Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Will compiling Gentoo on my hardware be fine and speedy?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Physical Inlaw
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2023 8:04 am    Post subject: Will compiling Gentoo on my hardware be fine and speedy? Reply with quote

Hi Gentoo Forums,

I'm currently running void Linux as my daily driver and I'm loving g it. However, I'm soon going to be getting a new Laptop and since I'm a student at boarding school I'm mainly going to be able to compile in the weekend. And I would like to know wether the following hardware is good for getting gentoo compiled fast enough and without putting strain on my CPU this is the laptop I'm looking into currently https://www.pbtech.co.nz/product/NBKASU1504274/ASUS-Vivobook-Go-15-E1504FA-NJ274W-156-FHD-AMD-Ryz if your lazy and don't want to click on the link the here are my specs.

• AMD Ryzen™ 5 7520U Mobile Processor (4-core/8-thread, 4MB cache, up to 4.3 GHz max boost)
  • 16GB LPDDR5 on board
  • 512GB M.2 NVMe™ PCIe® 3.0 SSD

Also I might get a cooling stand for it just to help reduce the strain. And I've read that PSU cn be a problem when compiling what can I do to reduce the strain EG I've seen that its not recommended to leave at 100% for ages so should I charge to 100% then unplug let it discharge for a bit then re plug or is there something else I can do. Lastly is there some kind of precompiled kernel(Im I referring to the right thing in the install?) or do I just have to compile the tarball my self.

Thanks And I look forward to using gentoo! :D
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2023 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think there are any build issues, it's not the fastest processor but in my opinion it will do its job well.