Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
AMDGPU-Pro Gentoo instructions?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 243
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2021 6:36 am    Post subject: AMDGPU-Pro Gentoo instructions? Reply with quote

Hi

Problem: Using Autodesk Maya on Gentoo with my Radeon 6900XT. Maya has some serious performance issues with the free standart kernel AMDGPU driver (viewport lags of +3 seconds).

I verified that the problem is indeed the AMDGPU driver by installing a fresh ubuntu with latest AMDGPU-PRO drivers. On that system maya runs without any issues. Removing the "PRO" driver also introduced the issue again.

I suspect either the opengl or opencl comonent of the driver. I am not sure about that and what maya uses. But I am sure it has nothing to do with vulkan.

Does anyone know a source of information how I could get AMDGPU-PRO drivers on my gentoo system?

I found an interesting project that repacks the AMDGPU-PRO driver into an RPM package and makes it possible to only use the driver when needed (on top of the AMDGPU driver) via wrapper script so that one could simply start the application that needs AMDGPU-PRO like so:

Code:
#: amdgporun blender
#: amdgporun maya
#: amdgporun quake3arena


Any ideas how this could be done on gentoo?
_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2581
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2021 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's an OpenCL related issue, I imagine 'dev-libs/amdgpu-pro-opencl' could help... if it came with 6900 XT support, which I think is still missing from the current ebuilds.

I put some work into it, and got it to somewhat work with a 5700 XT, here: 8520866

It's very crude and incomplete, but it sort of worked with Blender at least.

That said, perhaps 'dev-libs/rocm-opencl-runtime' could be worth a try, but it's probably not quite there yet either.

There is some talk about using the AMDGPU-PRO Vulkan drivers for specific games here, but I haven't tried anything like that yet with Blender: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AMDGPU-PRO

I do recall reading about something similar that you mentioned, but it wasn't that project, and I can't remember what exactly it was at this time.
_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 243
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2021 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, but unfortunatley this seems to be an openGL related only issue.

Maybe because of the missing OpenGL "compatibility" profile that is missing in mesa's implementation
or something else.

In the meantime I found out the problem dissapears if I start Maya with software rendering via enviroment variable:

Code:
#: LIBGL_ALWAYS_SOFTWARE=true maya


Of cause that's not exactly the ideal solution.

I'll try to take a look what exactly the amd installer is doing. Maybe I find a way to install the OpenGL portion of that alone.

What I wonder about is that all solutions that I've seen so far did not build any kernel modules. But the AMD install package seems to build
a kernel module via dkms. Is this not needed if only OpenCL is concerned? What if I need to build a kernel module, no I have to disable the kernel amdgpu part for the amdgpu-pro module?
_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 243
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2021 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made some progress.

By orientating on an Arch Linux AUR package I followed the code in the PKGBUILD at the function
Code:
package_amdgpu-pro-libgl ()


I extracted the listed amd64 deb archives and moved it to the right places in "/usr" manually. (using /lib64 instead of /lib)

Then there is a simple script called "progl" in the AUR package that substitutes an aditional LD_LIBRARY_PATH (/usr/lib64/amdgpu-pro) to the executable that follows the progl script.

In that way I can simply start Maya by:

#: progl maya

Maya now detects my card, but with 0MB video memory:
Code:
VP2 Warning : Graphics hardware has been detected to have insufficient memory (0 MB).
Please check your video card and driver to ensure that a minimum amount of memory exists (512 MB).
The environment variable MAYA_OGS_GPU_MEMORY_LIMIT can be used to explicitly set the GPU memory limit.
Initialized VP2.0 renderer {
  Version : 2016.11.62.12. Feature Level 5.
  Adapter : AMD Radeon Graphics
  Vendor ID: 4098. Device ID :
  Driver : 4.6.14739 Compatibility Profile Context.
  API : OpenGL V.4.6.
  Max texture size : 16384 * 16384.
  Max texture coords : 32
  Shader versions supported (Vertex: 5, Geometry: 5, Pixel 5).
  Shader compiler profile : (Best card profile)
  Active stereo support available : 0
  Forced GPU Memory Limit : 2047 MB.
  CPU Memory Limit : 30431.5 MB.
  MultiDraw consolidation : enabled
}
OpenCL evaluator is attempting to initialize OpenCL.
OpenCL initialization has been disabled by user


(Everything else "seems" to work, the annoying lag is gone. Need further testing and look into that memory thing...
I dont know what that OpenCL part is doing in maya...)


whereas without using "progl" it just says:
Code:
VP2 Error : Failed to initialize graphics device.

_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dasPaul
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 243
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2021 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dasPaul wrote:

I dont know what that OpenCL part is doing in maya...)


Solved, I had it manually disabled in the Maya settings file maya.env.

I now get a proper initialization:
Code:
OpenCL evaluator is attempting to initialize OpenCL.
Detected 1 OpenCL Platforms: 
0: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.. AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing. OpenCL 2.1 AMD-APP (3180.7).
Supported extensions: cl_khr_icd cl_amd_event_callback cl_amd_offline_devices   
Selected matching OpenCL Platform: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing OpenCL 2.1 AMD
-APP (3180.7).
OpenCL evaluator choosing OpenCL platform Advanced Micro Devices, Inc..

_________________
-=human without Windows®=-
sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum