Switching from Debian
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
rail5
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2020 6:40 pm    Post subject: Switching from Debian Reply with quote

I've been using Debian for about 10 years, but I'm a control freak so I've been thinking about switching to Gentoo.
Anyone with a similar experience? Rough transition? How long until you & your machine were going smoothly again?
Buffoon
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2020 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo and forums!

Your first question is too tough. :)

How long? It depends on too many factors. You can install Gentoo from Debian. This way you have all the time to mess with it and learn Gentoo without putting your computer out of use.
CaptainBlood
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2020 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

+1 @Buffoon
Because gentoo is source based, low RAM amount is likely to slow you down when compiling.
Thus 8Gb minimum, 16 Gb recommended imho (4 Gb here) + build duration wise learning how have building directory stored on HD instead of ram for big packages, where fast storage, e.g. SSD, would be a +.

Thks 4 ur attention, interest & support.

Last edited by CaptainBlood on Sat Oct 24, 2020 11:43 pm; edited 2 times in total
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2020 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rail5,

Gentoo is not a distro. It a set of tools that you use to build your own distro to your taste.

You don't like Debians build of LibreOffice?
You can choose one of about 2^20 different builds (over 1,000,000) on Gentoo.

Gentoo is more like LFS with a package manager than any binary distro.

All gentoo installs are different.

I'll go with the advice of others, install from Debian and dual boot so you dip a toe into Gentoo without jumping in and finding that you can't swim.