Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ebuild unmet requirements for # emerge -auvDN @world
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nepumuk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2021 12:04 pm    Post subject: ebuild unmet requirements for # emerge -auvDN @world Reply with quote

I'm trying to install the system from the beginning, but I'm stuck with updateing the @world set. I tried
Code:
root #emerge --ask --verbose --update --deep --newuse @world
as stated in the handbook https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:X86/Full/Installation#Updating_the_.40world_set.

I've made a picture, but unfortunately it's no (real) screenshot: https://omnibus.uni-freiburg.de/~sj126/screenpic.jpg.
I already tried USE, REQUIRED_USE, LLVM_TARGETS, but all lead to (mostly) the same error message. Somehow, I think it's got a problem with
Code:
LLVM_TARGETS="(X86)"
, but I'm not sure about anything here.
Which USE flag is meant here? I'm confused. :(

How to find out which (combination of) USE flag(s) leads to this? (Brute-forcing is not an option at the moment.)


Last edited by Nepumuk on Wed Jan 27, 2021 4:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ionen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2021 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
x86? ( cpu_flags_x86_sse2 )
This is the bit of interest, unfortunately rust (and rust-bin) require sse2 -- or at least, the ebuilds do.

If your processor does support sse2, then may want to use app-portage/cpuid2flags to update CPU_FLAGS_X86, I'd also (then) suggest to emerge -1 rust-bin not to have to build that on old hardware -- otherwise will have to try and avoid rust (no polkit, old vulnerable librsvg -- so I wouldn't go that route if possible).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nepumuk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2021 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How much would you recommend integrating the desired USE flags into the existing ones (e. g. below)?
Code:
USE="${USE} latex -scanner sse2"

Would it mess anything up? Should I better start ”my own“ set of USE flags is /etc/portage/make.conf?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54304
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2021 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nepumuk,

sse2 is not a USE flag any more.
Its become CPU_FLAGS_X86="sse2" in make.conf which becomes USE=cpu_flags_x86_sse2 when CPU_FLAGS_X86= is evaluated.

How you write your USE flags is a matter for personal preference.

If you don't have sse2, you will get Illegal Instruction Exception if you try to execute an sse2 instruction.

Take care with setting LLVM_TARGETS= yourself. It excludes all others, so if you need any other LLVM_TARGETS you will need to rebuild llvm.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nepumuk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2021 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also recognised that
Code:
# emerge-webrsync
also takes very long (over an hour) and at some point, I don't see any change with
Code:
df
anymore. So I tried terminating the suspended command (with Ctrl-C) and going on with what comes next, which seemed to work fine.
Does this relate to the upper error?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54304
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2021 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nepumuk,

Your original error needs you to set CPU_FLAGS_X86="sse2" in make.conf.

However. You can only do that. if your CPU han the see2 instruction set extensions.

Code:
emerge app-portage/cpuid2cpuflags
then run
Code:
cpuid2cpuflags
CPU_FLAGS_X86: 3dnow 3dnowext mmx mmxext popcnt sse sse2 sse3 sse4a

Which looks at your /proc/cpuinfo and tells the flags to set.

I would write
Code:
CPU_FLAGS_X86="3dnow 3dnowext mmx mmxext popcnt sse sse2 sse3 sse4a"
in make.conf.
Notice the formatting change.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum