View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
marco.difresco Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 29 Jul 2011 Posts: 170
|
Posted: Thu May 11, 2023 9:17 pm Post subject: GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX disables boot output and TTYs |
|
|
Hi all,
I don't know how it happened, but in the latest(s?!) versions of Grub GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT is disabling any output during boot and any additiona tty.
During boot I get:
Quote: | Booting ' Gentoo GNU/Linux'
Loading Linux 6.3.0-gentoo-x86_64 ....
Loading initial ramdisk ... |
and then no longer any output until SDDM->KDE loads up.
As for TTYs, I do have KDE on CTRL+ALT+F1, but on CTRL+ALT+F2 to 6 I get only the booting output above, but no login prompt.
If i comment out GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT and regenerate grub.cfg, I get back the boot output and the TTYs (but obviously I lose the settings I have in GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT).
I have sys-boot/grub-2.06-r6, sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-6.3.0, and GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="nvidia-drm.modeset=1 amd_iommu=on iommu=pt kvm_amd.npt=1 kvm_amd.avic=1 kvm.ignore_msrs=1 vfio-pci.ids=10de:1fb1,10de:10fa amd_pstate.shared_mem=1 initcall_blacklist=acpi_cpufreq_init"
Any idea?
Thanks in advance. _________________ Marco Di Fresco
Silicon Gadget
Import MSSQL bak files to MySQL |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
pietinger Moderator
![Moderator Moderator](/images/ranks/rank-mod.gif)
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5377 Location: Bavaria
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
marco.difresco Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 29 Jul 2011 Posts: 170
|
Posted: Fri May 12, 2023 7:30 am Post subject: Re: GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX disables boot output and TTYs |
|
|
Hi pietinger,
thanks for your answer.
I do have those frame buffer selected. _________________ Marco Di Fresco
Silicon Gadget
Import MSSQL bak files to MySQL |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
pietinger Moderator
![Moderator Moderator](/images/ranks/rank-mod.gif)
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5377 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Fri May 12, 2023 10:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sometimes two other options can lead to this problem. Please try to disable both:
Code: | CONFIG_SYSFB_SIMPLEFB
CONFIG_DRM_SIMPLEDRM |
(If this doesnt help, we would need your complete kernel .config; please use wgetpaste for this) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
marco.difresco Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 29 Jul 2011 Posts: 170
|
Posted: Sat May 13, 2023 9:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
pietinger wrote: | Sometimes two other options can lead to this problem. Please try to disable both:
Code: | CONFIG_SYSFB_SIMPLEFB
CONFIG_DRM_SIMPLEDRM |
(If this doesnt help, we would need your complete kernel .config; please use wgetpaste for this) |
Removing the first didn't help (actually I had problems compiling the Nvidia drivers after the kernel) and I could not find the second.
Here my kernel .config
Thanks. _________________ Marco Di Fresco
Silicon Gadget
Import MSSQL bak files to MySQL |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54831 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat May 13, 2023 9:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
marco.difresco,
Code: | CONFIG_SYSFB=y
CONFIG_SYSFB_SIMPLEFB=y
CONFIG_DRM_SIMPLEDRM=y |
Turn those options off. Use the search in menuconfig to find and jump to them.
The evil binary blob nvidia-drivers needs a hidden kernel symbol to be enabled. It has no user config option, rather it is only selected automatically when you pick something that needs it that is in the kernel.
The customary choice is to enable Code: | # CONFIG_DRM_I915 is not set | even though you don't need it.
It just to flip the hidden kernel symbol. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
stefan11111 l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 29 Jan 2023 Posts: 951 Location: Romania
|
Posted: Sat May 13, 2023 10:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: |
The evil binary blob nvidia-drivers needs a hidden kernel symbol to be enabled. It has no user config option, rather it is only selected automatically when you pick something that needs it that is in the kernel.
The customary choice is to enable Code: | # CONFIG_DRM_I915 is not set | even though you don't need it.
It just to flip the hidden kernel symbol. |
You mean this?
Code: | * CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER: is not set but needed for Xorg auto-detection
* of drivers (no custom config), and for wayland / nvidia-drm.modeset=1.
* Cannot be directly selected in the kernel's menuconfig, and may need
* selection of a DRM device even if unused, e.g. CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU=m or
* DRM_I915=y, DRM_NOUVEAU=m also acceptable if a module and not built-in.
* Please check to make sure these options are set correctly.
* Failure to do so may cause unexpected problems. |
I am running xorg just fine without these options, though I have an custom xorg config.
It may break some games though, but I'm not sure.
Are people actually running xorg without custom configs? _________________ My overlay: https://github.com/stefan11111/stefan_overlay
INSTALL_MASK="/etc/systemd /lib/systemd /usr/lib/systemd /usr/lib/modules-load.d *udev* /usr/lib/tmpfiles.d *tmpfiles* /var/lib/dbus /usr/bin/gdbus /lib/udev" |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54831 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat May 13, 2023 10:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
stefan11111,
Its only a problem with out of tree kernel modules, like nvidia-drivers.
I think only right handed Americans with a single screen run Xorg with no custom configuration as that's the defaults.
Most DE let you play with the mouse and keyboard layouts, so it does not to be an xorg.conf.d/ fragment. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
stefan11111 l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 29 Jan 2023 Posts: 951 Location: Romania
|
Posted: Sun May 14, 2023 9:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | stefan11111,
Its only a problem with out of tree kernel modules, like nvidia-drivers.
|
I also use nvidia-drivers.
Code: | $ eix -I nvidia
[?] x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers
Available versions: [M]390.157(0/390) 470.161.03(0/470) 510.108.03(0/510) 515.86.01(0/515) [M](~)525.47.11(0/vulkan) 525.85.05(0/525) 525.89.02(0/525) **530.30.02(0/530) {+X dist-kernel (+)driver kernel-open persistenced +static-libs +tools wayland ABI_X86="32 64"}
Installed versions: 530.41.03(0/530)(12:22:02 PM 05/04/2023)(X driver static-libs -dist-kernel -kernel-open -persistenced -tools -wayland ABI_X86="32 64")
Homepage: https://www.nvidia.com/download/index.aspx
Description: NVIDIA Accelerated Graphics Driver
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: |
I think only right handed Americans with a single screen run Xorg with no custom configuration as that's the defaults.
Most DE let you play with the mouse and keyboard layouts, so it does not to be an xorg.conf.d/ fragment. |
Do right-handed Americans with a single screen just live with screen tearing and screen blanking?
Code: | Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "Stereo" "0"
Option "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-1"
Option "metamodes" "1920x1080 +0+0 {ForceCompositionPipeline=On}"
Option "SLI" "Off"
Option "MultiGPU" "Off"
Option "BaseMosaic" "off"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection |
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1118068-start-0.html _________________ My overlay: https://github.com/stefan11111/stefan_overlay
INSTALL_MASK="/etc/systemd /lib/systemd /usr/lib/systemd /usr/lib/modules-load.d *udev* /usr/lib/tmpfiles.d *tmpfiles* /var/lib/dbus /usr/bin/gdbus /lib/udev" |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
marco.difresco Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 29 Jul 2011 Posts: 170
|
Posted: Sun May 14, 2023 10:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | marco.difresco,
Code: | CONFIG_SYSFB=y
CONFIG_SYSFB_SIMPLEFB=y
CONFIG_DRM_SIMPLEDRM=y |
Turn those options off. Use the search in menuconfig to find and jump to them.
The evil binary blob nvidia-drivers needs a hidden kernel symbol to be enabled. It has no user config option, rather it is only selected automatically when you pick something that needs it that is in the kernel.
The customary choice is to enable Code: | # CONFIG_DRM_I915 is not set | even though you don't need it.
It just to flip the hidden kernel symbol. |
Hi NeddySeagoon
thanks for your answer.
I turned those options off (and indeed CONFIG_DRM_I915 active helped in compiling the Nvidia drivers), but unfortunately there it didn't solve the issue (still no boot output between "Loading initial ramdisk ..." and SDDM loading the graphic interface and no access to CTRL+ALT+F2-6 TTYs). ![Sad :(](images/smiles/icon_sad.gif) _________________ Marco Di Fresco
Silicon Gadget
Import MSSQL bak files to MySQL |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54831 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun May 14, 2023 11:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
marco.difresco,
The lack of console output is a bit odd.
Please post your
Please pastebin your dmesg output. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
marco.difresco Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 29 Jul 2011 Posts: 170
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54831 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun May 14, 2023 12:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
marco.difresco,
Code: | 05:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation TU117GL [T600] [10de:1fb1] (rev a1)
0c:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation GA102 [GeForce RTX 3090] [10de:2204] (rev a1) |
You have two graphics cards.
By default, the BIOS will use the first one. That's OK for the BIOS as it knows nothing of PCI pass through. That's a kernel thing.
The kernel will try to use the BIOS default card for the console but it can't, as its not available - its been passed to the VM.
Go into your BIOS and choose the second video card as the BIOS default.
If that's not possible, can you physically swap the cards? _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
marco.difresco Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 29 Jul 2011 Posts: 170
|
Posted: Sun May 14, 2023 7:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | marco.difresco,
Code: | 05:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation TU117GL [T600] [10de:1fb1] (rev a1)
0c:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation GA102 [GeForce RTX 3090] [10de:2204] (rev a1) |
You have two graphics cards.
By default, the BIOS will use the first one. That's OK for the BIOS as it knows nothing of PCI pass through. That's a kernel thing.
The kernel will try to use the BIOS default card for the console but it can't, as its not available - its been passed to the VM.
Go into your BIOS and choose the second video card as the BIOS default.
If that's not possible, can you physically swap the cards? |
Hi NeddySeagoon,
thanks for your suggestion; as I had no option available in the BIOS and no way to re-arrange the cards on the motherboard, I ended up removing the T600 and now I got the boot output and the TTYs back.
For the short-middle term I will do without the T600, as I paused the VM that card was intended for due to other projects, but I wonder why everything was working until few weeks ago and suddenly the problem started. Unfortunately it is one of those cases where I did not pay attention to the problem at first (I started to notice the missing output for some time, but I decided to post only after I had the need for the TTY a couple of days ago and), so now it is impossible to backtrack to whatever package update caused it. ![Sad :(](images/smiles/icon_sad.gif) _________________ Marco Di Fresco
Silicon Gadget
Import MSSQL bak files to MySQL |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54831 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun May 14, 2023 8:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
marco.difresco,
There may be another way but I've not looked into it.
Tell the framebuffer driver to use PCI 0c:00.0. That's the same as you do to in xorg.conf fragments to tell Xorg how several video cards are arranged.
I know what's needed but not how to do it, or even if its possible.
What doesreturn?
will be interesting too.
Documentation/fb/fbcon.rst in the kernel source tree looks interesting. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
marco.difresco Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 29 Jul 2011 Posts: 170
|
Posted: Wed May 17, 2023 4:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | marco.difresco,
There may be another way but I've not looked into it.
Tell the framebuffer driver to use PCI 0c:00.0. That's the same as you do to in xorg.conf fragments to tell Xorg how several video cards are arranged.
I know what's needed but not how to do it, or even if its possible.
What doesreturn?
will be interesting too.
Documentation/fb/fbcon.rst in the kernel source tree looks interesting. |
Without the second card:
Code: | # ls /dev/fb* -l
crw-rw---- 1 root video 29, 0 May 16 11:28 /dev/fb0
# cat /proc/fb
0 EFI VGA |
With the second card:
Code: | # ls /dev/fb* -l
ls: cannot access '/dev/fb*': No such file or directory
# cat /proc/fb
{no output at all}
|
Both tests with the same kernel and grub config.
(Edit) the fact that with both cards installed both commands fails, may indicate that there is something more than just the system defaulting on the T600. :-/ _________________ Marco Di Fresco
Silicon Gadget
Import MSSQL bak files to MySQL |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54831 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat May 20, 2023 11:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
marco.difresco,
With both cards installed, the first enumerated card is present but not available to the kernel, as its passed through to the VM.
With both cards present and no pass through enabled, I would expect to see fb0 and fb1.
At the moment, there is no framebuffer on the second card, so there in no way to direct the kernel to use it either.
These days, all the console drivers are implemented as framebuffer consoles, ever the original 80x25 text console. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|