View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Lews_Therin l33t


Joined: 03 Oct 2003 Posts: 657 Location: Banned
|
Posted: Sat Nov 01, 2003 4:00 am Post subject: Can't start apache2, no errors but no serving[solved] |
|
|
I just emerged apache2 on a soon-to-be server, and it simply refuses to start. Typing /usr/sbin/Apache2 doesn't seem to do anything...no errors, no confirmations, nothing. /etc/init.d/apache2 gives me the following:
Code: | * Starting apache2... [ !! ] |
It still doesn't start, an lsof -i shows that nothing is listening on port 80.
/etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf:
Code: | ### /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf
### $Id: apache2.conf,v 1.3 2003/09/25 02:20:48 woodchip Exp $
###
### Main Configuration Section
### You really shouldn't change these settings unless you're a guru
###
ServerRoot /etc/apache2
ServerName fileserver
#LockFile /etc/apache2/apache2.lock
PidFile /var/run/apache2.pid
ErrorLog logs/error_log
LogLevel warn
DocumentRoot /home/httpd/htdocs
### Dynamic Shared Object (DSO) Support
###
### You should always leave these three, as they are needed for normal use.
### mod_access (Order, Allow, etc..)
### mod_log_config (Transferlog, etc..)
### mod_mime (AddType, etc...)
###
LoadModule access_module modules/mod_access.so
LoadModule auth_module modules/mod_auth.so
LoadModule auth_anon_module modules/mod_auth_anon.so
LoadModule auth_dbm_module modules/mod_auth_dbm.so
LoadModule auth_digest_module modules/mod_auth_digest.so
LoadModule include_module modules/mod_include.so
LoadModule log_config_module modules/mod_log_config.so
LoadModule env_module modules/mod_env.so
LoadModule mime_magic_module modules/mod_mime_magic.so
LoadModule cern_meta_module modules/mod_cern_meta.so
LoadModule expires_module modules/mod_expires.so
LoadModule headers_module modules/mod_headers.so
LoadModule usertrack_module modules/mod_usertrack.so
LoadModule unique_id_module modules/mod_unique_id.so
LoadModule setenvif_module modules/mod_setenvif.so
LoadModule proxy_module modules/mod_proxy.so
LoadModule proxy_connect_module modules/mod_proxy_connect.so
LoadModule proxy_ftp_module modules/mod_proxy_ftp.so
LoadModule proxy_http_module modules/mod_proxy_http.so
LoadModule mime_module modules/mod_mime.so
LoadModule status_module modules/mod_status.so
LoadModule autoindex_module modules/mod_autoindex.so
LoadModule asis_module modules/mod_asis.so
LoadModule info_module modules/mod_info.so
LoadModule cgi_module modules/mod_cgi.so
LoadModule cgid_module modules/mod_cgid.so
LoadModule vhost_alias_module modules/mod_vhost_alias.so
LoadModule negotiation_module modules/mod_negotiation.so
LoadModule dir_module modules/mod_dir.so
LoadModule imap_module modules/mod_imap.so
LoadModule actions_module modules/mod_actions.so
LoadModule speling_module modules/mod_speling.so
LoadModule userdir_module modules/mod_userdir.so
LoadModule alias_module modules/mod_alias.so
LoadModule rewrite_module modules/mod_rewrite.so
###
### New Modules for 2.0 (some are experimental)
###
LoadModule file_cache_module modules/mod_file_cache.so
LoadModule echo_module modules/mod_echo.so
LoadModule charset_lite_module modules/mod_charset_lite.so
LoadModule cache_module modules/mod_cache.so
LoadModule disk_cache_module modules/mod_disk_cache.so
LoadModule mem_cache_module modules/mod_mem_cache.so
LoadModule ext_filter_module modules/mod_ext_filter.so
LoadModule case_filter_module modules/mod_case_filter.so
LoadModule case_filter_in_module modules/mod_case_filter_in.so
LoadModule deflate_module modules/mod_deflate.so
#LoadModule optional_hook_export_module modules/mod_optional_hook_export.so
#LoadModule optional_hook_import_module modules/mod_optional_hook_import.so
#LoadModule optional_fn_import_module modules/mod_optional_fn_import.so
#LoadModule optional_fn_export_module modules/mod_optional_fn_export.so
