View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
petr2008 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Jan 2008 Posts: 124 Location: Prague, cz
|
Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2022 11:44 am Post subject: fwupdmgr update failed, needs more space in /run/media/root/ |
|
|
Hello,
I tried to upgrade system firmware:
Code: |
fwupdmgr update
Devices with no available firmware updates:
• KSG60ZMV512G M.2 2280 512GB
• UEFI dbx
╔══════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════╗
║ Upgrade System Firmware from 1.11.0 to 1.27.0? ║
╠══════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════╣
║ Firmware updates to address security vulnerabilities including Common ║
║ Vulnerabilities and Exposures ║
║ ║
║ Latitude 7390 must remain plugged into a power source for the duration of ║
║ the update to avoid damage. ║
╚══════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════╝
Perform operation? [Y|n]:
Downloading… [***************************************]
Downloading… [***************************************]
Decompressing… [***************************************]
Authenticating… [***************************************]
Waiting… [***************************************]
/run/media/root/DBE7-004F does not have sufficient space, required 33.6 MB, got 27.5 MB
|
How can I increase size of /run/media/root/? It is not in the fstab.
Thank you,
Petr |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alamahant Advocate
Joined: 23 Mar 2019 Posts: 3949
|
Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2022 12:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Plz run
Code: |
df -h /run
and
mount | grep "/run"
|
and check available space for your "/run" partition.
It is probably a tmpfs _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2022 1:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
petr2008,
/run/ is supposed to be a tiny tmpfs filesystem where the system stores its dynamic state.
Unless something in media/root is mounted outside of /run this is an excellent example of doing it wrong.
As run is in tmpfs it ram be dynamically resized with Code: | mount -o remount,size=100MB /run | use to check thats where the problem is.
Its harmless anyway bun is a filesystem mounted further how the path is too small, it won't fix the problem.
The real fix is to use /tmp/media/root/DBE7-004F. /tmp is also tmpfs but its much bigger. Half RAM by default.
That is probably as upstream bug though. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
petr2008 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Jan 2008 Posts: 124 Location: Prague, cz
|
Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2022 2:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
df -h /run
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
tmpfs 3.2G 1.6M 3.2G 1% /run
|
Code: |
mount | grep "/run"
tmpfs on /run type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,size=3253504k,nr_inodes=819200,mode=755)
tmpfs on /run/user/1000 type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,size=1626748k,nr_inodes=406687,mode=700,uid=1000,gid=1000)
gvfsd-fuse on /run/user/1000/gvfs type fuse.gvfsd-fuse (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_id=1000,group_id=1000)
portal on /run/user/1000/doc type fuse.portal (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_id=1000,group_id=1000)
/dev/sda2 on /run/media/root/DBE7-004F type vfat (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,fmask=0022,dmask=0022,codepage=437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,showexec,utf8,flush,errors=remount-ro,uhelper=udisks2)
|
However:
Code: |
df -h /dev/sda2
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda2 188M 161M 27M 86% /run/media/root/DBE7-004F
|
It seems that fwupdmgr uses small boot partition. In fstab I have
Code: |
UUID="DBE7-004F" /boot vfat noauto,noatime 1 2
|
It is strange because I did not mount it myself. It had to be mounted by fwupdmgr.
So if I delete some old kernels, it may work.
Petr |
|
Back to top |
|
|
petr2008 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Jan 2008 Posts: 124 Location: Prague, cz
|
Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2022 2:36 pm Post subject: [solved] |
|
|
It was the case.
I have new firmware.
When fwupdmgr is not used, /run/media/root/DBE7-004F is not mounted.
Thank you for help.
Petr |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|