View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
warp_trive n00b
Joined: 03 Jan 2023 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2023 2:42 pm Post subject: KVM stopped working |
|
|
Hello.
I experience really strange problem. For some reason KVM wont work on my build anymore. It was fine few weeks ago using qemu, libvirt and so on. I tried to recompile kernel and change form built in option to module but I had that message:
Code: | modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'kvm_amd': Operation not permitted
|
The only thing i remember changing was disabling NX Mode in bios but I have changed that back with no effect. I just recompiled kernel again to have kvm compiled in (not as a module). I have checked everything I possibly could check and it all looks normal but for some reason I'm not able to use kvm anymore. I'm running out of ideas what could happen. My system is up to date with kernel 5.15.80 at the moment.
Code: | grep KVM /usr/src//linux/.config
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_IRQCHIP=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_IRQFD=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_IRQ_ROUTING=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_EVENTFD=y
CONFIG_KVM_MMIO=y
CONFIG_KVM_ASYNC_PF=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_MSI=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_CPU_RELAX_INTERCEPT=y
CONFIG_KVM_VFIO=y
CONFIG_KVM_GENERIC_DIRTYLOG_READ_PROTECT=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_IRQ_BYPASS=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_NO_POLL=y
CONFIG_KVM_XFER_TO_GUEST_WORK=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_PM_NOTIFIER=y
CONFIG_KVM=y
# CONFIG_KVM_INTEL is not set
CONFIG_KVM_AMD=y
CONFIG_KVM_XEN=y
CONFIG_KVM_MMU_AUDIT=y
|
lscpu
Code: |
Architecture: x86_64
CPU op-mode(s): 32-bit, 64-bit
Address sizes: 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
Byte Order: Little Endian
CPU(s): 12
On-line CPU(s) list: 0-11
Vendor ID: AuthenticAMD
Model name: AMD Ryzen 5 PRO 4650G with Radeon Graphics
CPU family: 23
Model: 96
Thread(s) per core: 2
Core(s) per socket: 6
Socket(s): 1
Stepping: 1
Frequency boost: enabled
CPU max MHz: 4307.0308
CPU min MHz: 1400.0000
BogoMIPS: 7385.66
Flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb
rdtscp lm constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc cpuid extd_apicid aperfmperf rapl pni pclmulqdq monitor ssse3 fma cx16 sse4_1 sse4_2
x2apic movbe popcnt aes xsave avx f16c rdrand lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs sk
init wdt tce topoext perfctr_core perfctr_nb bpext perfctr_llc mwaitx cpb cat_l3 cdp_l3 hw_pstate ssbd mba ibrs ibpb stibp vmmcall fsgs
base bmi1 avx2 smep bmi2 cqm rdt_a rdseed adx smap clflushopt clwb sha_ni xsaveopt xsavec xgetbv1 xsaves cqm_llc cqm_occup_llc cqm_mbm_
total cqm_mbm_local clzero irperf xsaveerptr rdpru wbnoinvd arat npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save tsc_scale vmcb_clean flushbyasid decodeass
ists pausefilter pfthreshold avic v_vmsave_vmload vgif v_spec_ctrl umip rdpid overflow_recov succor smca
Virtualization features:
Virtualization: AMD-V
Caches (sum of all):
L1d: 192 KiB (6 instances)
L1i: 192 KiB (6 instances)
L2: 3 MiB (6 instances)
L3: 8 MiB (2 instances)
NUMA:
NUMA node(s): 1
NUMA node0 CPU(s): 0-11
Vulnerabilities:
Itlb multihit: Not affected
L1tf: Not affected
Mds: Not affected
Meltdown: Not affected
Mmio stale data: Not affected
Retbleed: Vulnerable
Spec store bypass: Mitigation; Speculative Store Bypass disabled via prctl and seccomp
Spectre v1: Mitigation; usercopy/swapgs barriers and __user pointer sanitization
Spectre v2: Vulnerable, IBPB: conditional, STIBP: conditional, RSB filling, PBRSB-eIBRS: Not affected
Srbds: Not affected
Tsx async abort: Not affected
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54827 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2023 3:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
warp_trive,
Welcome to Gentoo.
After you provoke the Code: | modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'kvm_amd': Operation not permitted | error, is there anything in dmesg that says why?
Module signing (or lack of it) comes to mind?
That's not usually a problem for in kernel modules, like KVM.
What about the kernel option to restrict module loading to modules from a single filesystem?
The end of dmesg may tell more. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
warp_trive n00b
Joined: 03 Jan 2023 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2023 4:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | warp_trive,
Welcome to Gentoo.
After you provoke the Code: | modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'kvm_amd': Operation not permitted | error, is there anything in dmesg that says why?
Module signing (or lack of it) comes to mind?
That's not usually a problem for in kernel modules, like KVM.
What about the kernel option to restrict module loading to modules from a single filesystem?
The end of dmesg may tell more. |
So what happen is meanwhile I was recompiling kernel for the 6th time today mainly going between in-built and module version and it all start to working again. I can see kvm in /dev once again. What i did this time is setting virtualization in bios to disable booting up and then back to enabled. Not sure which step has affected it but at lest I have it all working again. Thank you for taking time to replay. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2692
|
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2023 5:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
warp_trive wrote: | NeddySeagoon wrote: | warp_trive,
Welcome to Gentoo.
After you provoke the Code: | modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'kvm_amd': Operation not permitted | error, is there anything in dmesg that says why?
Module signing (or lack of it) comes to mind?
That's not usually a problem for in kernel modules, like KVM.
What about the kernel option to restrict module loading to modules from a single filesystem?
The end of dmesg may tell more. |
So what happen is meanwhile I was recompiling kernel for the 6th time today mainly going between in-built and module version and it all start to working again. I can see kvm in /dev once again. What i did this time is setting virtualization in bios to disable booting up and then back to enabled. Not sure which step has affected it but at lest I have it all working again. Thank you for taking time to replay. |
EFI firmware is messy nowadays, I've had plenty of problems or seemingly no problems because of EFI firmware settings change and something not really changes after a hot reboot...
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|