View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
st834 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 23 Jun 2022 Posts: 96
|
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2022 9:55 am Post subject: grub-probe: error: cannot find a device for / (is /dev mount |
|
|
Hello
I addressed here about compiling a kernel without genkernel, and I am grateful to everyone for help and advice which unfortunately I cannot check because of a problem with the boot loader:
Code: | grub-probe: error: cannot find a device for / (is /dev mounted?) |
I installed the bootloader as it says in the manual
Code: | grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot --removable |
and when running the command
Code: | grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg |
I get message from head of the post.
I googled the internet, but I could not find any solution that would work for me.
I have never encountered this error before.
The only difference I made was on the btrfs volume I created a flat hierarchy with the root and home subvolumes. My fstab file :
Code: | /dev/nvmeon1p1 /boot vfat defaults 0 2
/dev/nvme0n1p2 / btrfs subvol=root 0 0
/dev/nvme0n1p2 /home btrfs subvol=home 0 0 |
Thanks for your answers ! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alamahant Advocate
Joined: 23 Mar 2019 Posts: 3918
|
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2022 10:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi
You have to chroot into your system the proper way to run grub-mkconfig.
Please follow
Code: |
root #mount --types proc /proc /mnt/gentoo/proc
root #mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
root #mount --make-rslave /mnt/gentoo/sys
root #mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
root #mount --make-rslave /mnt/gentoo/dev
root #mount --bind /run /mnt/gentoo/run
root #mount --make-slave /mnt/gentoo/run
|
from
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Base#Chrooting _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
st834 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 23 Jun 2022 Posts: 96
|
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2022 10:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you very much for your answer,
I mounted these systems but when I created the btrfs subvolume I mounted the root volume but I didn't mount the subvolume (for root and home filesystems) and this caused the error
Thanks ! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|