View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Progman3K l33t
Joined: 03 Jan 2004 Posts: 783
|
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2022 8:45 pm Post subject: Raspberry Pi 3 Model B v 1.2 - No Network [SOLVED] |
|
|
Hi!
I followed the quick-guide
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Raspberry_Pi/Quick_Install_Guide
When choosing a stage, I selected
stage3-armv7a_hardfp-systemd-20220308T225141Z.tar.xz
I was able to perform all the steps up to the section titled
Post boot configuration
The board boots up, loads the kernel, performs its init and goes to the login prompt, where I can log in as root.
The only problem is that there is no network.
I'm fairly certain all the required drivers and kernel modules are present, but there is no eth0 nor enp3s0.
dmesg:
https://pastebin.com/3JmcLJUE
lsmod:
https://pastebin.com/EuCmRtSv
systemctl:
https://pastebin.com/KiunyE5w
I'm sure I must have omitted a step or maybe because I selected systemd, the guide does not list the step necessary for the network?
Thank you in advance for your help
Last edited by Progman3K on Fri Mar 18, 2022 2:23 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grknight Retired Dev
Joined: 20 Feb 2015 Posts: 1926
|
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2022 8:51 pm Post subject: Re: Raspberry Pi 3 Model B v 1.2 - No Network |
|
|
Progman3K wrote: | I'm fairly certain all the required drivers and kernel modules are present, but there is no eth0 nor enp3s0. |
Where is your proof of this? The dmesg shows eth0. 'ip link' should show the same meaning it is ready and waiting if shown with ip, something just needs to configure it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Progman3K l33t
Joined: 03 Jan 2004 Posts: 783
|
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2022 9:23 pm Post subject: Re: Raspberry Pi 3 Model B v 1.2 - No Network |
|
|
grknight wrote: | Where is your proof of this? The dmesg shows eth0. 'ip link' should show the same meaning it is ready and waiting if shown with ip, something just needs to configure it. |
Hey! You're right!
I was typing ifconfig with no parameters:
Quote: | lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 1000 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0 |
Typing ifconfig eth0 displays
Quote: | eth0: flags=4098<BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether b8:27:eb:bd:85:aa txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0 |
Typing ip link (which I've never used) displays
Quote: | 1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
link/ether b8:27:eb:bd:85:aa brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff |
So the network adapter IS active, but how do I get it to retrieve an IP?
I tried creating the file /etc/systemd/network/50-dhcp.network
Quote: | [Match]
Name=en*
[Network]
DHCP=yes |
Then executed
Code: | systemctl enable systemd-networkd.service
systemctl start systemd-networkd.service |
That didn't work.
I tried creating the file /etc/conf.d/net and set the contents to
Quote: | config_eth0="dhcp" |
That didn't work either |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Phoenix591 Guru
Joined: 17 Sep 2007 Posts: 493
|
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2022 7:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
if you still havn't caught it,
Code: | [Match]
Name=en*
[Network]
DHCP=yes |
needs to be
Code: | [Match]
Name=eth0
[Network]
DHCP=yes |
for systemd-networkd to work (since your ethernet is showing as eth0, not enp whatever)
/etc/conf.d/net is a netifrc thing which is mostly openrc. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Progman3K l33t
Joined: 03 Jan 2004 Posts: 783
|
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2022 2:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Phoenix591!
Thanks for taking the time to help!
In fact, I ended up nuking the install because even after I managed to manually start the network, I couldn't sync the repos.
I was getting lots of strange errors trying to sync portage, and more investigation made me suspect that I had downloaded a corrupt stage3, or that I had possibly omitted a crucial flag when extracting it.
So I started over, and instead of using the stage3 mentioned in the pi quick-guide (stage3-armv7a_hardfp-20160325.tar.bz2), I went to the autobuilds folder and downloaded a recent stage3.
Also, instead of selecting a systemd stage3, I went with an rc stage3 instead, to try and deviate as little as possible from the guide's instructions.
This worked out and I was able to use the linux that was already distributed with the pi (along with an external sd-card reader), with the quicksetup guide AND the handbook, to perform an almost totally-by-the-handbook install.
I suppose we can consider this post solved, I will update its title.
All that being said though, originally, when I was targeting a systemd install, I followed the instructions given here:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd#Network
Which is the source of the error you detected.
I (of course) made a typo.
Again, thank you, Phoenix591! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54578 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Mar 19, 2022 10:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Moved from Installing Gentoo to Gentoo on ARM.
The Pis are all various ARM systems _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|