View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
NeverSloppy n00b

Joined: 03 Nov 2022 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2022 6:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm... Before running make menuconfig I did run lspci something | grep Ethernet
and the output was Intel ... Gigabit...
In the GUI I removed a bunch of bloat and put an asterisk on Intel ethernet drivers.
I ran make and I'm now waiting for it to finish compiling. I'm guessing I will have to use dracut
to make a new initramfs to find my encrypted drive? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54988 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2022 8:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeverSloppy,
There are lots of those. You need to check the numbers. As its Intel, it will be [8086:xxxx]
You will need a new initrd. Make it like you did previously, when it worked.
Don't change tools now.
You have kernel modules in the initrd, so you must treat them as a matching set.
-- edit --
only uses one core to build the kernel.
runs X make jobs. X= VCPUs+1 is a good start. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeverSloppy n00b

Joined: 03 Nov 2022 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2022 8:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So after the kernel compiles I should probably run this?
Quote: | genkernel --luks --install initramfs |
Also I ran make without any optimization flags
will it not use my MAKEOPTS in my portage/make.conf file?
--------------
It looks like I got a small error at the end. Is it anything to worry about: https://imgur.com/a/d2VKsix
Do I proceed with make -j6 modules_install
------------
lspci -nnk | grep Ethernet
Code: | 01:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82574L Gigabit Network Connection [8086:10d3] |
-------------
I should also mention I ran some other commands and tweaked the VM to try to get Ethernet before I ran make. Probably a bad idea.
I ran this command: Code: | rc-update del netmount default |
Before running that command I could see inet and now I don't see it, but net6 is there.
I also changed my virtual network interface's device model from virtio to e1000e and now I can see enp1s0 whereas before I couldn't. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54988 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2022 9:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeverSloppy,
make.conf is only used by portage.
When you build the kernel, the optimisation flags are configuration options.
If you use gentoo-sources with the USE=experimental some patches are added for more optimisation options.
its also possible to pass build options on the make command line.
When it breaks you get to keep all the pieces if you do either of these things :)
is supported though. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeverSloppy n00b

Joined: 03 Nov 2022 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2022 12:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well I completely failed at replacing the kernel with my own custom one.
But I found my network issue I believe. I picked OpenRC and the AMD64 install book mentions nothing about it or
its helper tool rc-update. Neither does it mention installing dhcpcd before exiting chroot.
Luckily I found this guide on how to set up networking before exiting chroot properly. Whoever maintains AMD64 Handbook
please consider placing a small bubble that lets users using OpenRC to use
Quote: | emerge --ask --verbose net-misc/dhcpcd
rc-update add dhcpcd default |
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Sakaki/Sakaki%27s_EFI_Install_Guide/Final_Preparations_and_Reboot_into_EFI |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
grknight Retired Dev

Joined: 20 Feb 2015 Posts: 2046
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeverSloppy n00b

Joined: 03 Nov 2022 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2022 2:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Was that there before? I must be blind. Or I was too busy focusing on the other encryption tutorial.
Thank you! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
013 n00b

Joined: 01 Mar 2007 Posts: 12 Location: Kharkiv, UA
|
Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2025 11:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
alamahant wrote: | You are missing initramfs.
You absolutely need one.
Try with dracut.
Plz post
You absolutely need "efi-64" in make.conf and re-emerging grub.
You need then to install grub
Code: |
grub-install --target=x86_64-efi.................etc
|
In /etc/default/grub
Code: |
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="cryptdevice=UUID=</dev/sda3 id>:root root=/dev/mapper/root"
#####if you use dracut
GRUB_PRELOAD_MODULES="luks"
|
Enable dmcrypt@boot.
Use
Code: |
cryptsetup luksOpen /dev/sda3 root
|
In fstab you dont need UUID for /
Code: |
/dev/mapper/root / ext4 defaults 0 0
|
should ok.
Also create an entry in /etc/crypttab
Code: |
root <UUID-of-/dev/sda3> none luks,initramfs
|
|
Now, for some reason, `GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="cryptdevice=UUID=</dev/sda3 id>:root root=/dev/mapper/root" ` breaks booting process (before last world update everything was ok), just comment it out.
>Also create an entry in /etc/crypttab
There is no /etc/crypttab or this step is not neccesary in 2025
other steps are in https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Rootfs_encryption |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|