Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Post Install Issues - Cannot add user and more
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
thespecificocean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 5:45 pm    Post subject: Post Install Issues - Cannot add user and more Reply with quote

There's a lot to unpack here at once and I don't know where to specifically post them so forgive me if this is the wrong place to ask.

I finally got my system set up! And then when I tried to add a user, this happened:

Code:
useradd: cannot lock /etc/passwd; try again later


I figured maybe I needed to emerge shadow as I read online that was a way to fix it. But when I try to use emerge for anything, I get THIS:

Code:
failed to validate a sane '/dev/'
bash process substitution doesn't work; this may be an indication of a broken '/dev/fd'


and when I try to LOOK for /dev/fd, it's not there! What's going on?
_________________
Diggy diggy dog, where u at?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 781
Location: over here

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 5:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Post Install Issues - Cannot add user and more Reply with quote

thespecificocean wrote:
There's a lot to unpack here at once and I don't know where to specifically post them so forgive me if this is the wrong place to ask.

I finally got my system set up! And then when I tried to add a user, this happened:

Code:
useradd: cannot lock /etc/passwd; try again later


That part looks like a readonly filesystem to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thespecificocean,

Is /dev there?
It should be full of stuff.

What does mount say about your filesystems?
Code:
$ mount
/dev/mapper/static-root on / type ext4 (rw,noatime)
The rw is essential.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thespecificocean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I was able to fix the issue of the new user with just remounting the root drive. Worked perfectly fine afterwards. Emerge is still giving me the message, though.
_________________
Diggy diggy dog, where u at?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thespecificocean,

What do you have in the output of
Code:
ls /dev
lots or nothing?
is /dev/hda listed there?

The right answers are lots and no.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thespecificocean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
thespecificocean,

What do you have in the output of
Code:
ls /dev
lots or nothing?
is /dev/hda listed there?

The right answers are lots and no.


I did as said and there lots of output for ls /dev and /dev/hda isn't listed at all so that's comforting.

But at the same time I don't see anything in terms of /fd with/dev and that does worry me. Do I have to restart portage or something?
_________________
Diggy diggy dog, where u at?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thespecificocean,

There is /dev/fd* Those entries, if they are real, are your floppy drives. You probably don't have any.
There should be a /dev/fd/ directory too for file descriptors.

I onlly have 4 symlinks there which mostly point into /dev/pts/
/dev/pts is a special filesystem.
Its normally mounted very early in the boot process but what does
Code:
mount | grep pts
tell?

I get
Code:
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000)

The system is quite picky about the mount options, if you need to hand mount it, be sure to pass all the options.
The glibc install process at least checks them and fails if they are not correct.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thespecificocean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
thespecificocean,

There is /dev/fd* Those entries, if they are real, are your floppy drives. You probably don't have any.
There should be a /dev/fd/ directory too for file descriptors.

I onlly have 4 symlinks there which mostly point into /dev/pts/
/dev/pts is a special filesystem.
Its normally mounted very early in the boot process but what does
Code:
mount | grep pts
tell?

I get
Code:
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000)

The system is quite picky about the mount options, if you need to hand mount it, be sure to pass all the options.
The glibc install process at least checks them and fails if they are not correct.


I unfortunately wasn't able to get anything from mount | grep pts but i was able to find pts through mount /dev/pts....and it says it can't find it in the fstab. And it truly isn't there. I really must've messed up in the installation as I can't get anything from emerge at ALL.
_________________
Diggy diggy dog, where u at?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thespecificocean,

If you have devpts in your kernel you can mount it now with.

Code:
mount -t devpts devpts -o rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 /dev/pts

If that works, you are away but we need to find out why it didn't automount.
Its not normally in fstab.

If it fails, what is the error?
At worst its a kernel rebuild.
Code:
/usr/src/linux # grep UNIX98_PTY .config
CONFIG_UNIX98_PTYS=y

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thespecificocean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
thespecificocean,

If you have devpts in your kernel you can mount it now with.

Code:
mount -t devpts devpts -o rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 /dev/pts

If that works, you are away but we need to find out why it didn't automount.
Its not normally in fstab.

If it fails, what is the error?
At worst its a kernel rebuild.
Code:
/usr/src/linux # grep UNIX98_PTY .config
CONFIG_UNIX98_PTYS=y

When I tried mounting the devpts, it said that /dev/pts isn't a mount point that exists. No even sure what that means or if I did the command wrong.

I realize now that maybe it is because I am using the latest version of the a stage3 release (the one from just yesterday). I'm willing to rollback if that is the issue.
_________________
Diggy diggy dog, where u at?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thespecificocean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is so frustrating. I can't do ANYTHING with portage. Can't download ANYTHING or even get the older stage3 version!

I really have no idea at this point what I'm doing wrong and it frustrates me so.
_________________
Diggy diggy dog, where u at?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
figueroa
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 2965
Location: Edge of marsh USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 4:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You haven't told us anything about your system/hardware/kernel/settings. What step are you at in the installation process? Did you follow The Gentoo Handbook?
_________________
Andy Figueroa
hp pavilion hpe h8-1260t/2AB5; spinning rust x3
i7-2600 @ 3.40GHz; 16 gb; Radeon HD 7570
amd64/23.0/split-usr/desktop (stable), OpenRC, -systemd -pulseaudio -uefi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thespecificocean,

Tell us the results from the grep.
With no pseudo terminals, almost nothing works.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thespecificocean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disregard my deleted post. I wasn't thinking before I said anything.

The grep gave me nothing. Inputting any command with it just gave me nothing and put me back into the shell waiting for another command.

Of course, I think this topic might be moot now as I've realized how badly I've messed up my system and am going to reinstall it right now. Looking back, I realized I added to many unnecessary features to my kernel and missed one or two crucial pieces. I'm gonna use genkernel this time to hopefully rectify that issue.
_________________
Diggy diggy dog, where u at?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thespecificocean,

No need to reinstall to change your kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thespecificocean
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2020
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
thespecificocean,

No need to reinstall to change your kernel.


Eh, I've been trying and trying to do that but any which way I go it just won't let me. I've been workin hard at fixing my system between posts but in reflection I realize I had a bunch of frick ups I did during installation that I would want to rectify anyways. I do thank you for your help and mastery of Gentoo, I just feel that I have to do some trial and error first and more research before asking any more questions.
_________________
Diggy diggy dog, where u at?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum