Distro advice
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Desulate
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2019 1:50 pm    Post subject: Distro advice Reply with quote

Hello, I have a few questions I'd like to ask before I commit to using Gentoo as a daily driver.

Basically I've been using arch for the last 2 years as my daily driver, it was my first linux distro. While I've enjoyed using arch its instability has become annoying over time, particularly when its caused by minor kernel upgrades.

After weeks of indecision I've boiled down the alternative distros that might suit me as a daily driver to either Gentoo or Fadora. I have gone though the base install of gentoo once already for fun.

I have a bias towards distros that allow you to build your system yourself but I have a few questions about Gentoo, Some of them are redundant but I'm going to ask them anyways.

1) Once you set the use flags for packages how often, if ever, do you really have to change them between package upgrades? I'm fine with the whole source based compilation time and the usual trouble shooting but wouldn't be to enthusiastic if I'm going to have to change use flags super frequently if the previous settings were already working for me before upgrades.

2) I've read that as long as your using the stable package repo you can leave your packages without upgrading them for some time on Gentoo unlike arch. How long in your opinion is it okay to leave non-security related upgrades before they would cause issues?

3) Exactly how stable is Gentoo? would I run into issues as frequently as I was with arch? how easy is it to find the known issues to fix after core upgrades on Gentoo?