View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
JuszR Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Nov 2010 Posts: 134 Location: Tlv
|
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:54 am Post subject: [SOLVED] No sound - AMD Azalia |
|
|
Code: | # lspci | grep -i audio
00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Wrestler HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6250/6310]
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller (rev 01)
|
At the matrix site i just see one module (interwave)...
Last edited by JuszR on Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:24 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PabloEsc n00b
Joined: 24 Dec 2009 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
What's the audio output - speakers / via HDMI ?
What audio system do You use - pulseaudio / alsa ?
The more info You give, the quicker and more precise You get your response. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JuszR Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Nov 2010 Posts: 134 Location: Tlv
|
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Speakers, HDMI i don't really need.
I use Alsa.
Code: | $ uname -a
Linux nat-pc 3.6.11-gentoo #5 SMP Mon Feb 18 21:06:37 IST 2013 x86_64 AMD E1-1200 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
lexflex Guru
Joined: 05 Mar 2006 Posts: 363 Location: the Netherlands
|
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, maybe giving some more info can help:
Did you run alsaconf ?
Look at alsamixer, are the outputs there and configured, and is the volume nonzero ?
Also, what are you trying to do, i.e. what application are you using to produce a sound, and what are the setting in that application ?
Alex. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
VoidMage Watchman
Joined: 14 Oct 2006 Posts: 6196
|
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Which driver is in use according to 'lspci -k' ?
Minor note: alsaconf is pointless. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JuszR Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Nov 2010 Posts: 134 Location: Tlv
|
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I already turned up the volume so that's not a problem, and i'm trying to play a youtube clip (through firefox using html5) and an *.ogg file (wikimedia site).
Code: | lspci -k
00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Wrestler HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6250/6310]
Subsystem: Lenovo Device 397f
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller (rev 01)
Subsystem: Lenovo Device 397f
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
666threesixes666 Veteran
Joined: 31 May 2011 Posts: 1248 Location: 42.68n 85.41w
|
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
pulse audio gave me problems with youtube html5 videos. i wrote up what fixed it in the pulse audio asoundrc wiki. http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/PulseAudio#Flash.2FHTML5.2Fother_ALSA_users_not_giving_sound
i know if your not using pulse audio and running some other funky alsa settings that something similar will help. if your using something other than HDMI you might just be adjusting the muting unmuting of the hdmi and not the actual device you are trying to control. my /etc/asound.conf file has declarations to use my external usb card rather than the internal card. (when the usb card is plugged in.) you will probably need to setup something to say that the default card is the amd onboard sound rather than hdmi.
Code: |
cat /etc/asound.conf
pcm.!default { type hw card MobilePre }
ctl.!default { type hw card MobilePre }
pcm.pulse {
type pulse
}
ctl.pulse {
type pulse
}
pcm.!default {
type pulse
}
ctl.!default {
type pulse
}
|
first section to use the external sound card on my system.... pulse sections fixed my html5 audio problem in firefox & seamonkey browsers.
just a shot in the dark guess
Code: |
pcm.!default { type hw card snd_hda_intel }
ctl.!default { type hw card snd_hda_intel }
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
VoidMage Watchman
Joined: 14 Oct 2006 Posts: 6196
|
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@666threesixes666: that guide, you've referenced is not really up to date.
@JuszR: perhaps a few simple tests first:
- 'aplay < /dev/urandom' should produce noise
- 'paplay --raw /dev/urandom' ditto
If not, pastebin:
- 'pacmd info'
- 'amixer' and 'amixer -c X' for all of the cards alsa sees (check /proc/asound/) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JuszR Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Nov 2010 Posts: 134 Location: Tlv
|
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | $ aplay < /dev/urandom
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1018:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
aplay: main:682: audio open error: No such file or directory
pacmd info
bash: pacmd: command not found
# amixer
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',0
Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined penum
Playback channels: Mono
Mono: Playback [on]
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
VoidMage Watchman
Joined: 14 Oct 2006 Posts: 6196
|
Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 2:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, for the moment, that just tells you don't have pulseaudio installed yet.
What does 'aplay -l' return ?
What's the content of '/proc/asound/cards' ?
Actually, perhaps you should just make use of 'alsa-info' ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JuszR Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Nov 2010 Posts: 134 Location: Tlv
|
Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | $ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Generic_1 [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: CONEXANT Analog [CONEXANT Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
|
Code: | $ cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [Generic ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
HD-Audio Generic at 0xf0344000 irq 41
1 [Generic_1 ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
HD-Audio Generic at 0xf0340000 irq 16
|
alsa-info: http://pastebin.com/p1rTKWHh |
|
Back to top |
|
|
VoidMage Watchman
Joined: 14 Oct 2006 Posts: 6196
|
Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
@JuszR: it seems, that a part of 666threesixes666' post was on the spot - it looks like it's a problem of order.
Your next move depends on whether you're going to use pulseaudio or not.
Quite a few people on this forum are strongly opposed to pulseaudio - personally, I'm almost indifferent, though I tend to see it as a natural, if a bit inconvenient at times, solution.
