View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
sevilla.larry n00b
Joined: 09 Nov 2015 Posts: 42
|
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:47 am Post subject: Virtualization Server Host - GUI guide |
|
|
Objective:
Installing/Setting-up a (physical) PC as a Virtualization Server Host using the following softwares:
1. Gentoo (x64) as host OS
2. QEMU/KVM and its companions
3. Virt-Manager as GUI manager
Sources:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/QEMU
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/QEMU/Options
http://big-elephants.com/2015-09/virtual-public-network-setup-with-gentoo-and-kvm/
1. Install/Setup-up a PC like as Desktop PC with GUI (in my case XFCE).
2. Virtualization Host settings in Kernel
///--- Begin Kernel modifiation ---///
[*] Virtualization --->
<*> Kernel-based Virtual Machine (KVM) support
<*> KVM for Intel processors support (in my case, I have an Intel processor)
<*> Host kernel accelerator for virtio net
Device Drivers --->
[*] Network device support --->
[*] Network core driver support
<*> MAC-VLAN support
<*> MAC-VLAN based tap driver
<*> Universal TUN/TAP device driver support
[*] IOMMU Hardware Support --->
[*] Networking support --->
Networking options --->
<*> The IPv6 protocol
[*] Network packet filtering framework (Netfilter) --->
[*] Advanced netfilter configuration
Core Netfilter Configuration --->
*** Xtables targets ***
<*> CHECKSUM target support
<*> "CONNMARK" target support
<*> Ethernet Bridge tables (ebtables) support --->
<*> ebt: nat table support
<*> ebt: mark target support
<*> 802.1d Ethernet Bridging
[*] QoS and/or fair queueing --->
*** Queueing/Scheduling ***
<*> Hierarchical Token Bucket (HTB)
<*> Stochastic Fairness Queueing (SFQ)
<*> Ingress/classifier-action Qdisc
*** Classification ***
<*> Netfilter mark (FW)
<*> Universal 32bit comparisons w/ hashing (U32)
[*] Actions
<*> Traffic Policing
[*] Network priority cgroup
Kernel hacking --->
Compile-time checks and compiler options --->
[*] Debug Filesystem
File systems --->
<*> The Extended 4 (ext4) filesystem
[*] Ext4 Security Labels
General
-*- Control Group support --->
[*] Memory controller
[*] Swap controller
[*] Swap controller enabled by default
[*] IO controller
[*] CPU controller --->
[*] Group scheduling for SCHED_OTHER
[*] Freezer controller
[*] Cpuset controller
[*] Include legacy /proc/<pid>/cpuset file
[*] Device controller
[*] Simple CPU accounting controller
[*] Perf controller
///--- End Kernel modifiation ---///
3. /etc/portage/make.conf (in my case)
additional USE settings
USE="bindist -systemd X aio alsa bzip2 capstone curl fdt filecaps iscsi jpeg lzo ncurses nfs numa pin-upstream-blobs png pulseaudio python sdl snappy spice ssh systemtap tci usb usbredir vhost-net virtfs vnc vte attr virt-network"
///--- Note: virt-network in USE is important so that DHCP will be created similar to https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/File:Qemu_network_diag.png ---///
QEMU_SOFTMMU_TARGETS="i386 x86_64"
QEMU_USER_TARGETS=""
4. Install Virtual Manager
root #emerge --ask app-emulation/virt-manager
///--- Note: app-emulation/qemu will be automatically included ---///
5. Permissions
root #gpasswd -a <username> kvm
root #usermod -a -G libvirt <user>
6. /etc/libvirt/libvirtd.conf (UnComment the following settings)
unix_sock_group = "libvirt"
unix_sock_ro_perms = "0777"
unix_sock_rw_perms = "0770"
7. auto start libvirtd
root #rc-update add libvirtd default
8. Restart PC/Server
Note: this is just a guide, might help others. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
axl Veteran
Joined: 11 Oct 2002 Posts: 1146 Location: Romania
|
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have a strong suspicion this is kreyren. When on wiki didn't work, he moved on facebook and even posted a bug on bugtracker (about him being banned). Meanwhile he seems to post his guides that seem to be both the product of many trial and error and the word of god at the same time. Like this one. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22713
|
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
This user has a registration date of 2015. I doubt this is kreyren. That person seemed too hot-headed to maintain a long term dummy account. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
axl Veteran
Joined: 11 Oct 2002 Posts: 1146 Location: Romania
|
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
https://bugs.gentoo.org/676876
he posted a bug report because he was banned from wiki for guides like this one. he was treating wiki like his personal blog.
