Choosing Stage 3 Tarball
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tripcolman
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2022 10:18 pm    Post subject: Choosing Stage 3 Tarball Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm new to Gentoo and am going to install it for the first time, on the amd64 system.
Currently I'm reading documentation, forum posts and watching tutorials, to prepare for it.
But there is something that I don't completely understand.

First of all I want to achieve minimal installation without a desktop environment,
just X11 and a window manager (probably DWM).

While preparing for the install i got confused which Stage 3 tarball should i use,
I know for sure that i want openrc and multilib and not going to complicate my first experience with hardened, selinux or musl.

So there are two options left stage3-amd64-openrc and stage3-amd64-desktop-openrc.
What is the difference between these two and which one should I use to achieve my goal?
pietinger

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2022 10:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Choosing Stage 3 Tarball Reply with quote

Hello Tripcolman,

welcome to Gentoo Forums !

Tripcolman wrote:
So there are two options left stage3-amd64-openrc and stage3-amd64-desktop-openrc.
What is the difference between these two and which one should I use to achieve my goal?

They are both very minimal, with the difference of having some USE-flags like "X" for X11 as a minimum requirement for a desktop. So I recommend you to choose stage3-amd64-desktop-openrc.
the other one should be used for servers without any graphical DE (when not used hardened). Of course you can choose the more minimal stage3 and change it later with "eselect profile list" and "eselect profile set X".
Tripcolman
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2022 3:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Choosing Stage 3 Tarball Reply with quote

pietinger wrote: