View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Codito ergo sum n00b
Joined: 19 Aug 2019 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Mon Sep 02, 2019 6:11 pm Post subject: Unknown symbol in module |
|
|
I'm struggling with sound issues on a new hp laptop and aftere reading many articles/threads I couldn't solve the problem.
Code: | lspci | grep -i audio
00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Audio Controller (rev 09)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller (rev 03) |
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Code: | dmesg | grep -i audio
[ 0.264521] ACPI: Added _OSI(Linux-Lenovo-NV-HDMI-Audio)
[ 0.730082] hdaudio hdaudioC1D0: Unable to bind the codec
[ 1.648590] hdaudio hdaudioC0D0: Unable to bind the codec |
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Code: | dmesg | grep -i snd
[ 1.645802] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:03.0: bound 0000:00:02.0 (ops 0xffffffffb088fca0)
[ 391.310364] snd_hda_intel: Unknown symbol snd_hda_load_patch (err -2)
[ 573.003229] snd_hda_intel: Unknown symbol snd_hda_load_patch (err -2)
|
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Code: | lspci -vv -s 00:03.0
00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Audio Controller (rev 09)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Broadwell-U Audio Controller
Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx+
Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 64 bytes
Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 45
Region 0: Memory at c7018000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
Capabilities: [60] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
Address: fee08004 Data: 4023
Capabilities: [70] Express (v1) Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
DevCap: MaxPayload 128 bytes, PhantFunc 0
ExtTag- RBE-
DevCtl: Report errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-
RlxdOrd- ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop-
MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 128 bytes
DevSta: CorrErr- UncorrErr- FatalErr- UnsuppReq- AuxPwr- TransPend-
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
|
++++++++++++++++++++
Code: |
cat /proc/asound/cards
--- no soundcards --- |
+++++++++++++++++++
Code: | cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep -i snd_hda
CONFIG_SND_HDA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP_MODE=1
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132_DSP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_DSP_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_COMPONENT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_EXT_CORE=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64 |
+++++++++++++++++++++++++
Code: | lsmod
Module Size Used by
x86_pkg_temp_thermal 16384 0
efivarfs 16384 1 |
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Code: |
find /lib/modules/4.19.66-gentoo/kernel/sound -iname "*snd-hda-intel*"
/lib/modules/4.19.66-gentoo/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-intel.ko |
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
kernel info:
Quote: | Device Drivers --->
<M> Sound card support --->
<M> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture --->
--- Advanced Linux Sound Architecture
[ ] Enable OSS Emulation
<M> HR-timer backend support
-*- Dynamic device file minor numbers
(32) Max number of sound cards
[*] Support old ALSA API
-*- Sound Proc FS Support
[*] Verbose procfs contents
[ ] Verbose printk
[ ] Debug
<M> Sequencer support
<M> Sequencer dummy client
[*] Use HR-timer as default sequencer timer
[*] Generic sound devices --->
[*] PCI sound devices --->
HD-Audio --->
(64) Pre-allocated buffer size for HD-audio driver
[*] USB sound devices --->
[*] PCMCIA sound devices --->
<M> ALSA for SoC audio support --->
[*] X86 sound devices ---> |
And I marked all choices of PCI/ Generic/ HD-Audio/USB/ALSA & X86 with<M>.
My problem is:
I don't have sound & by running :
Code: | insmod /lib/modules/4.19.66-gentoo/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-intel.ko |
I get:
Code: | insmod: ERROR: could not insert module /lib/modules/4.19.66-gentoo/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-intel.ko: Unknown symbol in module |
Besides, I ran aplay in vain:
Code: | aplay -l
aplay: device_list:272: no soundcards found...
aplay -L
null
Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
|
alsamixer returns:
Code: | [b]alsamixer[/b]
cannot open mixer: No such file or directory |
& alsamixergui says:
Code: | function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory |
I have alsa-utils & dev-haskell/alsa-mixer installed & I also have eudev but not udev on my system.
& finally:
Code: |
uname -a
Linux localhost 4.19.66-gentoo #1 SMP Thu Aug 29 14:55:54 +0430 2019 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-5005U CPU @ 2.00GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux |
Can I fix this problem? _________________ Gentoophilus Persicus |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jaglover Watchman
Joined: 29 May 2005 Posts: 8291 Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Codito ergo sum n00b
Joined: 19 Aug 2019 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jaglover wrote: | The kernel you are running is from August 29, you sure it is the latest you have built? |
Thanks, Yes, you're right. The problem of module is solved, I had compiled the kernel without updating grub. Now, lsmod shows:
Code: | Module Size Used by
snd_hda_codec_realtek 94208 1
snd_hda_codec_hdmi 57344 1
snd_hda_codec_generic 77824 1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_intel 36864 4
snd_hda_codec 122880 4 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_core 73728 5 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_pcsp 16384 1
snd_hwdep 16384 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm 94208 5 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcsp,snd_hda_core
snd_timer 32768 1 snd_pcm
snd 65536 19 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hwdep,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_timer,snd_pcsp,snd_pcm
x86_pkg_temp_thermal 16384 0
soundcore 16384 1 snd
efivarfs 16384 1
|
So the module is loaded & my card is recognized & cat /proc/asound/cards returns:
Code: | 0 [pcsp ]: PC-Speaker - pcsp
Internal PC-Speaker at port 0x61
1 [HDMI ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel HDMI
HDA Intel HDMI at 0xc7018000 irq 44
2 [PCH ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
HDA Intel PCH at 0xc701c000 irq 45 |
But I don't know whats wrong, I don't still have sound.
