Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Refresh rates seem wrong with VESA drivers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Mountain Man
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2003 5:25 am    Post subject: Refresh rates seem wrong with VESA drivers Reply with quote

I am currently forced to run my system using the VESA drivers as nVidia drivers for my new GeForce FX 5700 Ultra are currently unavailable (hopefully nVidia will remedy this soon). However, the refresh rate seems off as my screen flickers in the most annoying fashion, almost as if it's displaying an interlaced image. Is there any way to tweak the VESA drivers to fix this? VESA seems to be the only option as X's nv drivers do not appear compatible with this particular card.

Thanks for your help.
_________________
I suck at signatures.


Last edited by The Mountain Man on Tue Dec 02, 2003 12:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kraylus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 648
Location: ft.worth.tx

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2003 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

only thing i can think of is to manually set the horizsync and vertrefresh under the monitor section and make sure it's within the specs of your monitor. copy and paste your X config file, maybe that'll give us a better idea of what we can change ;)

ryan
_________________
I used gentoo BEFORE it was cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Mountain Man
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2003 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, it's not that. My monitor settings are exactly the same as with my previous card. The only change I've made is to set the driver to "vesa" instead of "nvidia" or "nv". I've changed nothing else in XF86Config.

Anyway, here's my monitor section:
Code:
Section "Monitor"

    Identifier  "ViewSonic A75f"

# HorizSync is in kHz unless units are specified.
# HorizSync may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY.  REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.

    HorizSync   30-70

#    HorizSync  30-64         # multisync
#    HorizSync  31.5, 35.2    # multiple fixed sync frequencies
#    HorizSync  15-25, 30-50  # multiple ranges of sync frequencies

# VertRefresh is in Hz unless units are specified.
# VertRefresh may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY.  REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.

    VertRefresh 50-160

EndSection

and I've confirmed those refresh rates in my ViewSonic manual. Now here's my graphics driver section:
Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "nVidia"
    #Driver      "nv"
    #Driver      "nvidia"
    Driver       "vesa"
    #VideoRam    128000
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
    Option      "CursorShadow"        "True"
    Option      "CursorShadowAlpha"   "25"
    Option      "CursorShadowXOffset" "3"
    Option      "CursorShadowYOffset" "2"
    Option      "NoLogo"              "True"
EndSection

and finally:
Code:
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "nVidia"
    Monitor     "ViewSonic A75f"
    DefaultDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       8
        Modes       "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection

_________________
I suck at signatures.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lurid
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 595
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is that Vesa only supports a refresh rate of 60hz by default. This will kill your eyes. ;) Luckily someone decided to do something about it. You can patch your kernel with the fix availible here. Just follow the instruction carefully, the thread itself has a lot of useful info as well. I've been using it without a problem for a long time now. Good luck. :)
_________________
Go find a cheerleader and saw her legs off. - Nny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Mountain Man
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2003 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sweet! Thanks for the link.

Edit: O.K., I've been reading over the thread and have a quick question. How do I use this with LILO? Is there a place in LILO to specify the VESA mode, or will X take care of this on its own?

And here's hoping the FX 5700 Ultra chipset is VESA 3.0 compliant!
_________________
I suck at signatures.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agent_jdh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 1783
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2003 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Mountain Man wrote:
Sweet! Thanks for the link.

Edit: O.K., I've been reading over the thread and have a quick question. How do I use this with LILO? Is there a place in LILO to specify the VESA mode, or will X take care of this on its own?


That patch linked to is for the kernel vesa frame buffer driver, not for the X Windows vesa driver. It is possible to use this patch with your kernel, and pass a Lilo option to select which vga resolution/screen depth/refresh rate your system boots up with. Then, you could use the fbdev X driver instead of vesa.

Alternatively, afaik you can still use the X vesa driver in conjunction with the patched kernel vesafb device and set the X vesa driver option "UseFBDev" to true.

I'm not sure if the native X vesa driver can go above 60 Hz without some frame buffer support.
_________________
Jingle Jangle Jewellery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lurid
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 595
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2003 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I just assumed that if he was using Vesa he was using a framebuffer as well. Its probably the best choice anyway.
_________________
Go find a cheerleader and saw her legs off. - Nny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Mountain Man
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

agent_jdh wrote:
Alternatively, afaik you can still use the X vesa driver in conjunction with the patched kernel vesafb device and set the X vesa driver option "UseFBDev" to true.

Sorry, but how exactly would I go about doing this?

(I also seem to have this wacky problem now where my screen is stuck at 800x600 and I can't get it to change back to 1024x768!)

Edit: Never mind. After I read what you wrote a couple times, it became pretty obvious. Thanks for your help.
_________________
I suck at signatures.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Mountain Man
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

O.K., I'm having some problems with this: I've installed the patch mentioned in the other thread and recompiled my kernel. Then I set "vga=0x518" in lilo.conf and at boot time, the monitor switches resolution but the screen is blank until X comes up. Unfortunately, X is still using 60Hz. Here's what I put in XF86Config:
Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "nVidia_VESA"
    Driver      "vesa"
    Option      "UseFBDev"      "True"
EndSection

Anybody have any suggestions?
_________________
I suck at signatures.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agent_jdh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 1783
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Then I set "vga=0x518" in lilo.conf and at boot time, the monitor switches resolution but the screen is blank until X comes up.


That shouldn't happen. I don't use the frame buffer myself so I don't know what values to select, but you want to be using one that at least shows the system booting as normal. If you're getting a blank screen it's indicating there is a problem with the mode you're trying to use.
_________________
Jingle Jangle Jewellery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lurid
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 595
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The vga setting with the patch is different from the standard framebuffer setting. Be sure to read the thread or the readme that comes with the patch to be sure you're using the right one.
_________________
Go find a cheerleader and saw her legs off. - Nny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum