Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
the kernel starts to reboot after start
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gentoopc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Dec 2017
Posts: 296

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:02 am    Post subject: the kernel starts to reboot after start Reply with quote

all information


https://pastebin.com/rSVyfag5


https://pastebin.com/aUQTxDM8


https://pastebin.com/eeKmCXfu


https://pastebin.com/ZEDAKRzR



Please tell me why the kernel goes into reboot? what is the reason? really need help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9691
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Need clarification: so you see the kernel starting init or not? How far did it get? Can you see where it stopped and rebooted (it probably will be hard to tell because it blinks out fast?)

I assume the dmesg you see in https://pastebin.com/aUQTxDM8 is from a miniboot CD and not your actual setup?

What system is this? Is there a reason you're using 3.16.70 in your grub config?

Since you have CONFIG_PANIC_TIMEOUT at 0, it's not a panic causing a reboot... hmm...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentoopc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Dec 2017
Posts: 296

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you are right .... dmesg is taken from the mini installation disk. I only see the grub menu at startup and the loading of the kernel for about one second.


please tell me what information to provide for you to find the reason? What command should I enter into the terminal to provide you with the data?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentoopc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Dec 2017
Posts: 296

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the kernel I use this version because it seems easier to me in the assembly. I could be wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentoopc,

This looks like an illegal instruction exception early in the boot process.

From dmesg you have a
Code:
[    0.391076] smpboot: CPU0: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           E5430  @ 2.66GHz (family: 0x6, model: 0x17, stepping: 0x6)

but your kernel is built with
Code:
CONFIG_GENERIC_CPU=y
so it should run on any amd64 CPU.

That might point the finger at the initrd being built for the wrong CPU but by the time the initrd is being executed, the illegal instruction exception handler is available, so the system would panic rather than reboot.

What does
Code:
emerge --info
output?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9691
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd suggest trying to build a new 4.19 stable kernel from scratch and see what it does.
I'm hoping there's no newer gcc sillyness that would stop it from building older kernels properly...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentoopc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Dec 2017
Posts: 296

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Gentoopc,

This looks like an illegal instruction exception early in the boot process.

From dmesg you have a
Code:
[    0.391076] smpboot: CPU0: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           E5430  @ 2.66GHz (family: 0x6, model: 0x17, stepping: 0x6)

but your kernel is built with
Code:
CONFIG_GENERIC_CPU=y
so it should run on any amd64 CPU.

That might point the finger at the initrd being built for the wrong CPU but by the time the initrd is being executed, the illegal instruction exception handler is available, so the system would panic rather than reboot.

What does
Code:
emerge --info
output?





https://pastebin.com/TAFPEB0c
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentoopc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Dec 2017
Posts: 296

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
I'd suggest trying to build a new 4.19 stable kernel from scratch and see what it does.
I'm hoping there's no newer gcc sillyness that would stop it from building older kernels properly...






I will try
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentoopc,

Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native -pipe -ffast-math"
You know that -ffast-math will sometimes produce incorrect floating point results?
Its a design feature and is the price you pay for it being fast.

It should never be used globally. Rather it should only be used where the speed/accuracy tradeoff has been proven to be acceptable.

I don't think its a part of your problem just now. The kernel certainly does not use any floating point.
I don't know about the initrd.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9691
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW do you see the usual kernel spew (starting with "uncompressing kernel...") just before reboot happens, or does it just goes "loading kernel... loading initramfs..." (messages from bootloader) and then reboots? Yeah it'd take a fast eye to tell but it's a clue...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentoopc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Dec 2017
Posts: 296

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the help guys .... the problem is solved by installing the kernel version 5.0, it was on my goole disk, everything works))))) thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tippincows
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 11:39 am    Post subject: Upgraded to kernel Still same thing Reply with quote

I am having the same issue from what i can see.

during install emerge pulled kernel 4.19 i would boot with no problems, and get to just after the frame buffer console kicked in. The tux logo would show up and i would get an instant reboot with no warning or error message i can decipher from the kernel text.

My info is below which made me think my situation is similar.

Dell Poweredge 2950

Exsi 5 installing Gentoo in virtual environment.

Linux livecd 4.19.72-gentoo #1 SMP Thu Oct 17 02:49:00 UTC 2019 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU 5150 @ 2.66GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

ii booted back into the live cd and added the accept keywords="~amd64" to make.conf in order to upgrade from kernel 4.19 to 5.4.3

after upgrading and booting into kernel 5.4 my issue is still persisting. i will post here any solutions i find.

Here is screenshot of kernel text, right before reboot.

https://i.imgur.com/1SRZIxe.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tippincows,

There are no clues in your screenshot.

Please post the output of
Code:
emerge --info
and the first CPU in /proc/cpuinfo
Put your kernel .config onto a pastebin site.
A kernel upgrade does not normally fix this issue.

If its an Illegal Instruction error, there won't be any messages or logs.
That would require the kernel to continue after the Illegal Instruction rather than reboot.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tippincows
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Emerge --info - https://pastebin.com/Ws1atnnT

proc/cpuinfo - https://pastebin.com/6mPPYi2a

kernel .config - https://pastebin.com/F3Fa4Hi6

make.conf - https://pastebin.com/nhhidrWJ

Thank you for the prompt reply. You are right there is no clue or anything in the kernel boot sequence that i can see that would point me in any sort of direction to fix.

All i know at this point is im getting constant reboots right at that point., which is making it tricky but not impossible to troubleshoot.

I haven't been able to successfully install Gentoo on this dell power edge running esxi i have yet.

Here is the troubleshooting steps i have done so far.

