Before I install I have some questions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mortamer
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 1:40 am    Post subject: Before I install I have some questions Reply with quote

Hi everyone! I am just learning C++ (and not very good yet) so I really don't know much about the different optimization flags and optional flags GCC supports. The only linux experience I have had was redhat and mandrake and only for a short while. I plan to dual boot with XP pro. My computer specs are (dell) pentium 4, 2.66 ghz, 512 ram, 128 video card ram (ATI Radeon), 120 gig hard drive. I have a couple questions, first off.. I have partition magic and I was wondering how exactly to partition my drive (I have never used partition magic before). My second question is what optimization / optional flags should I put? I downloaded the Pentium 4 version if that helps (whats the difference between that and the regular one)? Also, if you have any other advice feel free to tell me. If you have any further questions ask away! Thanks!!!
codedmart
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need about a 32mb boot partition which ext 2/3 is highly recommended. Then you need to double your RAM to get you swap partition so for you about 1000mb. For the /root partition use what ever you have remaining and ReiserFS, ext3 recommended; ext2 ok it just depends on what you are using it for. As fer as the CFlags do a search at this forum for CFlags and you will find plenty of info on it. I have a Athlon-xp 1800+ and I used

-march=athlon-xp -Os -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer

Hope that helps.
gaz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote