View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
crocket Guru
Joined: 29 Apr 2017 Posts: 558
|
Posted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 1:42 am Post subject: Is arm64 virtual machine much faster than arm64 chroot? |
|
|
arm64 chroot is unberably slow. arm64 virtual machine might be faster. Is it faster? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54605 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 1:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
crocket,
They both use QEMU to emulate the target CPU.
The VM has a kernel, the chroot does not, so I would expect the VM to be marginally slower as all its kernel code has to be emulated too.
There is an arm64 binhost that you are welcome to use.
Hmm, that readme needs to be updated. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
crocket Guru
Joined: 29 Apr 2017 Posts: 558
|
Posted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 1:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | crocket,
They both use QEMU to emulate the target CPU.
The VM has a kernel, the chroot does not, so I would expect the VM to be marginally slower as all its kernel code has to be emulated too.
There is an arm64 binhost that you are welcome to use.
Hmm, that readme needs to be updated. |
http://www.cnblogs.com/pengdonglin137/p/5020143.html says user mode emulation is faster. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54605 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 10:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
crocket,
I've not tested but that's what I said too. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
crocket Guru
Joined: 29 Apr 2017 Posts: 558
|
Posted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 10:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | crocket,
I've not tested but that's what I said too. |
Is there a way to accelerate compilation without increasing administrative workload?
cross-compilation is somewhat fragile because it doesn't capture "make" commands executed in "configure".
distcc wasn't very helpful either because most compilation tasks were done locally.
For a small server, that's fine.
But, for a desktop that needs to compile a web browser, it's going to take days. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54605 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 11:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
crocket,
What do you have in your /etc/distcc/hosts on your arm64?
Not everything can use distcc. Its only useful for C and C++.
For rust, which in needed for firefox, it can't help.
There is rust-bin, which saves building rust but you still have to build firefox with rust. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
crocket Guru
Joined: 29 Apr 2017 Posts: 558
|
Posted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 12:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | crocket,
What do you have in your /etc/distcc/hosts on your arm64?
Not everything can use distcc. Its only useful for C and C++.
For rust, which in needed for firefox, it can't help.
There is rust-bin, which saves building rust but you still have to build firefox with rust. |
/etc/distcc/hosts has
Code: | 192.168.80.10,cpp,lzo |
192.168.80.10 is the IP address of my desktop computer which has AMD FX-8300 CPU and 32GB ECC RAM. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54605 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 3:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
crocket,
That will allow your desktop to be sent 4 make jobs concurrently and it supports distcc pump mode.
Nothing will be sent to localhost until its failed to compile remotely as you don't have localhost in /etc/distcc/hosts.
That's correct for most hardware, where you only want to build locally as a last resort.
If most things were compiling locally, you should have seen lots of ... failed to compile remotely ... messages in the logs.
If the log message was ... failed to distribute, there is a problem with your distcc setup somewhere.
Pump mode is a mixed blessing. On a raspberry Pi I get lots of ... Include server gave up analysing, which means it was trying to do the work for pump mode and timed out.
Pump mode is IO intensive on the host and can produce broken results that you don't detect until run time, so I mostly don't use pump mode. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
crocket Guru
Joined: 29 Apr 2017 Posts: 558
|
Posted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 3:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | crocket,
That will allow your desktop to be sent 4 make jobs concurrently and it supports distcc pump mode.
Nothing will be sent to localhost until its failed to compile remotely as you don't have localhost in /etc/distcc/hosts.
That's correct for most hardware, where you only want to build locally as a last resort.
If most things were compiling locally, you should have seen lots of ... failed to compile remotely ... messages in the logs.
If the log message was ... failed to distribute, there is a problem with your distcc setup somewhere.
Pump mode is a mixed blessing. On a raspberry Pi I get lots of ... Include server gave up analysing, which means it was trying to do the work for pump mode and timed out.
Pump mode is IO intensive on the host and can produce broken results that you don't detect until run time, so I mostly don't use pump mode. |
Right, distccd fails to create a log file. I need to fix the logging first. For now, I accelerate emerge by launching multiple instances of chrooted emerge in multiple chroot instances. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54605 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 5:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
crocket,
You can cross distcc from inside the chroot to the host running the chroot by sending jobs to localhost.
A localhost is 127.0.0.0/8, its easier to spot in the logs if you choose an IP address other than 127.0.0.1.
There's lots in the 127.0.0.0/8 net to choose from. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|