Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Got udev working, now what?!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14 ... 28, 29, 30  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1623
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like will have to edit the Primer. Will need to use:

gentoo=nodevfs

instead of

devfs=nomount

Haven't noticed a problem with it until now. So try that.

Wait, did you say that devfs=nomount worked? I guess you don't have the latest baselayout. Hmmm, will have to work on that in a bit. Have to reboot to test the kernel out.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright


Last edited by Decibels on Fri Feb 27, 2004 8:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1623
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay finally seem to be making some sense of this all. Wish since I have the Udev Primer that everyone is using, that they would notify me on a major change like this!

I am able to boot to a devfs or udev only (pure) this way.

1) You can have devfs compiled in the kernel. DO NOT compile in for it to automatically load at boot (devfs that is). That will screw your system up and your boot will stop at 'checking root filesystem' and say it is corrupted.
Code:
CONFIG_DEVFS_FS=y
# CONFIG_DEVFS_MOUNT is not set
# CONFIG_DEVFS_DEBUG is not set

But don't under any circumstances do this:
Code:
CONFIG_DEVFS_FS=y
CONFIG_DEVFS_MOUNT=y
# CONFIG_DEVFS_DEBUG is not set


2) If you don't want to boot devfs at any time. That means with any kernel. So if you have multiple kernels and one uses devfs and the other doesn't. Tuff luck. This is a global setting. You can do this with /etc/conf.d/rc :
Code:
# Set to "yes" if you want to save /dev to a tarball on shutdown
# and restore it on startup.  This is useful if you have a lot of
# custom device nodes that udev do not handle/know about.
# (ONLY used by UDEV enabled systems!)

RC_DEVICE_TARBALL="no"

# Set to "yes" if you want devfsd to start upon bootup.  This is
# the default for Gentoo.
# Set to "no" only if you understand the full implications.  A
# number of files may need to be altered (i.e. /etc/inittab,
# /etc/fstab, etc.).
# Also note that it does _NOT_ start for UDEV enabled systems,
# even if RC_DEVFSD_STARTUP="yes" ...

RC_DEVFSD_STARTUP="no"

You will not be able to use devfs at boot even if you have another kernel compile to use it. Except if you have devfs set to load at boot, then you will never get to load a udev system. Because it is ignoring the 'gentoo=nodevfs' or 'devfs=nomount' option.

3) If you want to boot to either devfs or udev and have control of your system at boot. :
Code:
RC_DEVICE_TARBALL="no"
RC_DEVFSD_STARTUP="yes"


This will load a pure udev system or allow you to boot to udev. You will have to have the 'gentoo=nodevfs' or/and 'gentoo=noudev' options set correctly.

4) If leave default setting:

Code:
RC_DEVICE_TARBALL="yes"
RC_DEVFSD_STARTUP="yes"


You can still boot to udev or devfs system. But it will use the tarball on system. You will have to have the 'gentoo=nodevfs' and/or 'gentoo=noudev' options set correctly. This is for you people using a modified tarball that just contains console and null.

** So it would seem that the script isn't working correctly. RC_DEVFSD_STARTUP says:
Code:
# Set to "no" only if you understand the full implications.  A
# number of files may need to be altered (i.e. /etc/inittab,
# /etc/fstab, etc.).
# Also note that it does _NOT_ start for UDEV enabled systems,
# even if RC_DEVFSD_STARTUP="yes" ...


Not sure understand the /etc/fstab and /etc/inittab references. Haven't edited them at all. The other line says even if have 'yes' in there it won't start, but it does.

Also, seems to be okay, as long as you have the proper nomount options in bootloader and DON'T have devfs set in kernel to Automatically Load at Boot.

Finally, it seems to totally ignore the kernel line that says you can disable Automatic devfs booting by using the nomount option. If you have that enabled in the kernel it won't work. At least I couldn't get it to.

Things haven't tried:
1) Will the above setups work with either 'gentoo=nodevfs' or 'devfs=nomount' , if looking at the /sbin/rc script it has to be first one.
2) Comment out the lines in /etc/conf.d/rc and can still have devfs to automatically load at boot and it work with the nomount options.
3) Not sure, haven't used in a long time, maybe it has ignored the nomount option for a long time if devfs set to automatically load at boot and this isn't something new.

So for now, it basically boils down to just don't have devfs set to automaticially load at boot in the kernel. Why would you do that anyway if wanting to use udev. Still there is an nomount option that should work and doesn't.

** Primer has been updated with this info and more...
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright


Last edited by Decibels on Sat Feb 28, 2004 8:25 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Epyon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 754
Location: NJ, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was a bit too early in saying everything works now with udev. On startup alsactl can't restore the volume but later when the computer boots I can do alsactl restore and it works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Epyon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 754
Location: NJ, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok this is a bit odd.
I did rc-update del alsasound boot.
Then I added alsactl restore to /etc/conf.d/local.start.

