View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Jebbe9 n00b
Joined: 01 Feb 2021 Posts: 49
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2021 9:08 am Post subject: Kernel compile times |
|
|
Should it be that way that when you recompile a new kernel it takes bit longer than when you for instance have already compiled the same version kernel a couple of times? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54782 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2021 11:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jebbe9,
Yes, that's correct.
make is lazy. It looks at the timestamp on an output file then on the timestamps of all the input files that contribute to the output fiile.
If the output file is newer than the input files, it has not changed, so make does nothing.
It still has to visit every node to know that there is nothing to do.
With a new kernel, there are no output files to reuse, so they all have to be created. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jebbe9 n00b
Joined: 01 Feb 2021 Posts: 49
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2021 11:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Alright, that clears things up a bit. Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Buffoon Veteran
Joined: 17 Jun 2015 Posts: 1369 Location: EU or US
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2021 11:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You can "fix" it with 'make clean'. _________________ Life is a tragedy for those who feel and a comedy for those who think. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ant P. Watchman
Joined: 18 Apr 2009 Posts: 6920
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2021 11:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You can also maintain a git kernel tree outside of portage and it won't rebuild everything even between major releases, but that can cause problems if you don't keep it maintained.
ccache is also an option and probably safer. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jebbe9 n00b
Joined: 01 Feb 2021 Posts: 49
|
Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Buffoon wrote: | You can "fix" it with 'make clean'. |
So that it compiles everything again? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5347 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jebbe9 wrote: | Buffoon wrote: | You can "fix" it with 'make clean'. |
So that it compiles everything again? |
Yes. But there are very rare cases when you really would need it. Pay attention, @Buffoon used apostrophes for "fix" ... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|