View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kberg209
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 6:17 pm    Post subject: Fluxbox, Gnome, KDE Which One! Reply with quote

I'm new to gentoo, infact I just got it working for the first time. I've heard good and bad thigns about all sorts of window managers or whatever they are technically called. Anyhow a friend suggested FluxBox. IS this good? I've herd it's minimalistic as far as a gui goes. Any suggestions? is Fluxbox the way to go or should I use another for my first time?
angryelephant
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Myself, and many other people here, are partial to XFCE-4. Its good if you want a minimalist desktop. Otherwise KDE and Gnome are pretty solid.
cgibreak
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My personal choice is kahakai because it is _very_ configureable if you know a little python. Flux and XFCE4 are both nice. Gnome and KDE are too bloated for me.

try 'em out :)
BiggJ
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm ... are you trying to start a war?

I have used WMaker and Fluxbox for slower machines and Gnome and KDE for faster machines.

I have settled on Fluxbox and KDE with KDE being the preference. It has a ton of usful apps that are will integrated with the environment.

That being said, it's really just personal preference, you may have to try them all before settling on one.

--Josh
secondsun72
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 7:48 pm    Post subject: Go KDE Reply with quote