Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mount: special device /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 does not exist
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
amphibious
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 174
Location: boston, massachusetts, usa

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 8:29 am    Post subject: mount: special device /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 does not exist Reply with quote

So... my cdrom used to mount. But now it's not. I've tried two different configs in fstab:

Code:

/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target1/lun0/cd /mnt/cdrom iso9660 user,noauto,ro,exec 0 0
/dev/hdb /mnt/cdrom iso9660 user,noauto,ro,exec 0 0 (when I run dmesg it shows up as /dev/hdb)
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom iso9660 user,noauto,ro,exec 0 0


When I run
Code:
mount /mnt/cdrom
it gives this error:
Code:
 mount: special device <then whichever /dev/... device I have in fstab> does not exist


:-/ I thought I had gotten past being a n00b.

Thanks![/code]
_________________
http://amphibio.us
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
northern
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Posts: 130
Location: Stoke on Trent, UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you've got all 3 entries in your fstab then mount will always use the first one unless it's commented out.

Can you see each device file on your system with ls ?

Have you rebooted since doing any messing around, as your device files should get recreated at boot time if they've gone missing. If they dont try the 'insf' command if it's on your system (im on a redhat box at the moment not my gentoo so im not sure if gentoo has insf).

Have you tried commenting out all cdrom entries in fstab and running 'mount -t iso9660 /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom' ?

The real device for your cdrom is the /dev/ide/hostx/blah/de/blah everything else is simply a link from that.

Probably not much use, but hope it helps :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amphibious
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 174
Location: boston, massachusetts, usa

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
If you've got all 3 entries in your fstab then mount will always use the first one unless it's commented out.


No, I've only got one entry at a time...

Quote:
Can you see each device file on your system with ls ?


I'm not quite sure what you mean by this... if I go to /dev/ and ls I get a crapload of directories... if I ls /dev/cdroms it's blank (so, that's obviously not the right directory, right?) if I ls /dev/ide/host0/bus1/target0/lun0/ I get disc and part1, same result for ls'ing the other /dev/ide/host...etc... so I guess this means that my CD devices aren't in those directories, right?

When I run dmesg /dev/hdb and /dev/hde are listed as my CDRW and DVDRW, respectively. Shouldn't they be in /dev then?

Ugh... :-/[/quote]
_________________
http://amphibio.us
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
northern
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Posts: 130
Location: Stoke on Trent, UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this -

Code:

find /dev -name cd

Or if that brings back too many results try
Code:

find /dev -type b -name cd

as the cd file is a block device.

Somewhere under /dev/ide* should be a file called cd for your cd drive.
Thats what Ive got anyway, that file name cd is a device file and it links to /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 for easier typing :lol:

If you don't have that file then have you tried rebooting ?

This is how my systems setup anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amphibious
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 174
Location: boston, massachusetts, usa

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get *nothing* when I run
Code:
find /dev -name cd (and nothing when I run it with CD)


When I run
Code:
dmesg |egrep CD
I get
Code:
hdb: 48X16, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
hde: _NEC DVD+RW ND-1100A, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
Unable to identify CD-ROM formt. (what is this about???)


I've rebooted several times... I'm going to try rebooting with all the CD lines in /etc/fstab commented out.
_________________
http://amphibio.us
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
northern
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Posts: 130
Location: Stoke on Trent, UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK mate there's nothing more I can do Im afraid.

It would seem that the kernel is not recognising your cd drive, have you added any new drives or changed any around recently ? If not then I've exhausted all I can think of.

Let us know how you get it fixed ... over to someone else .... :!:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amphibious
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 174
Location: boston, massachusetts, usa

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Allow me to flex my amazing Linux expertitude... I noticed some lines at the bottom of the /etc/fstab file where it would mount with the scsi emulation modules... then I realized I was getting odd system freezes when I tried to get my burner working, so I check out my autoload file and noticed that I had commented these modules... so I uncommented them, rebooted, and everything worked!

Ha...

Thanks for all your suggestions, it think I probably would have stopped trying and played some gameboy at this point if it weren't for your responses. Got me thinking.

Thanks guys. :)
_________________
http://amphibio.us
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
northern
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Posts: 130
Location: Stoke on Trent, UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The old /dev/sr* syndrome eh, nice one.

If you want scsi emulation for your cdrw I take it you have /dev/hdx=ide-scsi in your lilo.conf and scsi emulation in your kernel and lsmod shows ide-scsi ... ha the linux thing just goes on and on ..........

Glad it's working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum