User Guides vs. Troubleshooting Guides
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
slimpinto
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 5:51 pm    Post subject: User Guides vs. Troubleshooting Guides Reply with quote

First off, I would like to thank all those members for their wonderful support. It's really awesome to have such a level of camaraderie amongst a diverse group of people with a common passion! I personally think this is the best damn forum I've ever been a part of! (now that I've buttered you all up...hehe :D )

I am a Customer Support Engineer for Cisco Systems (TAC), so I am extrememly familiar with technical documentation (we have one of the biggest documentation databases on the planet!), but for the past 5 years, I've noticed a lack of a certain TYPE of documentation ( that most hardware/software companies are guilty of, gentoo included). Sure...I can find out HOW to set up anything I want, but what if I set it up and it DOESN'T work as expected? Where's the doc that shows me HOW to FIX it? Check the Forums you say...I do and have, of course, but a lot of the important info gets buried, deep within the bowels of the Forum database or is so scattered amongst many separate threads and out of order! It's hard to make sense of it sometimes. Now, here at Cisco, we've slowly been adding more detailed documentation that explains how to fix it, if it's broken after an initial configuration. I've actually have made several, such guides for myself over the years. My problem is I would gladly help create these doc's for gentoo, but don't know "my ass from my elbow", when it comes to Linux (well...that's pretty harsh, but I have to follow directions still...I'm not to the level where it's all in my head, YET!)