(Solved) Help please, autoboot Mac mini after power failure
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BoGun
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2023 4:01 pm    Post subject: (Solved) Help please, autoboot Mac mini after power failure Reply with quote

Hi all,
New here on the forum and been dabbling with Linux for a couple of years now. I'm glad I finally managed to quit both OSX and MS but it's been a struggle I can promise you that. :roll:

Ok so I guess from reading my "subject" sentence that you understand I'm a newbie? But at least I've understood from ending up here on the Gentoo forum many times when googling "Daphile Gentoo" that Unsupported Software is the section to start a thread about anything that has to do with Daphile.

So ok here's what I would like to achieve, but first a little background; I got Daphile installed on a old mac mini 2009 and in general I'm very happy with it. It's very stable.
I really like most things with old Macs appart from one thing and that is the poor solution they adapted if there's a power failure (or outage maybe? I'm not sure. English is not my native language). As many thing Apple it works pretty fine as long as you ONLY use Apple products, in this case Os X. In Mac OS X, you can check "Start up automatically after a power failure" in the "Energy Saver System Preferences" to get it to boot up after a power failure.
But having this value checked doesn't make a persistent "BIOS/EFI" setting as one can set on a PC. It only gets set by Mac OS X on every boot ...e.g when using anything other than OS X booting up after power failure it doesn't work.
Or at least I thought so for quite a long time ...