As a quick test, take a look at 'aplay -L' pick a reasonable device referring to card 1 (Azalia) and test with 'aplay < /dev/urandom' as '-D' argument. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
666threesixes666 Veteran
Joined: 31 May 2011 Posts: 1248 Location: 42.68n 85.41w
|
Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
ive dealt with these sorts of problems across several linux distributions. other distributions im staunch against pulse audio.... here though, especially as a gnome user, it gets a + from me, its well built and integrated for gentoo. if you do not use gnome, id try to work with out pulse for as long as possible.
this page has the answer to your problem....
http://alsa.opensrc.org/FAQ026
how to select the order of your card..... get your card running before deciding to pulse or not to pulse.
less of a shot in the dark /etc/asound.conf system wide fix.... ~/.asoundrc just your user fix.... (but overrides system so id remove .asoundrc, and just use /etc/asound.conf)
Code: |
pcm.!default {
type hw
card Generic_1
}
ctl.!default {
type hw
card Generic_1
}
|
restart, and all should be well =D shalom |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JuszR Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Nov 2010 Posts: 134 Location: Tlv
|
Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
pcm.!default {
type hw
card Generic_1
}
ctl.!default {
type hw
card Generic_1
}
|
Great!! That worked, Thanks u so much! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lightsalt2011 n00b
Joined: 26 Apr 2013 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
this is my problem:
[root@sunplusedu /home]#aplay
aplay: main:682: audio open error: No such file or directory
i have read http://alsa.opensrc.org/FAQ026 , it tell me that 'real soundcards always have an irq'
this is my 'cat /proc/asound/cards '
0 [SMDK ]: WM9713 - SMDK
SMDK (WM9713)
there is not a irq! i wonder
and 'aplay -l' it show me
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SMDK [SMDK], device 0: AC97 PCM Playback AC97 HiFi-0 []
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SMDK [SMDK], device 1: AC97 PCM Capture AC97 HiFi-1 []
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
how can i solve this problem |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cwc Veteran
Joined: 20 Mar 2006 Posts: 1402 Location: Tri-Cities, WA USA
|
Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 4:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
How did you solve your problem?
What kenel settings did you use?
I have no audio.
Code: |
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
*-core
description: Motherboard
product: M5A97 PLUS
vendor: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC.
physical id: 0
version: Rev X.0x
serial: 150443862601963
slot: To be filled by O.E.M.
cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [SB ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
HDA ATI SB at 0xfe100000 irq 16
1 [NVidia ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
HDA NVidia at 0xfe080000 irq 29
|
Code: |
# aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
|
_________________ Without diversity there can be no evolution:) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
soparla n00b
Joined: 21 Aug 2018 Posts: 72 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 11:19 pm Post subject: HDMI Sound with Radeon HD 5770 and 5.4.38-gentoo |
|
|
Run into similar problem and everything also looked okay at first look.
The difference really lies with which drivers you use. If you use the open source code ones then you must compile the sound drivers in the kernel:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon
Specifically https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon#Audio
Code: |
Device drivers --->
<*> Sound card support --->
<*> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture --->
[*] PCI sound devices --->
HD-Audio --->
<*> HD Audio PCI
(2048) Pre-allocated buffer size for HD-audio driver
[*] Support initialization patch loading for HD-audio
<*> whatever audio codec your soundcard needs
<*> Build HDMI/DisplayPort HD-audio codec support
|
If you use the proprietary drivers, then you can compile them as kernel modules:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AMDGPU
Here's my working config for HDMI sound to my TV out of an old MacPro running Gentoo:
Code: |
# uname -a
Linux macpro 5.4.38-gentoo #6 SMP Fri Jun 5 18:07:54 EDT 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5462 @ 2.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
# lspci -k
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Juniper XT [Radeon HD 5770]
Subsystem: Apple Inc. MacPro5,1 [Mac Pro 2.8GHz DDR3]
Kernel driver in use: radeon
Kernel modules: radeon
02:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Juniper HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
Subsystem: Apple Inc. Juniper HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
# dmesg | grep -i sound
[ 0.950284] Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Initialized.
[ 1.846243] input: HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:05.0/0000:02:00.1/sound/card1/input2
[ 1.854650] input: HDA Intel Line as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0/input3
[ 1.855738] input: HDA Intel Front Headphone as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0/input4
# lsmod
Module Size Used by
br_netfilter 28672 0
radeon 1560576 22
ttm 94208 1 radeon
vxlan 65536 0
ip6_udp_tunnel 16384 1 vxlan
udp_tunnel 16384 1 vxlan
macvlan 28672 0
# findmnt debugfs
TARGET SOURCE FSTYPE OPTIONS
/sys/kernel/debug debugfs debugfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime
# No vga_switcheroo
# < /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch
bash: /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch: No such file or directory
# sensors
radeon-pci-0200
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1: +66.0°C (crit = +120.0°C, hyst = +90.0°C)
|
/etc/portage/make.conf has Quote: | VIDEO_CARDS="amdgpu radeonsi radeon" |
Don't forget, if you change your make.conf run Quote: | emerge --ask --changed-use --deep @world |
You could follow below for troubleshooting:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon#Troubleshooting
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AMDGPU#Troubleshooting |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|