Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
LUKS with UEFI/GPT in virt manager unable to load with GRUB
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NeverSloppy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2022
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2022 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... Before running make menuconfig I did run lspci something | grep Ethernet
and the output was Intel ... Gigabit...

In the GUI I removed a bunch of bloat and put an asterisk on Intel ethernet drivers.

I ran make and I'm now waiting for it to finish compiling. I'm guessing I will have to use dracut
to make a new initramfs to find my encrypted drive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54988
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2022 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeverSloppy,

There are lots of those. You need to check the numbers. As its Intel, it will be [8086:xxxx]

You will need a new initrd. Make it like you did previously, when it worked.
Don't change tools now.

You have kernel modules in the initrd, so you must treat them as a matching set.

-- edit --

Code:
make
only uses one core to build the kernel.
Code:
make -jX
runs X make jobs. X= VCPUs+1 is a good start.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeverSloppy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2022
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2022 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So after the kernel compiles I should probably run this?

Quote:
genkernel --luks --install initramfs


Also I ran make without any optimization flags :(

will it not use my MAKEOPTS in my portage/make.conf file?



--------------


It looks like I got a small error at the end. Is it anything to worry about: https://imgur.com/a/d2VKsix

Do I proceed with make -j6 modules_install

------------

lspci -nnk | grep Ethernet
Code:
01:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82574L Gigabit Network Connection [8086:10d3]


-------------

I should also mention I ran some other commands and tweaked the VM to try to get Ethernet before I ran make. Probably a bad idea.

I ran this command:
Code:
rc-update del netmount default


Before running that command I could see inet and now I don't see it, but net6 is there.

I also changed my virtual network interface's device model from virtio to e1000e and now I can see enp1s0 whereas before I couldn't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54988
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2022 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeverSloppy,

make.conf is only used by portage.

When you build the kernel, the optimisation flags are configuration options.

If you use gentoo-sources with the USE=experimental some patches are added for more optimisation options.
its also possible to pass build options on the make command line.
When it breaks you get to keep all the pieces if you do either of these things :)

Code:
make -jX
is supported though.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeverSloppy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2022
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2022 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I completely failed at replacing the kernel with my own custom one.

But I found my network issue I believe. I picked OpenRC and the AMD64 install book mentions nothing about it or
its helper tool rc-update. Neither does it mention installing dhcpcd before exiting chroot.

Luckily I found this guide on how to set up networking before exiting chroot properly. Whoever maintains AMD64 Handbook
please consider placing a small bubble that lets users using OpenRC to use

Quote:
emerge --ask --verbose net-misc/dhcpcd
rc-update add dhcpcd default


https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Sakaki/Sakaki%27s_EFI_Install_Guide/Final_Preparations_and_Reboot_into_EFI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grknight
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Posts: 2046

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2022 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeverSloppy wrote:
Neither does it mention installing dhcpcd before exiting chroot.


I'll respectfully disagree here... https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Tools#Installing_a_DHCP_client

Also earlier at https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/System#DHCP_via_dhcpcd_.28any_init_system.29
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeverSloppy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2022
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2022 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Was that there before? I must be blind. Or I was too busy focusing on the other encryption tutorial.

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
013
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2007
Posts: 12
Location: Kharkiv, UA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2025 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alamahant wrote:
You are missing initramfs.
You absolutely need one.
Try with dracut.
Plz post
Code:

lsblk -f

You absolutely need "efi-64" in make.conf and re-emerging grub.
You need then to install grub
Code:

grub-install --target=x86_64-efi.................etc

In /etc/default/grub
Code:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="cryptdevice=UUID=</dev/sda3 id>:root root=/dev/mapper/root"
#####if you use dracut
GRUB_PRELOAD_MODULES="luks"

Enable dmcrypt@boot.
Use
Code:

cryptsetup luksOpen /dev/sda3 root

In fstab you dont need UUID for /
Code:

/dev/mapper/root      /     ext4 defaults 0 0

should ok.
Also create an entry in /etc/crypttab
Code:

root     <UUID-of-/dev/sda3>    none     luks,initramfs


Now, for some reason, `GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="cryptdevice=UUID=</dev/sda3 id>:root root=/dev/mapper/root" ` breaks booting process (before last world update everything was ok), just comment it out.

>Also create an entry in /etc/crypttab

There is no /etc/crypttab or this step is not neccesary in 2025

other steps are in https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Rootfs_encryption
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum