View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
lednakashim n00b
Joined: 09 Jun 2010 Posts: 27
|
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:44 pm Post subject: Can't seem to find "atlantic" |
|
|
I got this device:
Code: | 24:00.0 Ethernet controller: Aquantia Corp. AQC107 NBase-T/IEEE 802.3bz Ethernet Controller [AQtion] (rev 02) |
On Ubuntu its driver is "atlantic.ko", and seems to work.
In menuconfig on 4.19.9 I enabled the two Aquantia options I could find but still no in ifconfig -a. Anybody know how to get "atlantic.ko" built?
Code: | │ Symbol: AQUANTIA_PHY [=y] │
│ Type : tristate │
│ Prompt: Aquantia PHYs │
│ Location: │
│ -> Device Drivers │
│ -> Network device support (NETDEVICES [=y]) │
│ (1) -> PHY Device support and infrastructure (PHYLIB [=y]) │
│ Defined at drivers/net/phy/Kconfig:225 │
│ Depends on: NETDEVICES [=y] && PHYLIB [=y] │
│ │
│ │
│ Symbol: NET_VENDOR_AQUANTIA [=y] │
│ Type : bool │
│ Prompt: aQuantia devices │
│ Location: │
│ -> Device Drivers │
│ -> Network device support (NETDEVICES [=y]) │
│ (2) -> Ethernet driver support (ETHERNET [=y]) │
│ Defined at drivers/net/ethernet/aquantia/Kconfig:5 │
│ Depends on: NETDEVICES [=y] && ETHERNET [=y] |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
mike155 Advocate
Joined: 17 Sep 2010 Posts: 4438 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
1) If you execute 'lspci -k' under Ubuntu, you will see the name of the kernel module that is used for your Aquantia Ethernet controller. Which kernel module is used?
2) NET_VENDOR_AQUANTIA does not compile in support for any network card. It just enables selection of aQuantia devices. The right flag to enable is probably CONFIG_AQTION.
Last edited by mike155 on Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:03 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54809 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
lednakashim,
So close.
NET_VENDOR_AQUANTIA is a menu for all the aQuantia devices. So far, it contains only one submenu item.
You need that item.
It was hidden until you selected aQuantia devices.
before: | │ │ [ ] aQuantia devices │ │
│ │ [ ] ARC devices │ │
|
after: |
│ │ [*] aQuantia devices │ │
│ │ < > aQuantia AQtion(tm) Support (NEW) │ │
│ │ [ ] ARC devices |
The kernel does a lot of hiding things that cannot be selected. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23069
|
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
For completeness: Code: | drivers/net/ethernet/aquantia/atlantic/Makefile:30:obj-$(CONFIG_AQTION) += atlantic.o | From this, we know you need to enable CONFIG_AQTION. The advice above tells you how to do that, once you know the symbol you need. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lednakashim n00b
Joined: 09 Jun 2010 Posts: 27
|
Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'll give it a shot, seems rather embrasing.
Is there any easier way to enabel specific options comapred to what I'm currently doing. What I'm currently doing is searching menuconfig with the slash, and then manually trying to navigate to the option. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jaglover Watchman
Joined: 29 May 2005 Posts: 8291 Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23069
|
Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
I like using menuconfig's numbered jumps. It opens a full-size view to the relevant area, then when you exit that view, you return to the search panel. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Muso Veteran
Joined: 22 Oct 2002 Posts: 1052 Location: The Holy city of Honolulu
|
Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hu wrote: | I like using menuconfig's numbered jumps. It opens a full-size view to the relevant area, then when you exit that view, you return to the search panel. |
++
I've yet to find a better alternative. _________________ "You can lead a horticulture but you can't make her think" ~ Dorothy Parker
2021 is the year of the Linux Desktop! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54809 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
lednakashim,
Its not embarrassing its a Gentoo learning experience.
It might be embarrassing next time if you do it again.
There is another trick with the / search in menuconfig. It only shows selectable symbols, which in not very useful if the symbol you want is hidden.
Press 'z' on any menu, where 'z' is not a shortcut to make all symbols visible and searchable.
You still can't select hidden symbols but you can jump to them and read the Depends On: in the help to know why they are hidden, then recursively apply the above process. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|