Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Using tmpfs on /tmp to speed up system?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Steffen
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 9:04 pm    Post subject: Using tmpfs on /tmp to speed up system? Reply with quote

I've just read this blog entry by Sterling Hughes (a PHP coder), who suggests using tmpfs on your /tmp directory to speed up your system. Has anybody here already tried to do this?

I think I'll try it soon, but due to school exams I won't have time before wednesday.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oopsz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Oct 2002
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've done it from the beginning.. its great if you've got lots of ram
_________________
Pop-before-SMTP with the Gentoo Virtual Mailhosting Guide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Promit
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 344

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting...can I put this in /etc/fstab to always have it?
_________________
Windows, Linux, whatever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Promit
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 344

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

P.S. this had a rather...odd result that looks very weird to me:
# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/hda7 7.3G 4.3G 2.7G 62% /
/dev/hda1 9.8G 7.8G 2.0G 80% /mnt/windows
/dev/hda5 9.8G 7.5G 2.4G 77% /mnt/extra
/dev/hdc1 1.3G 958M 316M 76% /mnt/aux
none 252M 0 252M 0% /dev/shm
/tmp 7.3G 4.3G 2.7G 62% /tmp

Notice the sizes for /tmp. They all appear to be completely wrong...(/tmp is 86M according to du -sh)
_________________
Windows, Linux, whatever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7221
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure your /etc/fstab is right. The bits of my /tmp look like this:

Code:
# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
# Adding the following line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:
                                                                                                   
none                    /dev/shm        tmpfs           defaults                0 0
none                    /tmp             tmpfs           defaults                0 0


HTH

Edit: had tmp instead of /tmp :oops: cheers rmbalfa
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip


Last edited by tomk on Tue Dec 23, 2003 11:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jazz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 543
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, thats a neat trick.. had done that with my XP, but culdnt find a way to do that with Gentoo...
Anyways, the blog gave some directions to enhance Firebird.. does anyone know how to optimise Opera for that ?? or in general KDE to take advantage of the tmpfs ?

Bye,
Jassi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmbalfa
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Dec 2003
Posts: 200
Location: Illinois State University/Chicago

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having trouble understanding this. Sometime I have seen:

none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
none tmp tmpfs defaults 0 0

and sometime I have seen

tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
tmpfs tmp tmpfs defaults 0 0

What is none?

In the end all I really want is to mount /var/lib/setiathome with tmpfs to improve my times.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sedated
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2004 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had something like this set up in slackware long ago, and i still have the fstab entries and whatnot, but i don't really remember why i did it this way...
fstab:
Code:
tmpfs           /dev/shm        tmpfs   defaults,size=512m      0 0
/dev/shm/tmp    /tmp            tmpfs   defaults,noauto,bind    0 0

and a few small lines in the rc.local boot script:
Code:
/etc/rc.d/rc.devfs start
if [ -z `mkdir /dev/shm/tmp; chmod 1777 /dev/shm/tmp` ]; then
  /sbin/mount /tmp
fi

The way you guys are doing it, you actually get two tmpfs filesystems. This way, there's just one shared tmpfs between /dev/shm and /tmp. The only question is... how to implement this in Gentoo? You wouldn't want to directly bind or symlink /dev/shm to /tmp because there could be files in /dev/shm you don't want to appear in /tmp, but you can't have /tmp mounted automatically in fstab because the /dev/shm/tmp directory would have to be created and chmod'd first. As you can see, the lines in my old rc.local take care of this, but what Gentoo startup script would be best for this? If i added a line in the script to clean out the initial /tmp directory first, would putting the lines in /etc/conf.d/local.start be run early enough to not have files in /tmp that are currently in use from other startup scripts or programs?

I think that last paragraph may have been a bit longwinded...
_________________
Sedated
Quote:
sedated@therapy:tty3:~$ fortune
"If you lend someone twenty dollars, and never see that person again, it was probably worth it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ajaxx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2004 3:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmbalfa wrote:
I am having trouble understanding this. Sometime I have seen:

none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
none tmp tmpfs defaults 0 0

and sometime I have seen

tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
tmpfs tmp tmpfs defaults 0 0

What is none?

In the end all I really want is to mount /var/lib/setiathome with tmpfs to improve my times.


The first column specifies the device name. Strictly speaking there is no device associated with tmpfs (or devfs or procfs or...), so you can put whatever you want there.

However. It's good style to give the name of the filesystem as the device name, as in the second example. The reason is due to the behavior of umount(8). When it can't unmount a filesystem (say, because you have files open on it, or another fs mounted below it), it tells you the name of the device causing the problem, and the error message "Failed to umount /proc: none busy" is a little confusing.

So either one is correct, but the second is more correct than the first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum