View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
carcajou
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2022 12:34 pm    Post subject: Safe bet statically typed languages? Reply with quote

Hi guys.

So this summer I wanted to start learning new programming language. "Old school" way, buying a good book and going step by step.

My experience is primary related to dynamic languages (Ruby and Lisp). I code just for fun, as a hobby (I'm not developer and my day job is business administration - so no programming at all). I wanted to change a focus from dynamic to statically typed languages, but it is a wide range of choices. The last time I programmed in statically typed language, it was almost 20 years ago in a high school using Pascal. I apologize for asking such general question here, but I do not participate at other tech related and relevant communities.

There is no specific domain. Just something general purpose and to go with the flow. Also, I do not care about trends and hypes, because I will most probably not use it professionally.

I initially considered to keep it simple and go with the plain C, however, I am not sure I would actually ever go low-level and use it's manual memory management features (or downsides).

I see there's a huge "hype" around Rust, but it is difficult for me to make a distinction between PR and actual technical advantages. Additionally, language seem intimidatingly enormous (in terms of size - C++ way).

Also, the language should be supported in Gentoo.

I would appreciate a feedback, recommendation and maybe a tip on the book. Thank you.
pa4wdh
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2022 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote