Encrypted Install partitioning
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
FOSSilized_Daemon
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 3:15 am    Post subject: Encrypted Install partitioning Reply with quote

Hello everyone, I am new to Gentoo and am trying to do an encrypted installation as I want to have a hardened system. I have been working through the handbook and have been trying like crazy to figure out partitions. The handbook gives a great walk through of general partitioning, but I need some help bad. I am setting up Gentoo on a test laptop to get to know the system, I am taking notes and writing down everything I am learning for future reference. I can not for the life of me figure out how to do an encrypted partitioning setup. I have done this on Void Linux and Arch Linux and had notes on both, but I lost these notes the old fashion way... I forgot to back them up. I am very confused and could use a little guidance. I have done some searching and this guide: https://linux.arantius.com/gentoo-encrypted-root-with-luks-and-lvm does just about everything I planned to do on my initial install partition wise, but I am having a brain failure here. I can't remember how in the world to make the boot partition and the second partition (which he omits in his guide). I understand this has to be a very noob question, but I am going crazy trying to figure out how I did this. Please, any help would be severally welcomed. Sorry for the noob question.

Edit: I do really want to apologize about this question, I know this is a place for more advanced users and I have used Linux for a while. A lot of my questions have been easily solved with a quick duckduckgo search and the handbook. But partitions are something I have always struggled with. I want to thank everyone who even is taking the time to read this.
jburns
Veteran
Veteran