1.Changing my kernel type in make.conf from march=native to something more specific, in this case core2 as per matching the proc/cpuinfo with my cpu in https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Safe_CFLAGS

2. re compiled 4.19 kernel changing the processor type from generic-x86_64 to both new xeon and old xeon options.

3. added ACCEPT_KEYWORD="~amd64" variable to make.conf to upgrade to kernel 5.4.

4. checked kernel config a few times to make sure LSI and raid drivers were enabled for perc5i (the raid controller i have)


Grub is able to boot, and able to boot the kernel even past the initramfs stage, but i get no indication from the original screenshot that the kernel was able to find the root block. thats my only guess.

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tippincows,

Run the command
Code:
gcc -### -E - -march=native 2>&1 | sed -r '/cc1/!d;s/(")|(^.* - )|( -mno-[^\ ]+)//g'
in your chroot.
It will tell what gcc thinks -march=nate means. I get.
Code:
gcc -### -E - -march=native 2>&1 | sed -r '/cc1/!d;s/(")|(^.* - )|( -mno-[^\ ]+)//g'
-march=amdfam10 -mmmx -m3dnow -msse -msse2 -msse3 -msse4a -mcx16 -msahf -mpopcnt -mabm -mlzcnt -mprfchw -mfxsr --param l1-cache-size=64 --param l1-cache-line-size=64 --param l2-cache-size=512 -mtune=amdfam10


On amd64, gcc is pretty good with -march=native on older CPUs.

Quote:
ACCEPT_KEYWORD="~amd64" variable to make.conf

Its safer to do that on a per package basis. make.conf applies to your entire install. See this wiki page and revert your ACCEPT_KEYWORD change in make.conf

Quote:
4. checked kernel config a few times to make sure LSI and raid drivers were enabled for perc5i (the raid controller i have)

I was about to ask about that :)
From memory, you also have some ordinary SATA ports too.
Please post your
Code:
lspci -nnk
output. Where is the root filesystem connected on your system?

As your system reboots rather than panics and halts, I don't think its a root filesystem issue.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tippincows
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
livecd /usr/src/linux # gcc -### -E - -march=native 2>&1 | sed -r '/cc1/!d;s/(")|(^.* - )|( -mno-[^\ ]+)//g'
-march=core2 -mmmx -msse -msse2 -msse3 -mssse3 -mcx16 -msahf -mfxsr --param l1-cache-size=32 --param l1-cache-line-size=64 --param l2-cache-size=4096 -mtune=core2



Changed ACCEPT_KEYWORDS from make.conf to "amd64" (removed ~)
added ~amd64 to /etc/portage/package/accept_keywords/sys-keynel/gentoo-sources
and tested to make sure kernel 5.4 still emerges. (good to go) i didnt emerge anything else since i changed my keyword to ~ globally (thankfully)

Code:
lspci-nnk - https://pastebin.com/J1TL9Mvf


Quote:
Where is the root filesystem connected on your system?


root filesystem is located on /dev/sda4 (partition scheme relatively identical to handbook)

Code:
livecd /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/sys-kernel # df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda4       391G  6.2G  365G   2% /
/dev/sda2       233M   53M  164M  25% /boot
udev             10M  4.0K   10M   1% /dev
shm             2.0G     0  2.0G   0% /dev/shm
cgroup_root      10M     0   10M   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
livecd /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/sys-kernel #


                                                      Disk: /dev/sda
                                    Size: 400 GiB, 429496729600 bytes, 838860800 sectors
                                             Label: dos, identifier: 0xd997d47b

    Device            Boot                 Start              End          Sectors          Size       Id Type
>>  /dev/sda1                               2048           264191           262144          128M       83 Linux
    /dev/sda2                             264192           763903           499712          244M       83 Linux
    /dev/sda3                             763904          4958207          4194304            2G       83 Linux
    /dev/sda4                            4958208        838860799        833902592        397.7G       83 Linux

Currently checking kernel config to make sure mptspi is enabled in kernel from my lspci output.

Code:
00:10.0 SCSI storage controller [0100]: Broadcom / LSI 53c1030 PCI-X Fusion-MPT Dual Ultra320 SCSI [1000:0030] (rev 01)
        Subsystem: VMware LSI Logic Parallel SCSI Controller [15ad:1976]
        Kernel driver in use: mptspi


[Moderator edit: added [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tippincows
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it.

I googled mptspi as i couldn't find it in menuconfig using / function. Found out from the folowing link that i needed fusionMPT device support enabled in kernel for SAS.

After compiling and rebooting i am now at login prompt.

source - http://bruceblinn.com/linuxinfo/ConfigKernel-VMware.html


I would Mark solved if i didn't hijack someone elses thread :P

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tippincows,

-march=core2 is what you have now, so that's no change.

Code:
00:10.0 SCSI storage controller [0100]: Broadcom / LSI 53c1030 PCI-X Fusion-MPT Dual Ultra320 SCSI [1000:0030] (rev 01)
Subsystem: VMware LSI Logic Parallel SCSI Controller [15ad:1976]
Kernel driver in use: mptspi


Fusion-MPT. Thats on its own menu. The menu is off in your kernel.

What you are showing in lspci is the emulated hardware as seen by a VMware guest operating system.
Is that what you intended to show?
I thought you were installing on real hardware?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tippincows
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are right the FusionMPT menu on menuconfig was turned off. I enabled it and Selected the option for SAS, allowing my system to boot properly, and stop boot looping.

Yes, i meant to post that lspci output. I am installing in a virtual environment using Esxi on my Dell power edge, sorry i should of emphasized that point a bit more. I know how important that is to solving any sort of issue.

I bookmarked that link from my previous post because there is other modules listed that i want to make sure i have enabled specifically for running Gentoo in vmware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum