Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mounting nas at boot? (SOLVED)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Spanik
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 1014
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2022 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Your bond0 and an interface with an IP address makes me raise an eyebrow.
To make a bond work, you donate interfaces to the bond before they are configured, then the bond gets configured as if it were a physical interface.


I checked my kernel config and I indeed have the network bonding driver in the kernel and not as a module. I removed it and it is compiling right now.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3949

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2022 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you wish to bond the two ifaces together your /etc/conf.d/net
should contain
Code:

config_eno1="null"
config_eno2="null"
slaves_bond0="eno1 eno2"
config_bond0="dhcp"

Plz have net.eno1 net.eno2 and net.bond0 enabled @default (### corrected it from @boot)
Disable dhcpcd.
And let netifrc use it when it deems necessary.
_________________
:)


Last edited by alamahant on Fri Jun 10, 2022 11:55 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 1014
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2022 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I removed the bond driver from my kernel. Next I also removed net.eno2 from the default level, removed /etc/init.d/net.eno2 and removed eno2 from /etc/conf.d/net. I doesn't figure anymore during the boot messages. But it still starts eno2...

Code:
$ ifconfig
eno1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.2.11  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.2.255
        inet6 fe80::899b:f866:bf0d:8c8a  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        inet6 fd10:3da9:ee3:0:4cd3:388:7e82:4881  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 2a02:a03f:610b:1300:a9ce:3fd5:6c09:1931  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        ether ac:1f:6b:ad:42:d2  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 216  bytes 200479 (195.7 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 107  bytes 8716 (8.5 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device memory 0xef800000-ef87ffff 

eno2: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether ac:1f:6b:ad:42:d3  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device memory 0xef700000-ef77ffff 

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 14  bytes 1116 (1.0 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 14  bytes 1116 (1.0 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


alamahant wrote:
If you wish to bond the two ifaces together your /etc/conf.d/net
should contain
Code:

config_eno1="null"
config_eno2="null"
slaves_bond0="eno1 eno2"
config_bond0="dhcp"

Plz have net.eno1 net.eno2 and net.bond0 enabled @boot.
Disable dhcpcd.
And let netifrc use it when it deems necessary.


Thanks, I will file this for reference later. But first I'd like to get this nas mounted at boot before getting deeper into that.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 1014
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2022 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alamahant wrote:
Plz have net.eno1 net.eno2 and net.bond0 enabled @boot.


Just a tought, should net.eno1 be at runlevel "boot" instead of "default"?
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions


Last edited by Spanik on Fri Jun 10, 2022 11:54 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3949

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2022 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes my mistake.
Plz have them all enabled @default.
_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 1014
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2022 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm lost with this network stuff. Somehow I cannot make it so eno2 does not start. And _netdev that should make mount wait untill network is started does not seem to have any influence.

Is there a way to have this nfs mounted automatically after login? Without having to become root etc.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3949

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2022 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your network is a bit of a mess.
I suppose your are not using net.<ifname> files.
But dhcpcd.
So somewhere in dhcpcd conf file you have assigned eno2 to be handled by dhcpcd.
My advice is disable dhcpcd.
And use netifrc.
Code:

cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.eno1
ln -s net.lo net.eno2
rc-update add net.eno1 default
rc-update delete dhcpcd default

### do not enable net.eno2

Then
in /etc/conf.d/net
Code:

config_eno1="dhcp"

If this a desktop used only at home then I strongly advice you to use static ip.
in /etc/conf.d/net
Code:

#config_eno1="dhcp"
config_eno1="192.168.2.3/24"
routes_eno1="default via 192.168.2.1" ### router-ip
dns_servers_eno1="192.168.2.1 1.1.1.1 8.8.8.8" ###etc

for example.

Plz make sure dhcpcd is DISABLED.
Netifrc will use it if it deems necessary.
Then plz reboot

Quote:

s there a way to have this nfs mounted automatically after login? Without having to become root etc.

Yes plz use autofs
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AutoFS
The nfs share will be mounted when you try to access it.
_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 1014
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2022 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alamahant wrote:
Your network is a bit of a mess.
I suppose your are not using net.<ifname> files.
But dhcpcd.
So somewhere in dhcpcd conf file you have assigned eno2 to be handled by dhcpcd.
My advice is disable dhcpcd.
And use netifrc.
Code:

cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.eno1
ln -s net.lo net.eno2
rc-update add net.eno1 default
rc-update delete dhcpcd default

### do not enable net.eno2

Then
in /etc/conf.d/net
Code:

config_eno1="dhcp"

I do have dhcpcd. But do have the network configured as you give in your example with /etc/init.d/net.eno1 as a link and /etc/conf.d/net as follows:
Code:
dns_domain_lo="home"
config_eno1="dhcp"

I removed the /etc/init.d/net.eno2 link and also removed it from level default. However after a reboot I still see eno2 when I run ifconfig.

What if I remove dhcpcd? Can I still use dhcp?

Quote:

s there a way to have this nfs mounted automatically after login? Without having to become root etc.

Yes plz use autofs
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AutoFS
The nfs share will be mounted when you try to access it.[/quote]
I'll check that out. Thanks.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 1014
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2022 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so I removed dhcpcd from level default and now after a reboot I only have eno1 when I do ifconfig.

Time to go back to start for this nfs.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 1014
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2022 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so after removing dhcpcd from runlevel default and a reboot the only connected network interface came up and only that one.

I added the line in fstab again.
Code:
192.168.2.6:/Public                         /mnt/nas    nfs     rw,suid,_netdev         0 0


And now it is mounted at boot. What I see now in the messages that come during boot before logging in is that the interface is started and then dhcpcd is called. There are a lot more lines there now with info. And it takes a bit longer to boot.

Thanks to all of you!
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3949

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2022 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good news.
If you decide to go with autofs then in fstab nfs share line delete "_netdev" and add "noauto"
Or comment out the whole line.
Then configure autofs and it will be nice and cool.
Quote:

There are a lot more lines there now with info. And it takes a bit longer to boot.

That is why i suggested static ip.It will be blazing fast during boot.
If it is a desktop it is what you should do really.
_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 1014
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2022 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alamahant wrote:
Good news.
If you decide to go with autofs then in fstab nfs share line delete "_netdev" and add "noauto"
Or comment out the whole line.
Then configure autofs and it will be nice and cool.
Quote:

There are a lot more lines there now with info. And it takes a bit longer to boot.

That is why i suggested static ip.It will be blazing fast during boot.
If it is a desktop it is what you should do really.

This motherboard is not "blazing fast to boot". It takes quite some time before it goes through all the screens. So those few extra seconds make not much difference. I'm going to stay with dhcp however. That way the laptop and desktop are similar. It is easier if they are similar (for me to remember how to do things). But this means I'll have to disable dhcpcd in runlevel default on the laptop as well.

This autofs however is something I'm going to check out. It would be good to have the backup USB-disks mountable that way. And for the laptop to connect to the nas. No need that the laptop tries to mount the nas if not on the home network.

Next on the list will be that bonding of the interfaces. But I'll have to re-read the manual of the switch first so I can configure that one as well.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum