View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
cjohnson n00b
Joined: 14 Dec 2003 Posts: 13 Location: North Carolina
|
Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2003 11:50 pm Post subject: Optimizing Battery Life on HP Pavilion |
|
|
I've got an HP Pavilion ze4560us and when I had WinXP installed my battery would last for about four hours, but now only lasts about 2 hours. I emerged cpudyn and added it to my default run level, but if I do /etc/init.d/cpudyn start I get this:
rohan:/home/cjohnson# /etc/init.d/cpudyn start
* Starting cpudynd...
* ACPI throttling support found, but hardware doesn't support it [ !! ]
So... I don't know what to do now. I was wondering what else I can do to squeeze out some battery life. Any help is appreciated. _________________ <wik> /bin/finger that girl in the back row of machines |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gmichels Guru
Joined: 20 Jun 2003 Posts: 480 Location: Brazil
|
Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2003 1:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
What kernel are you using? You have to enable this for a 2.6.0 kernel:
[img:3e178e9116]http://mnm.uib.es/~gallir/cpudyn/powersave.png[/img:3e178e9116]
Also you need to add support for you processor's technology (speedstep, powernow, etc).
Then cpudyn will act accordingly like this:
Code: | gustavo linux # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 6
model : 10
model name : mobile AMD Athlon(tm) XP2400+
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 530.125
cache size : 512 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse syscall mp mmxext 3dnowext 3dnow
bogomips : 1048.57 |
cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mizery de aria Guru
Joined: 07 Dec 2003 Posts: 309
|
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have a HP Pavilion ze4145, but I'm having difficulties getting ACPI to function properly. I'm using the 2.6.0 kernel.
Code: | root@laptop mizery # /etc/init.d/cpudyn start
* Starting cpudynd...
* Neither CPUFreq nor ACPI throttling support were found [ !! ] |
2.6.0 kernel configuration:
Code: | │ │[*] Power Management support │ │
│ │[ ] Software Suspend (EXPERIMENTAL) │ │
│ │[ ] Suspend-to-Disk Support │ │
│ │ ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support ---> │ │
│ │ APM (Advanced Power Management) BIOS Support ---> │ │
│ │ CPU Frequency scaling ---> │ │ |
Code: | │ │ < > APM (Advanced Power Management) BIOS support │ │ |
Code: | │ │ [*] ACPI Support │ │
│ │ [ ] Sleep States (EXPERIMENTAL) │ │
│ │ <*> AC Adapter │ │
│ │ <*> Battery │ │
│ │ <*> Button │ │
│ │ <*> Fan │ │
│ │ <*> Processor │ │
│ │ <*> Thermal Zone │ │
│ │ < > ASUS/Medion Laptop Extras │ │
│ │ < > Toshiba Laptop Extras │ │
│ │ [ ] Debug Statements │ │
│ │ [ ] Relaxed AML │ │ |
Code: | │ │ [*] CPU Frequency scaling │ │
│ │ < > /proc/cpufreq interface (deprecated) │ │
│ │ Default CPUFreq governor (performance) ---> │ │
│ │ --- 'performance' governor │ │
│ │ <*> 'powersave' governor │ │
│ │ <*> 'userspace' governor for userspace frequency scaling │ │
│ │ [ ] /proc/sys/cpu/ interface (2.4. / OLD) │ │
│ │ <*> CPU frequency table helpers │ │
│ │ --- CPUFreq processor drivers │ │
│ │ < > ACPI Processor P-States driver │ │
│ │ < > AMD Mobile K6-2/K6-3 PowerNow! │ │
│ │ <M> AMD Mobile Athlon/Duron PowerNow! │ │
│ │ < > AMD Opteron/Athlon64 PowerNow! │ │
│ │ < > Cyrix MediaGX/NatSemi Geode Suspend Modulation │ │
│ │ < > Intel Enhanced SpeedStep │ │
│ │ < > Intel Speedstep on ICH-M chipsets (ioport interface) │ │
│ │ < > Intel SpeedStep on 440BX/ZX/MX chipsets (SMI interface) │ │
│ │ < > Intel Pentium 4 clock modulation │ │
│ │ < > Transmeta LongRun │ │
│ │ < > VIA Cyrix III Longhaul │ │ |
Although, I'm using grub and /boot/grub/grub.conf:
Code: | title=Gentoo Linux 1.4 (2.6.0)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.0 root=/dev/hda3 acpi=off |
Right now I'm removing the "acpi=off" and rebooting. My system hangs during the boot sequence:
Code: | mtrr: v2.0 (20020519)
ACPI: Subsystem revision 20031002
spurious 8259A interrupt: IRQ7. |
That last line is new. I've never seen it before. Several times the system would hang at the previous line. I'm researching the new response now in hopes to find a solution myself. _________________ Do not repIy to or othErwise communicate with me if you use religious, spiritual or similar terminologies or references in your typings. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gmichels Guru
Joined: 20 Jun 2003 Posts: 480 Location: Brazil
|
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 5:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mizery, disable APIC and IO-APIC in your kernel configuration, then ACPI will load properly and you will be able to use cpufreq. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mizery de aria Guru
Joined: 07 Dec 2003 Posts: 309
|
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 7:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thx, that did it _________________ Do not repIy to or othErwise communicate with me if you use religious, spiritual or similar terminologies or references in your typings. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
damianfrancis Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Aug 2003 Posts: 120
|
Posted: Wed Mar 10, 2004 7:26 am Post subject: acpi |
|
|
I am trying to get gentoo installed on my HP Pavilion ze4560us and I am wondering about acpi and battery life. After I compile a kernel with acpi support, do I need to emerge anything else to get acpi to work? Such as acpid, and is there a howto as far as using this cpudyn? _________________ This post has been brought to you by The damianfactor! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gmichels Guru
Joined: 20 Jun 2003 Posts: 480 Location: Brazil
|
Posted: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You'll need cpudyn and also a kernel patch to enable the frequency tables. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jarealist Apprentice
Joined: 07 Oct 2002 Posts: 228
|
Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2004 1:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
gmichels wrote:
Quote: | mizery, disable APIC and IO-APIC in your kernel configuration, then ACPI will load properly and you will be able to use cpufreq. |
Just wanted to thank you for this advice. My Sony Viao would get to the power down state, but wouldn't power off. After I disabled APIC and IO-APIC in my 2.6.4-gentoo-r1 kernel, it now powers off! It was just the clue I was looking for. I was really getting tired of manually shutting the thing off. Thanks Again! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|