By running alsamixer, a page appears in terminal & it seems it's working well. But :
Code: | speaker-test -Dsurroundaudio -c 6
speaker-test 1.1.8
Playback device is surroundaudio
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 6 channels
Using 16 octaves of pink noise
ALSA lib /var/tmp/portage/media-libs/alsa-lib-1.1.8/work/alsa-lib-1.1.8/src/pcm/pcm.c:2565:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM surroundaudio
Playback open error: -2,No such file or directory |
I've installed pulseaudio(with `sys-fs/eudev' & without `sys-fs/udev' installed' on my system). Typing pulseaudio shows:
Code: | E: [pulseaudio] pid.c: Daemon already running.
E: [pulseaudio] main.c: pa_pid_file_create() failed. |
I can't understand what the problem is. _________________ Gentoophilus Persicus
Last edited by Codito ergo sum on Tue Sep 03, 2019 9:56 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54794 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 8:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Codito ergo sum,
Please post the content of /proc/asound/devices
I suspect that you have several sound cards and the default sound card is not the one you want to use. Code: | 0 [pcsp ]: PC-Speaker - pcsp
Internal PC-Speaker at port 0x61
1 [HDMI ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel HDMI
HDA Intel HDMI at 0xc7018000 irq 44
2 [PCH ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
HDA Intel PCH at 0xc701c000 irq 45 |
says you have three sound cards.
Card 0 is always the default. Your analogue sound card is card 2. That's probably the one you want to use.
Card 1 is sound over HDMI. That's for a display with built in speakers.
You can test with alsamixer -cX, where X is the card number 0, 1, 2.
Using 3 will generate an error, as you don't have a card 3. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Codito ergo sum n00b
Joined: 19 Aug 2019 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 8:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | Codito ergo sum,
Please post the content of /proc/asound/devices
I suspect that you have several sound cards and the default sound card is not the one you want to use. Code: | 0 [pcsp ]: PC-Speaker - pcsp
Internal PC-Speaker at port 0x61
1 [HDMI ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel HDMI
HDA Intel HDMI at 0xc7018000 irq 44
2 [PCH ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
HDA Intel PCH at 0xc701c000 irq 45 |
says you have three sound cards.
Card 0 is always the default. Your analogue sound card is card 2. That's probably the one you want to use.
Card 1 is sound over HDMI. That's for a display with built in speakers.
You can test with alsamixer -cX, where X is the card number 0, 1, 2.
Using 3 will generate an error, as you don't have a card 3. |
cat /proc/asound/devices
Code: | 2: [ 0- 0]: digital audio playback
3: [ 0] : control
4: [ 1- 3]: digital audio playback
5: [ 1- 7]: digital audio playback
6: [ 1- 8]: digital audio playback
7: [ 1- 9]: digital audio playback
8: [ 1-10]: digital audio playback
9: [ 1- 0]: hardware dependent
10: [ 1] : control
11: [ 2- 0]: digital audio playback
12: [ 2- 0]: digital audio capture
13: [ 2- 0]: hardware dependent
14: [ 2] : control
33: : timer |
How can I set a sound card as default? _________________ Gentoophilus Persicus
Last edited by Codito ergo sum on Tue Sep 03, 2019 9:20 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54794 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 8:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Codito ergo sum,
Card 0 is your PC speaker. That can only make system beeps. Its your default sound output, that's not very useful.
Card 1 is your Video Card audio outputs.
Card 2 is your PC analogue output. That's the card you need to use if your speakers are connected to your PC using a 3.5mm jack plug.
I can tell this from
Code: | 11: [ 2- 0]: digital audio playback
12: [ 2- 0]: digital audio capture
13: [ 2- 0]: hardware dependent
14: [ 2] : control | Only analogue ever has a capture control. Think microphone.
You need to tell Alsa to send sound to Code: | 13: [ 2- 0]: hardware dependent |
There are two ways, you can reorder you sound cards or tell alsa to use card 2.
As root, create a file called /etc/asound.conf with the following content.
Code: | defaults.pcm.card 2
defaults.pcm.device 0
defaults.ctl.card 2 |
With that file in place, run alsamixer. It should show your analogue sound card.
Be sure that any controls with IEC or SPDI/F in their names are muted.
Now what happens when you try to play some sounds? _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Codito ergo sum n00b
Joined: 19 Aug 2019 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 9:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | Codito ergo sum,
Card 0 is your PC speaker. That can only make system beeps. Its your default sound output, that's not very useful.
Card 1 is your Video Card audio outputs.
Card 2 is your PC analogue output. That's the card you need to use if your speakers are connected to your PC using a 3.5mm jack plug.
I can tell this from
Code: | 11: [ 2- 0]: digital audio playback
12: [ 2- 0]: digital audio capture
13: [ 2- 0]: hardware dependent
14: [ 2] : control | Only analogue ever has a capture control. Think microphone.
You need to tell Alsa to send sound to Code: | 13: [ 2- 0]: hardware dependent |
There are two ways, you can reorder you sound cards or tell alsa to use card 2.
As root, create a file called /etc/asound.conf with the following content.
Code: | defaults.pcm.card 2
defaults.pcm.device 0
defaults.ctl.card 2 |
With that file in place, run alsamixer. It should show your analogue sound card.
Be sure that any controls with IEC or SPDI/F in their names are muted.
Now what happens when you try to play some sounds? |
THAAANKS!!!. The problem is solved by creating asound.conf file. _________________ Gentoophilus Persicus |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|