View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Adel Ahmed Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 Posts: 1607
|
Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2023 11:06 am Post subject: Microphone is not detecting any sounds[solved] |
|
|
Hi everyone,
I am using pulseaudio with teh following card:
Code: | 00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Alder Lake PCH-P High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01) |
pulseaudio is started via the autospawn = yes command.
The microphone does not record any sound when I look in pavucontrol, it lists a 'HDA intel PCH Analog Stereo' but it is not detecting any sounds.
I tried using arecord but I get blank recordings as well(no sound in the recording):
Code: | adel@t14 ~ $ arecord -l
**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC257 Analog [ALC257 Analog]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
adel@t14 ~ $ arecord test
Warning: Some sources (like microphones) may produce inaudible results
with 8-bit sampling. Use '-f' argument to increase resolution
e.g. '-f S16_LE'.
Recording WAVE 'test' : Unsigned 8 bit, Rate 8000 Hz, Mono
^CAborted by signal Interrupt... |
any idea how I can get teh microphone to work? I assume it's detected by the kernel as it is showing up in arecord -l
Last edited by Adel Ahmed on Mon Aug 14, 2023 10:45 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
turtles Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/8003843766096d82d4fbf9.png)
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1698
|
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2023 6:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Can you post your /etc/pulse/default.pa ? _________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Adel Ahmed Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 Posts: 1607
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
turtles Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/8003843766096d82d4fbf9.png)
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1698
|
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2023 4:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try using udev detect.
https://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Software/PulseAudio/Documentation/User/Modules/#module-udev-detect
By changing the section:
Code: | ### Automatically load driver modules depending on the hardware available
.ifexists module-detect.so
### Use the static hardware detection module (for systems that lack udev support)
load-module module-detect
.endif
|
To:
Code: | ### Automatically load driver modules depending on the hardware available
.ifexists module-udev-detect.so
load-module module-udev-detect
.else
### Use the static hardware detection module (for systems that lack udev support)
load-module module-detect
.endif |
_________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
turtles Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/8003843766096d82d4fbf9.png)
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1698
|
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2023 4:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Also make sure you compiled pulseaudio with the udev USE flag set. _________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Adel Ahmed Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 Posts: 1607
|
Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2023 6:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have recompiled pulseaudio-daemon with udev use flag and that automatically set the config file to use the module-udev-detect.so module, I no longer see devices under input devices!!
arecord can still record but there are no sounds |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
turtles Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/8003843766096d82d4fbf9.png)
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1698
|
Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2023 1:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is your system using OpenRC or Systemd?
Check that udev gave you access to the soundcard:
Code: | getfacl /dev/snd/controlC0 | grep -Eo "user:.+:" | cut -d: -f2 |
_________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Adel Ahmed Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 Posts: 1607
|
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2023 8:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm using systemd
do not think it gaave me access, but I just added my user to the audio group:
Code: | adel@t14 ~ $ id
uid=1000(adel) gid=1000(adel) groups=1000(adel),5(tty),10(wheel),18(audio),27(video),28(render),78(kvm),97(input),190(systemd-journal),250(portage)
t14 ~ # getfacl /dev/snd/controlC0
getfacl: Removing leading '/' from absolute path names
# file: dev/snd/controlC0
# owner: root
# group: audio
user::rw-
group::rw-
other::--- |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
turtles Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/8003843766096d82d4fbf9.png)
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1698
|
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2023 5:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ahh check out the wiki on pulseaudio
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/PulseAudio#systemd
If I am not mistaken for systemd no one may be part of the audio group (not even even the user pulse).
From the wiki:
Remove any and all users from the audio group:
Code: | gpasswd -d <user> audio |
_________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Adel Ahmed Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 Posts: 1607
|
Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2023 9:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have done that but now I have lost permission to use the sound.
I have systemd compiled with the acl use flag. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Hu Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23091
|
Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2023 1:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you are not the owner of the sound device (you are not), and you are not in the audio group (now you are not), and nothing set an ACL on the sound device (your getfacl output says nothing did), then loss of sound is expected. Assuming that logind was supposed to set an ACL, then the question is why it did not set one. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
turtles Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/8003843766096d82d4fbf9.png)
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1698
|
Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2023 1:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
at least were getting somewhere, is this after a reboot?
You got it set in your kernel ?
Code: | grep 'TMPFS_POSIX_ACL' /usr/src/linux/.config |
_________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Adel Ahmed Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 Posts: 1607
|
Posted: Sat Jul 29, 2023 5:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yeah I do:
Code: | t14 ~ # grep 'TMPFS_POSIX_ACL' /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_TMPFS_POSIX_ACL=y |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
turtles Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/8003843766096d82d4fbf9.png)
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1698
|
Posted: Sat Jul 29, 2023 6:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What about systemd? Is that compiled with ACL flag? _________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Adel Ahmed Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 Posts: 1607
|
Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2023 1:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yeah I compiled it with the acl flag:
Code: | t14 /var/tmp/portage/x11-misc/xscreensaver-6.05-r2/work/xscreensaver-6.05 # emerge systemd -pv
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
Dependency resolution took 0.72 s.
[ebuild R ] sys-apps/systemd-253.3-r1:0/2::gentoo USE="acl kmod pam policykit (split-usr) -apparmor -audit -cgroup-hybrid -cryptsetup -curl -dns-over-tls -elfutils -fido2 -gcrypt -gnuefi -gnutls -homed -http -idn -importd -iptables -lz4 -lzma -openssl -pcre -pkcs11 -pwquality -qrcode -resolvconf -seccomp (-selinux) -sysv-utils -test -tpm -vanilla -xkb -zstd" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 0 KiB |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Adel Ahmed Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 Posts: 1607
|
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2023 8:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm not exactly sure what got the acl to work, but this reboot I noticed the sound card is working agian
Code: | t14 ~ # getfacl /dev/snd/controlC0
getfacl: Removing leading '/' from absolute path names
# file: dev/snd/controlC0
# owner: root
# group: audio
user::rw-
user:adel:rw-
group::rw-
mask::rw-
other::--- |
the microphone is still not detected in pavucontrol though |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
nvaert1986 Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 05 May 2019 Posts: 124
|
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2023 7:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Try running alsamixer as user. Then by default it will show PulseAudio as device. Press F6 and switch to your actual sound card. Check if the mic has a MM in front of it (it means it's muted). Press M to remove the mute. Next turn up the volume a little bit by pressing the up arrow and see what that does. Sometimes PulseAudio does not detect devices properly, but just unmuting them in alsamixer resolves the issue. This happened to me several times. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Adel Ahmed Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 Posts: 1607
|
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2023 7:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
I noticed the fn+mute/unmute mic button does not work, the led does not switch on and off but maybe that is unrelated
there is no microphone, only mic boostand it's unmuted |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
logrusx Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/176594205966916859b5145.jpg)
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2695
|
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2023 8:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
What laptop is that?
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Adel Ahmed Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 Posts: 1607
|
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2023 10:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
it is a t14 model is 21AJS2C81M |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
turtles Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/8003843766096d82d4fbf9.png)
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1698
|
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2023 4:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Do you have any alsa files under /etc/modprobe.d
such as a /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf file?
If so can you post them? _________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
turtles Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/8003843766096d82d4fbf9.png)
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1698
|
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2023 5:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Also run the alsa-info.sh from media-sound/alsa-utils _________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Adel Ahmed Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 Posts: 1607
|
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2023 6:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
no I do not have amodprobe.d directory
here's the output of the command, I do not know what to make of this to be honest
Code: | adel@t14 ~/.config $ alsa-info.sh
ALSA Information Script v 0.5.1
--------------------------------
This script visits the following commands/files to collect diagnostic
information about your ALSA installation and sound related hardware.
dmesg
lspci
aplay
amixer
alsactl
rpm, dpkg
/proc/asound/
/sys/class/sound/
~/.asoundrc (etc.)
See '/usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh --help' for command line options.
/usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh: line 466: /proc/asound/modules: No such file or directory
cat: /tmp/alsa-info.fuky3KjXQN/alsamodules.tmp: No such file or directory
cat: /proc/asound/modules: No such file or directory
Newer version detected: 0.5.3
To view the ChangeLog, please visit https://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh.changelog
ALSA-Info script has been downloaded /tmp/alsa-info.4XeqNq2vHo.
Please, re-run it from new location. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
turtles Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/8003843766096d82d4fbf9.png)
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1698
|
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2023 10:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is your system all up to date? You also need to run the script as root.
The script usually will update itself, the current version is 0.5.3 and that is from May.
If you update alsa-utils that might also update the script.
I suspect you might need some kernel command line options for that sound chip. _________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
turtles Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/8003843766096d82d4fbf9.png)
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1698
|
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2023 10:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Also post the output of:
Code: | grep -E 'RENOIR|CONFIG_SND_DEBUG' /usr/src/linux/.config |
EDIT you may want to set debugging and recompile kernel at this time.
And RENOIR is related to AMD chipsets so never mind that.
Check out
https://docs.kernel.org/sound/hd-audio/models.html
Specifically the section where it lists 25x chips.
You might try options like
lenovo-hotkey
laptop-amic
dual-codecs
lenovo-eapd _________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|