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1s2eRQIEckhSBZSgFAkqt3oCtK5Ut_AS5
he got into fights with the gentoo people, and documented it. this was part of his bug report.
I told you people. facebook and this forum will intersect at one time. here it is.
my personal favorite is when he called someone dumb dumb. u can always recover from that. after many trials and errors, you get on wiki, and call admins dumb dumb. that will work. just so we know who this guy is.
and in this instance, he mastered the virt-network flag, because he couldn't make a bridge in openrc. instructions were only for systemd and ofc he is against that... so ... long way around i'm gonna have a farm of servers behind masquarade. that will work. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sevilla.larry n00b
Joined: 09 Nov 2015 Posts: 42
|
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Prior to this, I was using MS Server/Hyper-V 2016 (and now 2019).
I already installed Qemu/KVM in Devuan. Easy installation.
I'm new to Gentoo and to Linux(s).
Trying to learn in Linux way.
Using Gentoo, it optimizes the kernel.
I'm NOT kreyren.
I was looking for guides in the wiki, but encountered problems.
So I post this one, hoping it will help others.
To axl, your comments seems offensive.
If you have better idea, pls post your guide. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
axl Veteran
Joined: 11 Oct 2002 Posts: 1146 Location: Romania
|
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
ok.
here's my guide. if you want a bridge connection in openrc you have to edit /etc/conf.d/net|networking and be sure to have
config_br0
routes_br0 if applies
and
bridge_br0="eth0 tap0" or whatever.
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.br0
and here are my credentials. I can make a bridge connection on openrc. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Maitreya Guru
Joined: 11 Jan 2006 Posts: 445
|
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: |
If you have better idea, pls post your guide.
|
I don't think kreyren is capable of admitting he wants to see some others guide.
So I'll do right thing then,
Hey new Gentoo user, welcome! (and sorry for some of our more damaged users)
Some sidenotes on your "howto"
The title can be seen as a bit misleading as a host that dedicately serves virtual machines is usually not equiped with a GUI (that one is a client living on your desktop with which you connect to this server)
And virt-network is indeed not strictly needed when making a bridge (which works fine in openrc)
Also you might want to join on IRC as the help there is great for these kind of things |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sevilla.larry n00b
Joined: 09 Nov 2015 Posts: 42
|
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
thx for a nice professional reply.
Since I'm new and learning, I prefer GUI. Maybe later if it's production, it should be console/text based.
I will try IRC later. Not familiar. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
asturm Developer
Joined: 05 Apr 2007 Posts: 9294
|
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Maitreya wrote: | Hey new Gentoo user, welcome! |
That seems a bit out of place considering the join date. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ant P. Watchman
Joined: 18 Apr 2009 Posts: 6920
|
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
asturm wrote: | Maitreya wrote: | Hey new Gentoo user, welcome! |
That seems a bit out of place considering the join date. |
People can register without becoming full-time users of the distro and come back when they're ready. There's nothing wrong with that.
I'd say there's much more wrong with silently tolerating trolls that haven't shaped up after eighteen years… |
|
Back to top |
|
|
asturm Developer
Joined: 05 Apr 2007 Posts: 9294
|
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 10:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'll give you that; there's probably a fair share of OTW participants who've never installed Gentoo. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sevilla.larry n00b
Joined: 09 Nov 2015 Posts: 42
|
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm have a full time job. Mostly (99%) Windows (and DOS since it's inception) [consider me as equivalent to your Guru].
But, I'm learning various Linux distributions, not just Gentoo, on and off, sort of retirement plan [so newbie / rookie].
Windows licenses, specially Enterprise, are so expensive. Not feasible to start an IT business.
fyi... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ant P. Watchman
Joined: 18 Apr 2009 Posts: 6920
|
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
sevilla.larry wrote: | Windows licenses, specially Enterprise, are so expensive. Not feasible to start an IT business. |
From what I've heard recently, keeping up with Microsoft licensing is quickly becoming a full time job on its own. Good idea to have an escape route. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22713
|
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
axl wrote: | here's my guide. if you want a bridge connection in openrc you have to edit /etc/conf.d/net|networking and be sure to have
config_br0
routes_br0 if applies
and
bridge_br0="eth0 tap0" or whatever.
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.br0
and here are my credentials. I can make a bridge connection on openrc. | Your guide is a bit lacking. OP posted instructions that can be followed with a minimum of domain knowledge. There is no file /etc/conf.d/net|networking. You don't say what literal values or even types of values to assign to config_br0 or routes_br0. You don't say how to know whether routes_br0 applies. You don't explain why bridge_br0 has the values shown, or how the user should decide between following your example literally or customizing it. You assume all the kernel support will be available, but users new to this may not have enabled the right options. In contrast, OP outlined specific kernel features to check. (I think he suggested enabling some features that aren't actually needed, but the point is that he doesn't expect readers to guess at how to get a working kernel. It's possible that his suggestions are minimal if you choose to use the wrapper tools. I think some of his suggestions are not required if you use the low level user tools and have simple needs for the bridge.) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
axl Veteran
Joined: 11 Oct 2002 Posts: 1146 Location: Romania
|
Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hu wrote: | axl wrote: | here's my guide. if you want a bridge connection in openrc you have to edit /etc/conf.d/net|networking and be sure to have
config_br0
routes_br0 if applies
and
bridge_br0="eth0 tap0" or whatever.
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.br0
and here are my credentials. I can make a bridge connection on openrc. | Your guide is a bit lacking. OP posted instructions that can be followed with a minimum of domain knowledge. There is no file /etc/conf.d/net|networking. You don't say what literal values or even types of values to assign to config_br0 or routes_br0. You don't say how to know whether routes_br0 applies. You don't explain why bridge_br0 has the values shown, or how the user should decide between following your example literally or customizing it. You assume all the kernel support will be available, but users new to this may not have enabled the right options. In contrast, OP outlined specific kernel features to check. (I think he suggested enabling some features that aren't actually needed, but the point is that he doesn't expect readers to guess at how to get a working kernel. It's possible that his suggestions are minimal if you choose to use the wrapper tools. I think some of his suggestions are not required if you use the low level user tools and have simple needs for the bridge.) |
Might have gone a bit overboard on this one. But, long story short. It reached my limit when kreyren posted a bugreport on bugzilla to complain he was banned from wiki. while complaining on facebook. And all the while I thought this poor soul / innocent user is him. Because thinking u discovered gold "virt-network" is just the type of thing I seen that dude advertise. no matter. lets leave that aside.
lets get back to this guide. setting up a bridge is a must if you want your virtual machines to be seen from the internet. it's important to understand. virt-network will allow your VM to see the internet, but not the other way around.
HU is a bit harsh imho asking me to explain routes, but the short story is that if you want your vm to be accessible from the internet, you will need a bridge on the host machine. that is because a bridge is like a poor's man switch inside a computer. an ethernet connection is a connection that has one end and a network. a bridge is line a network with never ending ... endings. you can always add one more.
Thing is, I KNOW i'm not good at writing guides. In fact I suck at it. I cannot make justice to the bridge interface. I know how to use it, but I'm not the sort of guy that knows how to sell it to others. Still, you should use a bridge instead of virt-network. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|