Now sound is working fine with no alsasound startup script. Don't quite understand it...

Edit: Nevermind /dev/mixer isn't created without alsasound.
Edit #2: Well keeping alsasound starting at boot and putting "alsactl restore" in /etc/conf.d/local.start is a temporary fix for this problem...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1623
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ya, found all my alsamixer setting zero and muted. Had to redo it all. Not sure if was cause went to devfs today or not.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jack_mort
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey ! I found a solution to my problems !

See here : https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=43111 :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3c3it
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 765
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

has anybody been getting problems with bootsplash at all? i get my bootsplash but during boot i get constant errors about not being able to find /dev/fd0 but /dev/fd is there
_________________
Some people go to counselling,
others use linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jack_mort
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a patch for framebuffer to be compatible with sysfs. The link was posted in this thread few days ago.

Edit :
Here's the link : http://home.insightbb.com/~g.rude/Linux_patches/fb_sysfs_udev.patch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3c3it
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 765
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jack_mort wrote:
There's a patch for framebuffer to be compatible with sysfs. The link was posted in this thread few days ago.

Edit :
Here's the link : http://home.insightbb.com/~g.rude/Linux_patches/fb_sysfs_udev.patch

Thanks, sorry to be dumb but is this patch for the kernel? ie recompile the kernel?

EDIT nevermind, thats what i did, works a treat now WOOO :)
_________________
Some people go to counselling,
others use linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Epyon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 754
Location: NJ, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jack_mort wrote:
Hey ! I found a solution to my problems !

See here : https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=43111 :)


I tried that too but I got a lot of permissions errors on boot. Then I changed the permissions on /sbin/hotplug back to normal and I edited /sbin/rc so now it always uses udev as the hotplug agent. Everything works and there were no permissions errors on boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jack_mort
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you give the lines you edited ?

EDIT :

Argh in fact, I forgot to mention few other things I modified...

-> I edited /etc/hotplug/hotplug.functions to add a line like this at the beginning :

Code:
HOTPLUG_EXE=`cat /proc/sys/kernel/hotplug`


-> Then, I edited all the *.rc scripts in /etc/hotplug and replaced all the "/sbin/hotplug" with ${HOTPLUG_EXE}.

This should fix the permission errors :oops:


Last edited by jack_mort on Sat Feb 28, 2004 4:22 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Epyon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 754
Location: NJ, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know how intelligent my solution is(like if it breaks anything) but I just commented out some stuff:
Code:

        #       if [ -e /proc/sys/kernel/hotplug -a -x /sbin/hotplug ]
        #       then
        #               einfo "  Using /sbin/hotplug for udev management..."
        #
        #       elif [ -e /proc/sys/kernel/hotplug ]
        #       then
                        einfo "  Setting /sbin/udev as hotplug agent..."
                        echo "/sbin/udev" > /proc/sys/kernel/hotplug
        #       else
        #               ewarn "  Kernel was not compiled with hotplug support!"
        #       fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rollingrock
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:45 am    Post subject: mouse wheel no longer working Reply with quote

Does anyone else have a problem getting their mouse wheel to work after installing udev? I've got the mouse itself working but for some reason the wheel doesnt work anymore. I know I've got XF86config setup right because the wheel used to work. I'm currently running 2.6.3-love6 and udev 018 if that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Epyon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 754
Location: NJ, USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok big question. If udev can be used as the hotplug agent do we still need hotplug to be installed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1623
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like udev-019-r1 is out. Might fix some problems.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Epyon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 754
Location: NJ, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 4:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried
# ln -snf ../../../sbin/udev /etc/hotplug.d/default/udev.hotplug
from https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=43111
and now everything is working fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paranoid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 290
Location: Portland, ME

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the guide Decibels-very nice. Switched to pure UDEV without the tarball after reading it and everything works great. One strange thing a couple of days ago, trivial but I'm curious. Did a clean stage1 install on a new machine-emerged all the proper stuff etc. and edited rc script for no devfs or tarball (of course no devfs support in kernel). Made the console and null devices after deleting everything in /dev. Unable to bootup-kernel came up but it failed trying to mount the root partition-/dev/hda5 not found. It ran fsck on it which stated it was unfixable. So I chrooted and edited the rc script to use the tarball and it booted fine. I booted back to the cd and chrooted and wiped out all the devices again and remade console and null, changed rc script to not use tarball and it booted up fine after that, just that first boot it wouldn't work. Any ideas?
_________________
A paranoid is someone who knows a little of what's going on.
William S. Burroughs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Haldir
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 546

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I updated my old 2.4.24 Kernel to 2.6.3 with udev, works fine so far, just trying to verify two things:
My hda has 3 partitions (boot/root/"loopaescrypto") (i know that loop-aes i not needed anymore in 2.6...), now after bootup of 2.6.3, there is a.) no loop device, b.) no /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 and consequently no /dev/hda3, only 1 and 2 are added.
Well that loop* was missing was no suprise, but i thought the udev ide-devfs.sh script should atleast add "every" ide partition ?
/dev/hda3 was already in my fstab (but with noauto set, since i mount it manually)
Is it possible that only automounted partitions are added to dev on boot ?
If the partition is not mounted you won't get a hotplug notice if you try to mount it, so i manually added the device nodes...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try commenting out the ide-devfs.sh line in udev.rules to get your standard /dev/hd*. Have you got loop support in the kernel? ive got /dev/loop* no problem on my setup...
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thubble
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 119
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 11:01 pm    Post subject: Re: mouse wheel no longer working Reply with quote

rollingrock wrote:
Does anyone else have a problem getting their mouse wheel to work after installing udev? I've got the mouse itself working but for some reason the wheel doesnt work anymore. I know I've got XF86config setup right because the wheel used to work. I'm currently running 2.6.3-love6 and udev 018 if that helps.


Is it a USB mouse? Hotplug has major problems loading the proper modules ("hid" in this case) for USB devices. It doesn't even load usbcore. This is without udev, mind you - just hotplug/devfs. Funny thing is, it seemed to work fine with older versions of hotplug.

Is it easier just to compile everything into the kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1623
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't remember exactly why switched from module on input, but it might have been due to hotplug and same with hid. Use to have them as modules, so that sounds good.
For different inputs and hid this is mine:
I use a usb wheel mouse and has worked right off the bat.
Code:
bash-2.05b# grep -i 'input' /usr/src/linux/.config
# Input device support
CONFIG_INPUT=y
CONFIG_INPUT_MOUSEDEV=y
CONFIG_INPUT_MOUSEDEV_PSAUX=y
CONFIG_INPUT_MOUSEDEV_SCREEN_X=1024
CONFIG_INPUT_MOUSEDEV_SCREEN_Y=768
# Input Device Drivers
CONFIG_INPUT_KEYBOARD=y
CONFIG_INPUT_MOUSE=y
CONFIG_INPUT_MISC=y
CONFIG_INPUT_PCSPKR=m
CONFIG_INPUT_UINPUT=m


Code:
bash-2.05b# grep -i 'hid' /usr/src/linux/.config
# USB Human Interface Devices (HID)
CONFIG_USB_HID=y
CONFIG_USB_HIDINPUT=y
# CONFIG_HID_FF is not set
# CONFIG_USB_HIDDEV is not set


As far as loop device. Works on mine like does for TheCoop:

Code:
bash-2.05b# grep -i 'loop' /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_LOOP=y
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_CRYPTOLOOP is not set


Sometimes it is a cat and mouse game to see which you need, module or in kernel.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Haldir
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 546

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheCoop wrote:
try commenting out the ide-devfs.sh line in udev.rules to get your standard /dev/hd*. Have you got loop support in the kernel? ive got /dev/loop* no problem on my setup...


No loop support in kernel, loop-aes does not like it enabled, so that was no surprise.
I will try commenting out the script line.
Thx for the hint.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1623
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does everybody feel that I can remove the /sbin/rc and /etc/init.d/halt.sh editing section of the Primer?
Maybe I should wait until the new baselayout is stable. Wait, like we're all running strictly x86 and not ~x86 anyway. :P :P

I will probably remove it soon, so copy it if you want it.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nevynxxx
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 1123
Location: Manchester - UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Decibels wrote:
Does everybody feel that I can remove the /sbin/rc and /etc/init.d/halt.sh editing section of the Primer?
Maybe I should wait until the new baselayout is stable. Wait, like we're all running strictly x86 and not ~x86 anyway. :P :P

I will probably remove it soon, so copy it if you want it.


Well I for 1 used it a few day ago on a system that is not ~x86, but I shouldn't need it again. Is it a hassle to leave it in untill the new baselayout is marked stable?


----
ok so I have a "stable"(non ~x86) server running a 2.6.4 kernel, udev and nptl....nice
----
_________________
My Public Key

Wanted: Instructor in the art of Bowyery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
infirit
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Posts: 778
Location: Hoofddorp / The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Decibels wrote:
Does everybody feel that I can remove the /sbin/rc and /etc/init.d/halt.sh editing section of the Primer?
Maybe I should wait until the new baselayout is stable. Wait, like we're all running strictly x86 and not ~x86 anyway. :P :P

I will probably remove it soon, so copy it if you want it.
I think you can remove it but do put something in that they have to upgrade to baselayout ver >= x.x or it will not work.
_________________
EASY TO INSTALL = Difficult to install, but instruction manual has pictures.
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 13 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum