Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved]Fresh install can't find wlan0 for Wireless
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
HilhilPoly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2019
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 9:18 pm    Post subject: [solved]Fresh install can't find wlan0 for Wireless Reply with quote

Good evening everyone!
I tried to install Gentoo(first time, totally new on Gentoo, though I used Ubuntu for a while years ago) on a Acer Aspire One D255E, everything seems ok, except for the wireless card, which Gentoo can't find using ifconfig.
Here(sorry for the pictures, maybe I should use the wired connection in order to install a DE, but that'd be a problem for me right now) there are the results of
Code:
ifconfig -a
lspci | grep Wireless
rfkill list

https://i.imgur.com/Kc9ZFWQ.jpg
then, the result of
Code:
lspci -nnkv | sed -n '/Wireless/,/^$/p' | head -n -1
I thought that could be useful to let you see that the kernel loads the wireless card driver
https://i.imgur.com/5FiAPWE.jpg
Maybe is some firmware missing?
Thank you guys!

edit: I found out that the result of
Code:
iw dev
is
https://i.imgur.com/Vzr24nK.jpg
though according to ifconfig is an ehternet device(and it actually works when I use a wired connection)
if I try to use iw in order to connect wlp2s0 to my open wifi, it says connected, but nothing works


Last edited by HilhilPoly on Tue May 14, 2019 11:04 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HilhilPoly,

Welcome to Gentoo.

How did you set up wpa_supplicant?
That wired works in good. ou have all of the bits for that. You will need them for WiFi too.

WiFi set up is a two step process. First, wpa_supplicant associates and authenticates with your access point. That's the extra wifi steps.
Once thats done your wifi behaves like wired and all the wired tools work to set up the interface.

Your kernel module is ath9k. It does not need any firmware.

dmesg should show the associate and authenticate processes.

Make friends with wgetpaste and pastebin all of dmesg if you prefer.
wgetpaste beats photos because helpers can't copy/paste from photos.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HilhilPoly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2019
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
HilhilPoly,

Welcome to Gentoo.

How did you set up wpa_supplicant?
That wired works in good. ou have all of the bits for that. You will need them for WiFi too.

WiFi set up is a two step process. First, wpa_supplicant associates and authenticates with your access point. That's the extra wifi steps.
Once thats done your wifi behaves like wired and all the wired tools work to set up the interface.

Your kernel module is ath9k. It does not need any firmware.

dmesg should show the associate and authenticate processes.

Make friends with wgetpaste and pastebin all of dmesg if you prefer.
wgetpaste beats photos because helpers can't copy/paste from photos.

I didn't set up wpa_supplicant. I (clearly, it was stupid) supposed that it was not necessary, since my connection is open(A weird ISP in a student accommodation, the router side is completely blocked). Because of that, I didn't looked at wpa_supplicant, too, I'm doing it right now, but I'm not getting how I configure it.
Thank you for the hint about wgetpaste, that's what I was looking for :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 1404
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I'm doing it right now, but I'm not getting how I configure it.

There are several instructions in the gentoo wiki:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:X86/Networking/Wireless
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Wifi
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Sakaki%27s_EFI_Install_Guide/Setting_Up_Networking_and_Connecting_via_ssh
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Wpa_supplicant

No special order, read them all since we do not know your hardware or any special stuff you may need.
_________________
My personal space
My delta-labs.org snippets do expire

PFL - Portage file list - find which package a file or command belongs to.


Last edited by Banana on Tue May 14, 2019 10:22 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HilhilPoly,

Open does not always mean unencrypted, when it does, you still need something to set up the radio link.
wpa_supplicant can do it all including the encryption, if its there.

For wep and non encrypted liks, wireless-tools (now deprciated) can get the radio link established but you are going to need proper encryption sooner or later.
Hopefully, sooner.

Making a mistake is not stupid, get used to it. Its a part of the gentoo learning experience. At worst, its ignorance. That can be fixed with education, which is what we try to do here.
To help you help yourself.

Making the same mistake over and over ...
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HilhilPoly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2019
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First of all, thank all of you guys.
Then, I was reading this guide
*_-=Banana=-_* wrote:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:X86/Networking/Wireless
[...]

But, I have a doubt about this point
Quote:
It is necessary to have CONFIG_PACKET enabled in the kernel for wpa_supplicant to work. To see if it is enabled on the current kernel, try:
Code:
root #zgrep CONFIG_PACKET /proc/config.gz
root #grep CONFIG_PACKET /usr/src/linux/.config

Because if I try to launch the first command, I get
Code:
gzip: /proc/config.gz: No such file or directory

with the second one, I get
Code:
CONFIG_PACKET=y
CONFIG_PACKET_DIAG=y

I don't know if only the second result is enough to run wpa_supplicant properly. Waiting for your answer, I'll pretend it is so.

edit. It seems it is enough, because I can run wpa_supplicant.
Now, its configuration. If use this as a model
Code:
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
#ap_scan=1
#update_config=1
 
network={
        ssid="YourSSID"
        psk="your-secret-key"
        scan_ssid=1
        proto=RSN
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        group=CCMP TKIP
        pairwise=CCMP TKIP
        priority=5
}

In my case, it should be something like
Code:
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
#ap_scan=1
#update_config=1
 
network={
        ssid="ASK4 Wireless"
#      psk="your-secret-key"
        scan_ssid=1
#       proto=RSN
        key_mgmt=NONE
#      group=CCMP TKIP
#      pairwise=CCMP TKIP
        priority=5
}

Is this correct?
edit.2 THAT'S IT
after this configuration, I rebooted and now
Code:
ping www.google.com

works

Now I have to download a DE. I hope plasma is not too much heavy for this laptop.
Thank you guys!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 1404
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

glad you figured it out ;-)

The config.gz problem could be this here: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Kernel/IKCONFIG_Support
_________________
My personal space
My delta-labs.org snippets do expire

PFL - Portage file list - find which package a file or command belongs to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HilhilPoly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2019
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*_-=Banana=-_* wrote:
glad you figured it out ;-)

The config.gz problem could be this here: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Kernel/IKCONFIG_Support

Probably it's this. Even if it's my first time, I decided to configure the kernel using menuconfig, and I actually had to rebuild it twice already, because I forgot some module(or I didn't know about it). Anyway, I don't remember about this module.
It doesn't seem mandatory to me...do you think I should rebuild the kernel using it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 1404
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use the config from the current kernel source directory. Right now I do not see any case for a personal PC (not a server enviroment) in which this should be wrong.

But since the option does not really affect anything in the kernel build (size, performance) it is safe to enable the option, but also not to. It is up to you if you need it.
_________________
My personal space
My delta-labs.org snippets do expire

PFL - Portage file list - find which package a file or command belongs to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum