/build.log'.
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-6.0.1/temp/environment'.
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-6.0.1/work/llvm-6.0.1.src-abi_x86_32.x86'
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m S: '/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-6.0.1/work/llvm-6.0.1.src'

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sputnick,

Code:
internal compiler error: Segmentation fault


That's usually overheating or overclocking. It can be faulty RAM too.
Boot into memtest86 and let it run a few cycles.

If it finds something, tell us about it. memtest86 can find other things too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sputnick
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Sputnick,

Code:
internal compiler error: Segmentation fault


That's usually overheating or overclocking. It can be faulty RAM too.
Boot into memtest86 and let it run a few cycles.

If it finds something, tell us about it. memtest86 can find other things too.


well i changed Makeopts="j1" and it or luck made it work.

So, new question, about bootloader. Can i just fdisk /dev/sda2 && mkfs.ext2 /dev/sda2 && mount /dev/sda2 /boot, and genkernel all the way? perhaps install grub legacy or one of those suggested ones.

Cuz i fdisked everything guessing my system is able to boot + efi. Now im almost done emerging world and bootloader away from operating system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sputnick,

On most system you can mix BIOS and GPT. I'm aware of a few Dells where it doesn't work.
Understand a little of of the data layout on disk and boot sequence before I answer your question.

With a GPT partition table, you have a 'Protective MSDOS' partition table at the start of the drive, followed by the real GPT, followed by the actual partitioned space. There is no unallocated space.
With an MSDOS partition table, the following GPT partition table is missing but the actual partitioned space starts in the same place.
The unallocated space, where the GPT partition table would go is often used by boot loaders, when using BIOS/MSDOS mode.

With BIOS/GPT, to make up for the lack of unallocted space, you must allocate a bios_boot partition. The boot loader will use this space, just as if it was the unallocated space.

An EFI bootloader can read the EFI partition directly, it doesn't need any help.
BIOS can only read LBA 0 from the HDD. That's not enough space for a boot loader. Only 446 bytes are available because the partition table uses the last 66 bytes.
What goes here is a loader that calls the BIOS to load a better loader from either the bios_boot partition or the unallocated space before the first partition.
This better loader then loads another loader that can show you a menu.

Sputnick wrote:
Can i just fdisk /dev/sda2 && mkfs.ext2 /dev/sda2 && mount /dev/sda2 /boot, and genkernel all the way?

Not quite.
Code:
fdisk /dev/sda2
would attempt to partition the partition sda2. Partitions inside partitions are not supported except in one special case.
If you have partitioned space you can
Code:
fdisk /dev/sda
and make a new partition.
If you don't have partitioned space, its mostly OK for /boot to be a directory (not its own partition) as you won't be using EFI.

I say "mostly OK" as there has been a race between BIOS vendors and HDD vendors that started when the first HDD was fitted to a PC.
Every now and again, HDD vendors build a bigger drive than can bee seen by the BIOS. Thu first time it happened, was when HDD reached 528Mb. The last time this happened was when HDD got to 137G. There have been a few in between too.

The kernel can see the entire HDD but the BIOS can't. That allows the kernel to locate files needed for booting beyond the region the BIOS can read. There is no warning.
Hence the tradition to have a /boot partition at the start of the drive. Its not required if the BIOS can read the entire HDD.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
With BIOS/GPT, to make up for the lack of unallocted space, you must allocate a bios_boot partition. The boot loader will use this space, just as if it was the unallocated space.

If you use Grub2.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover,

Agreed. bios_boot is a grub2 thing.

Well, lilo always uses block list loading and both grubs will fall back to that too.
Its really ugly when you forget to rewrite the block list.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sputnick
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank u all for helping me out. Tried to run memtest86. Minimal installation cd doesnt load it, even it says its there.

But update for the situation:

I finished the @world after few fails. (segmentation fault always) just tryin again pays off atm. But prolly faulty ram or overheating.

compiling kde atm. 42 pkgs left. And its very difficult to overcome qtwebengine, it counts over 15000 lines and fails to segmentation fault every time at different spot.

gotta find better ram.

Sput
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum