Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Mounting ISO image
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3674

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 6:44 am    Post subject: Mounting ISO image Reply with quote

Hi, ALL,
I want to mount an ISO image in order to install Windows 10.

However, trying to do so results in:

[
Code:

igor@IgorReinCloud ~ $ sudo mount -o loop ~/Downloads/Win10_2004_English_x64\(1\).iso /mnt/iso
Password:
mount: /mnt/iso: unknown filesystem type 'udf'.


but I have it turn on:

Code:

IgorReinCloud /usr/src/linux # cat .config | grep -i udf
CONFIG_UDF_FS=y
CONFIG_UDF_NLS=y


What am I missing?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3674

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I even installed "udftools", and still see the same error...

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3674

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So apparently there is a problem with the UDF implementation iin the kernel or there is no dependency that I did turn on..

I just built it as a module and got following::

Code:

IgorReinCloud /usr/src/linux # modprobe udf
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'udf': Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)


Looking at the dmesg, I see:

Code:

[ 8467.978913] udf: Unknown symbol crc_itu_t (err 0)
IgorReinCloud /usr/src/linux #


Is there an option I need to turn on for UDF support?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
digifuzzy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Oct 2014
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know there is some magic needed to handle loop device correctly, but I have app-cdr/cdrtools installed to handle my ISO mounting.
Maybe this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 5380
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

did you edit your .config manual (and then compiled the kernel) ?

If yes: Do it with "make menuconfig". This will set the correct crc-modules in library routiones automatically (you need at minimum " CRC ITU-T V.41 functions").
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54835
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

Are you using your new kernel?
The date in
Code:
uname -a
is the build date of the running kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3674

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
pietinger wrote:

ONEEYEMAN,

did you edit your .config manual (and then compiled the kernel) ?

If yes: Do it with "make menuconfig". This will set the correct crc-modules in library routiones automatically (you need at minimum " CRC ITU-T V.41 functions").


No, I did use "menuconfig".

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3674

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
NeddySeagoon wrote:

ONEEYEMAN,

Are you using your new kernel?
The date in
Code:

uname -a

is the build date of the running kernel.


I thought that if you build it as a module you don't have to reboot.

I will see if that will help.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54835
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

That's correct ... sometimes.
It depends what else you had to change and if the toolchain changed since the kernel was built.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3674

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
Just to confirm - all I need is:

Code:

cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
// confirm that the option for UDF is set as module
make && make modules_install
make install
reboot


And GRUB2 will pick up the new kernel and boot it up?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 1890
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, should. You can verify it with executing uname -a
_________________
Forum Guidelines

PFL - Portage file list - find which package a file or command belongs to.
My delta-labs.org snippets do expire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3674

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Apparently it doesn't.

This is before reboot:

Code:

IgorReinCloud /usr/src/linux # make install
sh ./arch/x86/boot/install.sh 4.14.65-gentoo arch/x86/boot/bzImage \
   System.map "/boot"
IgorReinCloud /usr/src/linux # ls -la /boot
total 20312
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root    4096 Aug 30 13:06 .
drwxr-xr-x 21 root root    4096 Oct 21  2018 ..
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   92216 Aug 30 13:06 config-4.14.65-gentoo
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   92216 Aug 30 00:23 config-4.14.65-gentoo.old
-rw-r--r--  1 root root       0 Oct  2  2018 .keep
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 3390950 Aug 30 13:06 System.map-4.14.65-gentoo
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 3397449 Aug 30 00:23 System.map-4.14.65-gentoo.old
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 6885328 Aug 30 13:06 vmlinuz-4.14.65-gentoo
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 6926288 Aug 30 00:23 vmlinuz-4.14.65-gentoo.old
IgorReinCloud /usr/src/linux # date
Sun Aug 30 13:06:51 CDT 2020


And after i rebooted:

Code:

igor@IgorReinCloud ~ $ uname -a
Linux IgorReinCloud 4.14.65-gentoo #2 SMP Fri Oct 12 23:43:43 CDT 2018 x86_64 AMD E-350 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
igor@IgorReinCloud ~ $


What is happening here?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54835
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

Code:
IgorReinCloud /usr/src/linux # ls -la /boot
total 20312
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root    4096 Aug 30 13:06 .
drwxr-xr-x 21 root root    4096 Oct 21  2018 ..
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   92216 Aug 30 13:06 config-4.14.65-gentoo
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   92216 Aug 30 00:23 config-4.14.65-gentoo.old
-rw-r--r--  1 root root       0 Oct  2  2018 .keep
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 3390950 Aug 30 13:06 System.map-4.14.65-gentoo
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 3397449 Aug 30 00:23 System.map-4.14.65-gentoo.old
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 6885328 Aug 30 13:06 vmlinuz-4.14.65-gentoo
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 6926288 Aug 30 00:23 vmlinuz-4.14.65-gentoo.old

That's not the boot you think it is.

You forgot to
Code:
mount /boot
before you did the install.
There is no grub directory there and all those files dated Aug 30 hint that what you are looking at is the /boot directory on the root partition, not the boot partition that needs to be mounted there for kernel updates.

Grub and all your boot files are in the boot partition.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 3674

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Yes, that's it.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 5127
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you insist on a separate /boot, you should put "auto" inn the /etc/fstab parameters or use "defaults". The following example mounts /boot at bootup

Code:
/dev/sdb1               /boot           ext3            defaults        1 2

If you worry about /boot being corrupted, tar up a backup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cboldt
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IMO, one point of having separate /boot partition is to NOT mount it. /boot here is mounted ONLY when or during kernel change, and running the boot manager, and running backups. Otherwise it is not mounter. /etc/fstab uses the noauto option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 5127
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cboldt wrote:
IMO, one point of having separate /boot partition is to NOT mount it. /boot here is mounted ONLY when or during kernel change, and running the boot manager, and running backups. Otherwise it is not mounter. /etc/fstab uses the noauto option.

Then be prepared for problems building a new kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cboldt
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Under the practice I've adopted, new kernel has a mix of automation and manual attention.

When I build new kernel (did this Saturday last), I do so with a script that includes mounting /boot and putting the new kernel there.

I do the boot manager stuff (lilo here) with /boot mounted, as well - if /boot isn't mounted, lilo throws an error message. The boot manager part is manual. This involves an edit of lilo.conf because I used version-named kernel file. /boot typically holds two working kernels.

umounting /boot is another manual step.

I manually edit a cruft exception file too, but that doesn't involve /boot. The kernel building script gives a concise reminder of things to be done manually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54835
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony0945 wrote:
cboldt wrote:
IMO, one point of having separate /boot partition is to NOT mount it. /boot here is mounted ONLY when or during kernel change, and running the boot manager, and running backups. Otherwise it is not mounter. /etc/fstab uses the noauto option.

Then be prepared for problems building a new kernel.


That's what
Code:
uname -a
is for. To detect those problems before they bite you in the bum.
I get it wrong sometimes. :)
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum