View previous topic :: View next topic  

Is this idea any good?
Yes
7%
 7%  [ 1 ]
No
92%
 92%  [ 13 ]
Other (Please leave a comment, in this case)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Total Votes : 14

leyvi
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2023 8:49 pm    Post subject: Is my idea any good? Reply with quote

Hello Gentoo community.
Portage is by far the coolest package manager to ever grace us GNU/Linux users with its presence, but it has one flaw:
Its really goddam slow.
I think that I may have a solution, but I'm a high-school student, and I don't have any experience contributing to open-source software, and I would like some feedback on whether or not this idea of mine is practical, feasible, etc.

I was re-emergeing `@world` with the LLVM toolchain, when an idea occurred to me:
What if packages were distributed as LLVM IR/bitcode?
This would probably shrink the file sizes of packages, and thus the download time (a huge issue for me)
but more importantly, it would reduce the amount of time needed to compile and install an application; some
of us use the LLVM toolchain anyway, and not having to use clang, rustc, clang++, etc. and just using the LLVM
backend could reduce the time needed to build packages by quite a bit. In addition, the core principals of portage
would still be there. The IR can still be optimized on the end-user's machine, USE flags can still do their thing, etc.
The only thing that wouldn't be possible is editing the source code before it gets built and installed, but who
does that anyway? Regardless, one could still do that if needed (its open-source, after all).

Some things I'm less sure about, but could still be interesting:
1) Proprietary software could be distributed as LLVM IR, as its a lot like binary executables, which software companies distribute all the time, so things like games could be optimized for performance on the end-user's machine.
2) IR/bitcode is more compressible than source code, so smaller file sizes.