#LoadModule bucketeer_module modules/mod_bucketeer.so
LoadModule logio_module modules/mod_logio.so
###
### Global Configuration
###
# Splitting up apache2.conf into two files makes it easier to support
# multiple configurations on the same serer. In commonapache2.conf
# you keep directives that apply to all implementations and in this
# file you keep server-specific directives. While we don't yet have
# multiple configurations out-of-the-box, this allows us to do that
# in the future easily. (PERLPROXIED *ahem*)
#
# For Apache2 we load all conf files in conf/modules.d
Include conf/modules.d/*.conf
Include conf/commonapache2.conf
###
### IP Address/Port
###
#BindAddress *
Listen 0.0.0.0:80
###
### Log configuration Section
###
<IfModule mod_log_config.c>
#Single logfile with access, agent and referer information
#This is the default, if vlogs are not defined for the main server
CustomLog logs/access_log combined env=!VLOG
#If VLOG is defined in conf/vhosts/vhosts.conf, we use this entry
#CustomLog "|/usr/sbin/apache2splitlogfile" vhost env=VLOG
</IfModule>
###
### Virtual Hosts
###
# We include different templates for Virtual Hosting. Have a look in the
# vhosts directory and modify to suit your needs.
Include conf/vhosts/vhosts.conf
#Include conf/vhosts/dynamic-vhosts.conf
#Include conf/vhosts/virtual-homepages.conf
###
### Performance settings Section
###
#
# Timeout: The number of seconds before receives and sends time out.
#
Timeout 300
#
# KeepAlive: Whether or not to allow persistent connections (more than
# one request per connection). Set to "Off" to deactivate.
#
KeepAlive On
#
# MaxKeepAliveRequests: The maximum number of requests to allow
# during a persistent connection. Set to 0 to allow an unlimited amount.
# We recommend you leave this number high, for maximum performance.
#
#
# KeepAliveTimeout: Number of seconds to wait for the next request from the
# same client on the same connection.
#
KeepAliveTimeout 15
# prefork MPM [THIS IS THE DEFAULT]
# StartServers: number of server processes to start
# MinSpareServers: minimum number of server processes which are kept spare
# MaxSpareServers: maximum number of server processes which are kept spare
# MaxClients: maximum number of server processes allowed to start
# MaxRequestsPerChild: maximum number of requests a server process serves
<IfModule prefork.c>
StartServers 5
MinSpareServers 5
MaxSpareServers 10
MaxClients 150
MaxRequestsPerChild 0
</IfModule>
# worker MPM
# StartServers: initial number of server processes to start
# MaxClients: maximum number of simultaneous client connections
# MinSpareThreads: minimum number of worker threads which are kept spare
# MaxSpareThreads: maximum number of worker threads which are kept spare
# ThreadsPerChild: constant number of worker threads in each server process
# MaxRequestsPerChild: maximum number of requests a server process serves
<IfModule worker.c>
StartServers 2
MaxClients 150
MinSpareThreads 25
MaxSpareThreads 75
ThreadsPerChild 25
MaxRequestsPerChild 0
</IfModule>
# perchild MPM
# NumServers: constant number of server processes
# StartThreads: initial number of worker threads in each server process
# MinSpareThreads: minimum number of worker threads which are kept spare
# MaxSpareThreads: maximum number of worker threads which are kept spare
# MaxThreadsPerChild: maximum number of worker threads in each server process
# MaxRequestsPerChild: maximum number of connections per server process
<IfModule perchild.c>
NumServers 5
StartThreads 5
MinSpareThreads 5
MaxSpareThreads 10
MaxThreadsPerChild 20
MaxRequestsPerChild 0
</IfModule>
|
As you can see, I haven't done too much to my conf file, other than a few changes to fix errors. These were in other threads and worked for other people, so I would guess they are correct.
Last edited by Lews_Therin on Mon Nov 03, 2003 12:43 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mattsteven Apprentice


Joined: 27 Oct 2003 Posts: 240 Location: Your Planet
|
Posted: Sat Nov 01, 2003 8:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
With apache it's a lot quicker to just telnet to port 80 than use lsof.
Try "apache2ctl configtest" and it should give you useful clues. _________________ Matthew Steven
Linux-only desktop since 1998
Graying hair since 2006 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Lews_Therin l33t


Joined: 03 Oct 2003 Posts: 657 Location: Banned
|
Posted: Sat Nov 01, 2003 9:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
apache2ctl configtest only says Syntax OK
I haven't emerged telnet on that server yet, and using putty on a seperate comp gives me a "connection refused" error. Do you think I should emerge -u?[/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
StinkingMonkey Apprentice


Joined: 24 May 2003 Posts: 183 Location: UK
|
Posted: Sat Nov 01, 2003 1:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok im using apache 2.0.48 and was getting problems too, after i upgraded to 2.0.48 i got the following error after trying /etc/init.d/apache2 start
env : start-stop-deamon : no such file or directory
i asked some questions on irc, but didnt get an answer to it so i re-emerged apache2, this time apache2 starts. There was a difference in the init files.
first version :
start() {
ebegin "Starting apache2"
[ -f /var/log/apache2/ssl_scache ] && rm /var/log/apache2/ssl_scache
env -i start-stop-daemon --quiet --start --startas /usr/sbin/apache2 \
--pidfile /var/run/apache2.pid -- -k start ${APACHE2_OPTS}
eend $?
}
second version :
start() {
ebegin "Starting apache2"
[ -f /var/log/apache2/ssl_scache ] && rm /var/log/apache2/ssl_scache
env -i PATH=$PATH /sbin/start-stop-daemon --quiet \
--start --startas /usr/sbin/apache2 \
--pidfile /var/run/apache2.pid -- -k start ${APACHE2_OPTS}
eend $?
}
also Lews_Therin its /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start, my apache starts fine when i issue that command |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Lews_Therin l33t


Joined: 03 Oct 2003 Posts: 657 Location: Banned
|
Posted: Sat Nov 01, 2003 5:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've tried /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start to, didn't work either...I've rsynced, and am emerging -u -k right now, so hopefully that will fix the problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PT_LAmb Guru


Joined: 22 Apr 2002 Posts: 332 Location: Lisboa (Lisbon), Portugal
|
Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 12:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Due to the implementation of GLEP 11, on apache 2.0.48, the location of all webapps was moved.
I don't really know if it's only necessary to copy the htdocs directory to /var/www/... or if it's also necessary to change the configuration. Probably it's different on a case by case basis.
This change was noticed on GWN 20031027, and also on GLSA 200310-04
Good luck,
Ricardo Cordeiro _________________ SETI@Home - http://setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Lews_Therin l33t


Joined: 03 Oct 2003 Posts: 657 Location: Banned
|
Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 4:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Actually, I don't have a /home/httpd directory. So I guess that idea is ruled out  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PT_LAmb Guru


Joined: 22 Apr 2002 Posts: 332 Location: Lisboa (Lisbon), Portugal
|
Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 6:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ok. Here's what I did:- Copied all files from /home/httpd/htdocs to /var/www/localhost/htdocs
- Edited all the conf files on /etc/apache2 and replace all paths starting with /home/httpd/htdocs to /var/www/localhost/htdocs (while running etc-update).
- And Finally restarted the daemon /etc/init.d/apache2 restart and tested with a opera if everyting was functioning as it should.
One side note. I didn't have any vhost set, but if you do, you should follow the recommendation described on GLEP 11 and set the DocumentRoot of each vhost to /var/www/<domain_name>/htdocs.
Lews_Therin wrote: | Actually, I don't have a /home/httpd directory. So I guess that idea is ruled out  | Then just start filling /var/www/localhost/htdocs with what you what to share with the world.
Good luck,
Ricardo Cordeiro _________________ SETI@Home - http://setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ragnar Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Oct 2002 Posts: 92 Location: Faroe Islands
|
Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 4:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had the same problem.
I had to add computer IP and name to /etc/hosts _________________ hmmmmm, gentoo. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Lews_Therin l33t


Joined: 03 Oct 2003 Posts: 657 Location: Banned
|
Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 9:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Adding it to /etc/hosts worked, I am now a proud owner of a webserver! Thanks for your help everybody!  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Krenn n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2003 Posts: 24 Location: Austria
|
Posted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 9:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanx for this help, now my server is running finally.
I just had to add
192.168.0.5 VrennsTreasury
to my webserver VrennsTreasury.
But is there a way to handle this a bit "dynamically" ?
( "localhost VrennsTreasury" in /etc/hosts didn'd work)
PS: a local DNS-Server is not an option fo a homeserver  _________________ MfG
Vrenn/Krenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|