Moving large home directory to new hdd
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Illiander
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2020 6:23 am    Post subject: Moving large home directory to new hdd Reply with quote

I use two hdds for my Gentoo system. One for /home, and one for everything else.

I've been physically moving the /home hdd from tower to tower as hardware dies, processors get upgraded, and so on.

This hdd is 2TB, and mostly full. It's also getting rather old.

What would be the best way to copy it all over to a new, larger hdd, without meaning that I can't use the computer for several days while a cp command runs on my home directory?

I have no real experience with linux backup and restore tools, so beginner-friendly advice would be appreciated.
steve_v
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2020 8:47 am    Post subject: Re: Moving large home directory to new hdd Reply with quote

Illiander wrote:
What would be the best way to copy it all over to a new, larger hdd, without meaning that I can't use the computer for several days while a cp command runs on my home directory?

Rsync. Do it once to copy the bulk of the data, then again just before you swap drives to catch any changes. That second run should be very quick, minimising downtime.
Google will provide far better details than I, but IIRC I use something like 'rsync -aAXHh [source] [destination]' in my backup scripts. The relevant manual page is of course the go to for options.

Theoretically one should really do the second sync while nothing is using the source (e.g. logged out of the affected account and/or with the partition mounted ro), but in practice I've found that laziness wins, the time-window is small, and it's simpler to just keep the old drive around for a while in the unlikely event you need something off it.