View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Cosmin
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2003 9:23 am    Post subject: Only root wants to run gdm ?? SOLVED Reply with quote

Hello everybody!
I'm new to Gentoo (1 month), so please be patient.
I started installing Gentoo from stage 1. I emerged almost everything I needed (more or less) like: kde, gnome, openoffice, dependencies included. Since i am at work most of the time, it was OK to leave the computer working all by itself... :) I created one user account ('cosmin') belonging to groups user, sound and wheel. Now, everytime I try to start gdm from user 'cosmin', I get this message:
'Only root wants to run gdm'
I have the same problem with kdm and xdm. I can start X as an ordinary user, but not gdm. I thought it might be because of /tmp acces rights and I changed them to be rwxrwxrwx. No improvement... Can anybody help me, please?
If I am root, I can run gdm without problem.
Thank you!

P.S.: I think I saw somewhere in this forum something similar, but I can't find it. I would appreciate if you could point me to the right direction.

Last edited by Cosmin on Tue Dec 23, 2003 9:12 am; edited 1 time in total
ralph
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2003 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But that is the way it should be. You start gdm as root and then log in as an other user. :D

To start up gdm automatically just edit your rc.conf and rc-update add xdm default.

Have fun.
Cosmin
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2003 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote