View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
the_enigma Apprentice
Joined: 23 Aug 2004 Posts: 210 Location: Brisbane, Aus
|
Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 4:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Are you using joymouse?
I've got
Code: |
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Joystick"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/joymouse"
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
EndSection
|
in my xorg.conf file
Then just run joymouse (as root).
That got my xpad going as a mouse. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darklegion Guru
Joined: 14 Nov 2004 Posts: 468
|
Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 5:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
I just recently hacked a usb plug onto an xbox controller extension cable,which works fine since I can plug in my external usb hub(which I hacked in to a xbox plug) and it clearly works since I can plug in my usb mouse into the external hub and it works fine.However when I plug my (large first model)xbox controller in,I get an error message:
Code: | usb 2-1: new full speed USB device using ohci_hcd and address 69
usb 2-1: device descriptor read/64, error -110 |
I have heard that this may be because of the issues with newer kernels,but specifying "old_scheme_first=y" or "use_both_schemes=y" didn't help but did give me a different error message IIRC. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darklegion Guru
Joined: 14 Nov 2004 Posts: 468
|
Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
OK I just tried soldering it directly to bypass possible issues with the inline connector and I still get the same message.Which seems to tell me there is something wrong with my system since the controller works fine on my xbox.Also at the moment I am getting a heap of these messages in my logs:
Code: | ohci_hcd 0000:00:02.0: wakeup |
These were not happening before but I believe it may just be a specific option I tried on this compile for troubleshooting as the controller was not working even without these messages on a different compile.I'll have to try a windows machine which should narrow things down enough since it should rule out motherboard and driver issues. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
the_enigma Apprentice
Joined: 23 Aug 2004 Posts: 210 Location: Brisbane, Aus
|
Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 12:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apparently this can be caused by some sort of IRQ routing issues. I'm no expert, but it may be worth trying to boot your kernel with either 'noapic=yes'. See http://seclists.org/linux-kernel/2001/Feb/1841.html
for some information that I uncovered.
Just out of curiousity, does the regular USB hub work on your PC? Because it seems your USB is dying before it detects the USB hub which is actually present in the controller. When plugging mine in, I see
Code: |
usb 2-2: new full speed USB device using address 13
hub 2-2:1.0: USB hub found
hub 2-2:1.0: 3 ports detected
usb 2-2.1: new full speed USB device using address 14
input: X-Box pad on usb-0000:00:1d.1-2.1
|
So it seems the hub isn't being detected. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darklegion Guru
Joined: 14 Nov 2004 Posts: 468
|
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 4:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well just tried on a windows box,and it didn't pick up.Also tried on my box with a 2.4 kernel and does not pick up there either.So the way I see it it could be one of there things:
1. The large controllers don't work - I can't test a S controller either because my mate decided he would "borrow" it for a while
2. My cable is bad - I resoldered the damn thing several times through an extension and then directly and my soldering skill is proficient enough,since I have done far mre difficult jobs then this in the past.
3.Both of the machines have mobo/usb problems - its possible although unlikely,since they use completely different usb chipsets.Mine is a nforce2 the other is a via board,so both uhci and ohci are being tested here.
Well here is my /proc/interrupts in case it will help:
Code: |
CPU0
0: 391462 XT-PIC timer
1: 16148 XT-PIC keyboard
2: 0 XT-PIC cascade
5: 25515 XT-PIC NVidia nForce2
8: 32191 XT-PIC rtc
9: 11597 XT-PIC usb-ohci
10: 451533 XT-PIC eth1, nvidia
11: 4076 XT-PIC usb-ohci, eth0
14: 12062 XT-PIC ide0
15: 24193 XT-PIC ide1
NMI: 0
ERR: 4
|
I don't think it is a interrupt issue though as eth0 is not being used when I test the driver.Also while I am here would it be a good idea to reserve an irq for my nvidia video card,to improve performance?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
the_enigma Apprentice
Joined: 23 Aug 2004 Posts: 210 Location: Brisbane, Aus
|
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
AFAIK, the large controllers should work just as well.
I'd be guessing that the cable might be bad, can you check it with a multimeter or something? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
_mikec_ Guru
Joined: 22 May 2004 Posts: 386
|
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 2:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i hooked my xpad yesterday, in kde control center/Peripherals/Joystick i have X-box pad (/dev/js1) and the controller is working perfectly, but i cannot use it with any games, what games support xpad? supertux is not supporting xpad i guess cause i cant use it in game.
i have another joystick on /dev/js0.
edit: btw if anyone here knows how to play quake3arena with the xpad please LET me know! _________________ (8 Mars 2005 - 07:52:46)
(18 September 2017 - 11:25:35) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
the_enigma Apprentice
Joined: 23 Aug 2004 Posts: 210 Location: Brisbane, Aus
|
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well if it shows up as /dev/js1, then I'm guessing the drivers working just fine.
It could be because the games you've tried only support the first joystick maybe, but I'm not sure.
All I ues my XBox controller for is emulators. Works fine on zsnes and mupen64 so far. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
_mikec_ Guru
Joined: 22 May 2004 Posts: 386
|
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i've never played with a emulator b4, can you specify how i can install one with at least mario 3?
thanks _________________ (8 Mars 2005 - 07:52:46)
(18 September 2017 - 11:25:35) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
the_enigma Apprentice
Joined: 23 Aug 2004 Posts: 210 Location: Brisbane, Aus
|
Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 2:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, most emulators are in portage, so just search for them |
|
Back to top |
|
|
_mikec_ Guru
Joined: 22 May 2004 Posts: 386
|
Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 8:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok _________________ (8 Mars 2005 - 07:52:46)
(18 September 2017 - 11:25:35) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darklegion Guru
Joined: 14 Nov 2004 Posts: 468
|
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 5:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
the_enigma,your patch does not work correctly on 2.6.12-rc1(and perhaps earlier) because of the new mouse-emulation patch.The driver will load and work correctly but you won't be able to set options because I am guessing it is handled by xpad-core.c now(I'm no kernel programmer,so just a guess).If anyone else wants to use it now you'll need to comment out "xpad-objs := xpad-core.o" in drivers/usb/input/Makefile.I also copied in an older xpad.c from an older kernel which is most likely necessary also.After that you can patch it as normal,and it should work all work properly. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
the_enigma Apprentice
Joined: 23 Aug 2004 Posts: 210 Location: Brisbane, Aus
|
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 5:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well I've got them running on 2.6.11-rc4, but I'll have a look tonight, thanks for the heads-up.
I didn't notice any changes on the changelog however.
You did try with a vanilla kernel, right?
Edit: Didn't see you had that mouse emulation patch, sorry. Got a link for that? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darklegion Guru
Joined: 14 Nov 2004 Posts: 468
|
Posted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 2:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Actually I assumed it was in vanilla but it actually only seems to be in the love patchset ( and perhaps mm) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fimblo Guru
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 306 Location: European Union, Stockholm
|
Posted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Summary: I cant get joymouse to work with the xbox dvd connector.
Hiya- just got an xbox dvd remote controller today, and fixed it so that it has a normal USB connector (soldered it, tested it on a friends windows machine, it works fine)
My ultimate goal is to get it to do several things-
1) I want the play/pause/fwd/rev buttons to control xmms, and
2) the big arrow buttons to control the mouse.
But to begin with I was thinking of just fixing the control so that it works like a normal mouse.
My kernel: 2.6.9-gentoo-r13
I've compiled the joydev, evdev and xpad modules and modprobed them.
I can cat /dev/js0 and I see garbage fly by when I push the remote control buttons.
When I run joymouse, I get
Code: | vera root # joymouse -v
Input: /dev/js0
Output: /dev/joymouse
Creating pipe: /dev/joymouse
Open input device: /dev/js0
joystick detected: X-Box pad
axes: 8, buttons: 10, driver: 2.1.0
I'm happy, starting processing-loop now...
Wait for pipe for writing...
|
Which looks good.
Relevant parts of my XF86Config (I havent gone over to xorg on this box yet):
Code: | Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "mediabox"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Joystick" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Joystick"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/joymouse"
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
EndSection
|
For the duration of my testing, /dev/joymouse is world read/writable.
When I start things up, I first do: joymouse -vv in one tty then a startx in another. One would expect that the remote would do its job, but when I push the buttons, all I get is a few right-click events...
Code: | vera root # joymouse -vv
Input: /dev/js0
Output: /dev/joymouse
Creating pipe: /dev/joymouse
joymouse: File exists
Open input device: /dev/js0
joystick detected: X-Box pad
axes: 8, buttons: 10, driver: 2.1.0
I'm happy, starting processing-loop now...
Wait for pipe for writing...
x:0 y:0 buttons:2
x:0 y:0 buttons:0
x:0 y:0 buttons:2
x:0 y:0 buttons:0
x:0 y:0 buttons:2
x:0 y:0 buttons:0
x:0 y:0 buttons:2
x:0 y:0 buttons:0
x:0 y:0 buttons:2
x:0 y:0 buttons:0
|
(pushed an arrow button five times)
I've tested jscalibrator, and it discovers the xbox remote, and I see that each of the buttons generates a unique combination of button/axis events. All axis movements are in the sixth and seventh axes.
Im guessing I forgot to do something obvious- can someone help me?
PS- on another note: does anyone have any experience with joy2key? _________________ http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto |
|
Back to top |
|
|
the_enigma Apprentice
Joined: 23 Aug 2004 Posts: 210 Location: Brisbane, Aus
|
Posted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I think you've touched upon the issue here. The issue is that joymouse expects x/y axis movement, and translates these into movement of the mouse. There 'might' be some way of changing joymouse to use button events as small x/y axis movements, I'm not sure. Either that, or changing the actual kernel module again, and completely remapping button and axis changes. If I had a remote, I could probably do something, but I don't, unfortunately. Joy2key might be a solution to your xmms issues, but I don't know. I own an actual IR remote, and a IR reciever, so I use lirc for that stuff. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fimblo Guru
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 306 Location: European Union, Stockholm
|
Posted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 12:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for your quick reply!
Damn, I was hoping for a simple answer Im gonna have to dig into this more I guess
If anyone else has any tips, I'd really appreciate it! _________________ http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gentree Watchman
Joined: 01 Jul 2003 Posts: 5350 Location: France, Old Europe
|
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well the question was asked above but never answered: where can I find jtest and jcalibrator. I just set this up on Suse and it went like a dream but I cant even get a joystick device in /etc/input/ on Gentoo.
Can someone recap the basic requirements please. _________________ Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
the_enigma Apprentice
Joined: 23 Aug 2004 Posts: 210 Location: Brisbane, Aus
|
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 12:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jstest and jscalibrator were part of some package called ff-utils. afaik, it's not in portage at all.
http://user.it.uu.se/~johannd/projects/ff/download/utils/
Go there, and there seems to be a ff-utils.tar.bz2 which contains jstest and jscal. I've no idea on how well supported they are though. If they are dodgy, I'll try to find the ones i've got on my machine, i just can't find them. And no, they aren't in my path so 'which' etc don't help. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gentree Watchman
Joined: 01 Jul 2003 Posts: 5350 Location: France, Old Europe
|
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 12:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the reply
Code: | find / -iname jtest |
It seems my fundimental prob is how to get /dev/input/js*
Code: | bash-3.00#zcat /proc/config.gz |grep -i "joy"
CONFIG_INPUT_JOYDEV=m
CONFIG_INPUT_JOYSTICK=y
# CONFIG_JOYSTICK_IFORCE is not set
# CONFIG_JOYSTICK_WARRIOR is not set
# CONFIG_JOYSTICK_MAGELLAN is not set
# CONFIG_JOYSTICK_SPACEORB is not set
# CONFIG_JOYSTICK_SPACEBALL is not set
# CONFIG_JOYSTICK_STINGER is not set
# CONFIG_JOYSTICK_TWIDDLER is not set
# CONFIG_JOYSTICK_DB9 is not set
# CONFIG_JOYSTICK_GAMECON is not set
# CONFIG_JOYSTICK_TURBOGRAFX is not set
|
What do I need to get a device?
TIA _________________ Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
the_enigma Apprentice
Joined: 23 Aug 2004 Posts: 210 Location: Brisbane, Aus
|
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 8:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Does dmesg list anything when you insert/remove the controller?
Do you have or =y in your config? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gentree Watchman
Joined: 01 Jul 2003 Posts: 5350 Location: France, Old Europe
|
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 9:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks,
I managed to grab jstest off my Suse partition.
I am actually trying to get a soundcard gameport JS to work, I just posted here since s/o has refered to jstest.
Seems that my real prob is that udev is not getting called to create the nodes , this implies a problem with the driver or the way it is configged.
What is maddening is that it took me 5mins to configure this on Suse and so far I have wasted well over a day to get nowhere on Gentoo.
_________________ Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
the_enigma Apprentice
Joined: 23 Aug 2004 Posts: 210 Location: Brisbane, Aus
|
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 9:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Aah ok. Well in that case, iirc, have you checked your sound card drivers gameport support. Usually that's where the game port drivers are. I think. Apart from that though, I can't help much, as I've never even tried to get mine working. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gentree Watchman
Joined: 01 Jul 2003 Posts: 5350 Location: France, Old Europe
|
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 9:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes , according to the kernel doc these cards have gameport included in the soundcard driver. Cant say I believe it. _________________ Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DaDead Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 11 Feb 2004 Posts: 75
|
Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2005 5:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
the_enigma: heres my prob, with 10 my L&R triggers work on my xpad but d-pad dont, but with ddr mode my d-pad works but by L&R are back to axis
can i get some help here? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|