View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
manicx n00b
Joined: 19 Jul 2021 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 8:52 am Post subject: Soundcard not detected ? |
|
|
I can't get my sound to run and pavucontrol only gives me a dummy output.
Even though lspci -k outputs me that the device is found:
Code: | DeviceName: Realtek ALC1200
Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. [MSI] Starship/Matisse HD Audio Controller
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
|
lsmod | grep ^snd - gives me no output
alsactl init gives alsactl: init:1759: No soundcards found...
dmesg gives me also a notice that no Soundcard is found and the following output:
Code: | [ 1.331534] hdaudio hdaudioC0D0: Unable to bind the codec
[ 1.332931] microcode: CPU3: patch_level=0x0a201016
[ 1.335812] microcode: CPU4: patch_level=0x0a201016
[ 1.336751] hdaudio hdaudioC1D0: Unable to bind the codec
|
In the kernel > Device Drivers
--- Sound card support
--- Advanced Linux Sound Architecture
--- HD-Audio
I built all codecs as Modules
[Moderator edit: added [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alamahant Advocate
Joined: 23 Mar 2019 Posts: 3949
|
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 9:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi you also need
Quote: |
Code: | [*] PCI sound devices --->
Select the driver for your audio controller.
|
and
Code: | General setup --->
[*] System V IPC |
|
Dont be stingy with codecs and drivers.enable all if you are uncertain about the exact mixture needed.
Maybe install also
linux-firmware
What is the output of
[Moderator edit: added [code] tags in quote tags to preserve output layout. -Hu] _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
manicx n00b
Joined: 19 Jul 2021 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 9:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, thanks for the reply.
Had the System V IPC already in but I had no drivers loaded actually. I did that now and recompiled, still not working.
lsmod | grep snd gives me no output at all
alamahant wrote: | Hi you also need
Quote: |
[*] PCI sound devices --->
Select the driver for your audio controller.
and
General setup --->
[*] System V IPC
|
Dont be stingy with codecs and drivers.enable all if you are uncertain about the exact mixture needed.
Maybe install also
linux-firmware
What is the output of
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54809 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 10:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
manicx,
Code: | [ 1.331534] hdaudio hdaudioC0D0: Unable to bind the codec |
DeviceName: Realtek ALC1200 needs the Realtek CODEC.
Both snd-hda-intel and its CODECS must be all <*> or all <M> or the bits don't come together when snd-hda-intel initialises. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
manicx n00b
Joined: 19 Jul 2021 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 10:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
I actually do have them set...
grep SND /usr/src/linux/.config:
Code: |
CONFIG_SND=y
CONFIG_SND_TIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM=y
CONFIG_SND_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_DEVICE=y
CONFIG_SND_RAWMIDI=y
CONFIG_SND_JACK=y
CONFIG_SND_JACK_INPUT_DEV=y
# CONFIG_SND_OSSEMUL is not set
CONFIG_SND_PCM_TIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_HRTIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
CONFIG_SND_MAX_CARDS=32
CONFIG_SND_SUPPORT_OLD_API=y
CONFIG_SND_PROC_FS=y
CONFIG_SND_VERBOSE_PROCFS=y
# CONFIG_SND_VERBOSE_PRINTK is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_SND_VMASTER=y
CONFIG_SND_DMA_SGBUF=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQUENCER=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_DUMMY=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_HRTIMER_DEFAULT=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_MIDI_EVENT=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_MIDI=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_MIDI_EMUL=y
CONFIG_SND_MPU401_UART=y
CONFIG_SND_OPL3_LIB=y
CONFIG_SND_OPL3_LIB_SEQ=y
CONFIG_SND_AC97_CODEC=y
CONFIG_SND_DRIVERS=y
# CONFIG_SND_PCSP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DUMMY is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALOOP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIRMIDI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MTPAV is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SERIAL_U16550 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MPU401 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AC97_POWER_SAVE is not set
CONFIG_SND_SB_COMMON=y
CONFIG_SND_PCI=y
CONFIG_SND_AD1889=y
CONFIG_SND_ALS300=y
CONFIG_SND_ALS4000=y
CONFIG_SND_ALI5451=y
CONFIG_SND_ASIHPI=y
CONFIG_SND_ATIIXP=y
# CONFIG_SND_ATIIXP_MODEM is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8810 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8820 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8830 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AW2 is not set
CONFIG_SND_AZT3328=y
# CONFIG_SND_BT87X is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CA0106 is not set
CONFIG_SND_CMIPCI=y
CONFIG_SND_OXYGEN_LIB=y
CONFIG_SND_OXYGEN=y
CONFIG_SND_CS4281=y
CONFIG_SND_CS46XX=y
CONFIG_SND_CS46XX_NEW_DSP=y
# CONFIG_SND_CTXFI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DARLA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_GINA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LAYLA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DARLA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_GINA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LAYLA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MONA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MIA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ECHO3G is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGOIO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGODJ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGOIOX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGODJX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_EMU10K1 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_EMU10K1X is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ENS1370 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ENS1371 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ES1938 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ES1968 is not set
CONFIG_SND_FM801=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDSP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDSPM is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ICE1712 is not set
CONFIG_SND_ICE1724=y
CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0=y
CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0M=y
# CONFIG_SND_KORG1212 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LOLA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LX6464ES is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MAESTRO3 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MIXART is not set
CONFIG_SND_NM256=y
# CONFIG_SND_PCXHR is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RIPTIDE is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RME32 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RME96 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RME9652 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SONICVIBES is not set
CONFIG_SND_TRIDENT=y
# CONFIG_SND_VIA82XX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIA82XX_MODEM is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIRTUOSO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VX222 is not set
CONFIG_SND_YMFPCI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC_LEDS=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132_DSP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL_HDMI_SILENT_STREAM=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_DSP_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=2048
CONFIG_SND_INTEL_NHLT=y
CONFIG_SND_INTEL_DSP_CONFIG=y
CONFIG_SND_USB=y
# CONFIG_SND_USB_AUDIO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_UA101 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_USX2Y is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_CAIAQ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_US122L is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_6FIRE is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_HIFACE is not set
# CONFIG_SND_BCD2000 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_POD is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_PODHD is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_TONEPORT is not set
# CONFIG_SND_USB_VARIAX is not set
CONFIG_SND_PCMCIA=y
# CONFIG_SND_VXPOCKET is not set
# CONFIG_SND_PDAUDIOCF is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SOC is not set
CONFIG_SND_X86=y
|
As I'm using a new motherboard with the ALC1220P Codec , could it be that there is none available for it yet? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54809 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 10:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
manicx,
That looks good but are you using the kernel that belongs to that configuration?
Look at the output of
Notice the date/time. Code: | $ uname -a
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 5.12.13-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Jun 25 14:53:48 BST 2021 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux | here Fri Jun 25 14:53:48 BST 2021.
That's the build date/time of the running kernel. Do you remember building a newer kernel than your kernel timestamp shows? _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
manicx n00b
Joined: 19 Jul 2021 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 11:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Um, indeed the timestamp is from 3 days ago...
Code: | uname -a
Linux breini-PC 5.10.52-gentoo #1 SMP Fri Jul 23 02:28:06 CEST 2021 x86_64 AMD Ryzen 7 5800X 8-Core Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux |
Sorry I'm a novice
I did use the make | make install && make modules_install commands though in the /usr/src/linux directory |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54809 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 11:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
manicx,
I suspect that your new kernel is correctly installed to the wrong place.
Did you remember to mount /boot before your ran
If not, the kernel will be in the /boot directory on the root filesystem, rather than in the boot partition, where grub can find it.
If the kernel file name has changed, you will also need to regenerate the grub.cfg file.
There is no shame in being a novice. We were all like that at one time. Not mounting boot is something even old hands do from time to time too. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
manicx n00b
Joined: 19 Jul 2021 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 11:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you! I didn't mount /boot, as it is on my other hard disk ( Dualboot w/ Windows ) , which I yet need to get recognized (I mentioned in another topic).
Will do it via the installation medium & after that the disk with the boot partition should be found too for future rebuilds |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54809 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 12:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
manicx,
You can mount /boot by hand with the full invocation, or list /boot in /etc/fstab, so that the lazy for of mount works. e.g. just mount /boot.
Using the installation medium works too but its a long way around. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
manicx n00b
Joined: 19 Jul 2021 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 1:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you NeddySeagoon, now it works just fine! : ) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23071
|
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 3:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
manicx wrote: | Um, indeed the timestamp is from 3 days ago... Code: | uname -a
Linux breini-PC 5.10.52-gentoo #1 SMP Fri Jul 23 02:28:06 CEST 2021 x86_64 AMD Ryzen 7 5800X 8-Core Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux | Sorry I'm a novice | This happens surprisingly often, which is why the question is now part of a checklist asked when someone reports that they changed the kernel and didn't get the result they were expecting. It's easy to check, catches this mistake quickly, and costs very little in those cases where the explanation is some other problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|